We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel to celebrate our anniversary”
Review of L'Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel to celebrate our anniversary”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This hotel is worth every penny we spent and so much more. From the beginning to the end of our stay, we were treated amazingly well.

My husband and I just arrived back home to Texas after spending the latter part of our Pacific-Northwest vacation in Vancouver, British Columbia. We stayed at the L'Hermitage Hotel for 2 nights, 3 days. We were celebrating our five year wedding anniversary. I couldn't wait to get home to write a stellar review for this hotel and so here I am.

From the moment we arrived, the staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. They spoiled us with a room upgrade to one of the suites and with an in-room gift. Later that evening, Steve, one of the front desk attendants offered us great suggestions of restaurants to have a romantic dinner celebration at and also assisted with making reservations for us.

The hotel property is gorgeous and feels like an upscale Spa mixed with an elegant condo building. The heated salt water pool and warm jetted hot tub were perfect when we used them on our second evening there. We also dined in their L'Orangerie lounge space for the buffet breakfast that morning and it was an incredible breakfast. Anything and everything you could imagine wanting for breakfast and the coffee was great too!

Every time we would leave or return to the hotel, the door person and front desk staff was acknowledging and made some small talk which was perfect. We enjoyed sharing with them about the fun experiences and sights we were seeing in Vancouver.

The hotel room itself was like a one bedroom apartment and had every comfort of home that we would need. The bedding was hypoallergenic, comfortable, clean and the bed itself was extremely comfortable. We had a room with the attached balcony and that was nice too. Often times, we would leave the door cracked and allow the fresh air in. The view of the Coliseum-like building, that the Vancouver Public Library is in, was beautiful.

Overall, we both agree that this is the finest hotel that we have ever stayed at. It's is priced really well (it makes it to where we feel like we can return time and time again), it's situated in a perfect spot in Downtown Vancouver, and the STAFF go above and beyond - they are an exceptional staff. I am quite pleased that we got to celebrate our anniversary with the L'Hermitage Hotel.

Room Tip: A suite with kitchen on the 7th floor with a balcony was awesome for our romantic getaway! Beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princesssockhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear ptincessockhead,

Thank you for posting your experience on L'Hermitage Hotel's Trip Advisor page regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful review and for such kind words!

I wish you once again a Happy Anniversary. Thank you for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel for this special occasion. Wishing you many more years of joy and happiness...

You are all looking forward to see you again for a future visit.

Best regards,

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,337
    388
    65
    14
    11
See reviews for
680
2,210
154
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Downtown Vancouver has ample accommodation options keeping the level of service and room experience elevated. L'Hermitage is a best of the best modern stay with staff that are delightful and show their appreciation for your visit.

Room Tip: Bath sink water flow has a focal point requiring you to keep your hands at an angle lest diverting t...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WesternConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear WesternConsult,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice comment following your stay at L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver.

It is always a pleasure to read kind words about the courteous and efficient service of our staff, as we take pride in making our guests’ stay the most enjoyable and memorable one. I am very happy that you enjoyed your experience as well as the comfort of the hotel.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon,

Sincerely,

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We were in for a quick visit to surprise a family member...the Front Desk staff (Mary Ann) was exceptional..She hid our bags before check in and suggested a great breakfast joint to try out a small walk away. (Jam Cafe). I'm a Customer Service nut....and all the Staff were not acting..They love their jobs, and it shows! Rooms, Food and Service..isn't that what its all about? I will be back, and so will my friends!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Coby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear Coby D,

I wish to thank you for staying with us at L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver and to let you know how much we appreciated your patronage.

I was delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your interaction with our team and with Mary Ann in particular. We are very fortunate to have her as part of our Concierge team. It is individuals such as Mary Ann that make us truly unique. Your positive comments is much appreciated.

I do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit in our beautiful city.

Kind regards,

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L’Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The hotel was lovely and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. L'Hermitage is centrally location next to great restaurants and shopping and is walking distance to so many of the sights we wanted to see. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carroll V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear Carroll V,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Vancouver.

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and the service provided by our dedicated associates. Again, thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017

L'Hermitage is a gem near the heart of Vancouver. Easily accessible and convenient. The staff was excellent both at the front desk and at the gentlemen at breakfast. The room was very clean and well appointed. I will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank BooG1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear BooG1255,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing L’Hermitage Hotel Vancouver on your last trip and to let you know how much we appreciated your business.

I am delighted to learn that your stay at L’Hermitage Hotel Vancouver has exceeded your expectations and I thank you for having shared your experience on Trip Advisor.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The hotel is beautiful, and we had a great night away. My daughter was so excited to be there, and the breakfast was great. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to offer help. The outdoor pool was warm enough for us to be out there on a cold March afternoon.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback further to your stay at L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver.

I was delighted to read you had a great time with your daughter and enjoyed the pool facilities. We are all looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Everything from the moment we called to book, the concierge, front desk, room service, pool/hot tub, the room, breakfast and check out were extraordinary. The front desk were so knowledgeable and helpfull i would recommend L'Hermitage hotel to anybody and have been telling all my friends and family of how great a time we had

Room Tip: Amazing and wonderful experience
See more room tips
Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM-Tanguy, General Manager at L'Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2017
Dear Jack H,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and the services we offer. We hope that should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver.

Kind regards,

Jean-Michel Tanguy
General Manager
L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver
jmtanguy@lhermitagevancouver.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,011 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,453 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,283 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hermitage Hotel

Property: L'Hermitage Hotel
Address: 788 Richards Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Richards and Robson Street in the very heart of Vancouver's hottest shopping and entertainment district and only blocks from its' financial centre, L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver is a 60-room, luxury, boutique property that graced the Vancouver hotel scene in June of 2008. Exclusively located on the 5th, 6th and 7th floors, L'Hermitage offers Studio-style rooms; One-bedroom Suites; Solarium-style rooms as well as One and Two-Bedroom 'homes' complete with a fully-equipped kitchen featuring Bosch and Sub-Zero appliances. Unique architecture within a West Coast setting, vogue interior design and thoughtful amenities makes L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver the essence of the ultimate cosmopolitan getaway. When selecting your hotel for your next Vancouver business or leisure trip, please consider making your reservation with L'Hermitage Hotel Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hermitage Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing