We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My 11 month old son and I had a great time staying at the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. The room was immaculate and he could crawl around on the floor without me worrying. The room layout was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and courteous and made us feel welcome. The rooms were very sound proof as well. Thank you for a great visit to Vancouver!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    561
    121
    25
    18
See reviews for
378
670
119
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

It's a really nice, clean and up to date hotel with very friendly staff. Location is close to boardwalk and some shops as well as walking distance to skytrain. No issues! Parking is a rip off, so are all other hotels. All day parking lots and garages all around for cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chugluvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just steps from Vancouver's Playhouse Wine Festival made this hotel a natural choice. Clean modern lines outside and in with very European esthetic. No fussy details but neither empty cold nor harsh/edgy feel. Guest room was functional with nice play of cool and warm colour elements. Hotel is only two years old I believe, so still fresh and unworn. If you are a Coast member I would recommend. Sadly, we are not choosing Coast these days following and experience with their rewards program administrator. Our selection this time was to blowout last points as final hurrah. Front desk staff were so helpful in providing transit and restaurant directions.

Room Tip: Try to get hallway end to avoid noise from passer bys. We were surprised and thought people were ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel is a block away from the seawall walk to Stanley Park, the convention center and the Olympic torch. Urban fare is across the street for fast food or groceries. Starbucks half a block away and Prestons restaurant is in the building. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, more than any hotel I can recall. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The staff were all very friendly in a genuine way without being over the top or like trained robots. Felt valued as a person not just a credit card number. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptSamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Vancouver Coast Harbour Hotel met all my needs. This is the second year I've used them for an annual convention. I stayed Feb 23 and 24, with late checkout granted effortlessy on Friday the 24th. The hotel held my luggage till 10 PM and called me a cab instantly. As a single woman traveler, I appreciated the good service and safe feeling. I had no issues with eating alone in Preston's, and enjoyed the food. The hotel also supplies good toiletries. Complimentary Internet worked just fine for me because I worked at odd hours (jetlag) so connection and speed wasn't an issue. I didn't need to upgrade.

What this hotel doesn't have is pizzazz. By this I mean it's modern, efficient, comfortable, and bland. Old fashioned ambiance and great style can be found elsewhere. But absolutely everything wroked fine here, and it was remarkably good value for my business travel needs.

Room Tip: Last year I had a corner room--floor-to-ceiling windows on two sides was very nice. This year I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryTeresia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

9 night stay in Vancouver, BC: The Coast Coal Harbor Hotel's location is perfect for access to the convention center/Canada Place and touring options. Our chosen transport from the airport to downtown was taxi for 2 w/luggage @ $40 per trip. (The airport posts $30 but expect to pay a bit more with tip.) There is a huge visitor's info center a few blocks away @ Canada Place. Food courts and restaurants abound nearby. This hotel was perfect for us. It's a completely non smoking hotel. We booked a superior king bed room through Orbits. (That's where we found it!) Our room was spacious, very clean with every amenity we needed. (Everyone is different, like we did not need super fast internet or a mini bar or the like.) We got the room that we booked. (If, like another reviewer, we wanted an upgrade we would have expected to pay more!!!) Access to everything, including the elevators, needs your key! This hotel is securtiy consicious. It was built in 2010 during the Vancouver Olympics. Our room was quiet, with an in room safe, a very, very comfortable bed, it was extremely clean, with a big bathtub, great water pressure, exhaust in bathroom, more than enough very clean soft towels, and every amenity we required. We lacked for nothing. I loved, loved, loved their formulated for Coast Hotels shampoo/conditioner. I have long hair and this is THE best shampoo I have used in 40 years!! It leaves hair clean, shiny and wonderfully easy to manage with little, if any, perfume. Their lotion is supurb too. It's not perfumy and you don't even know you applied it! It just does the job of moisturizing very well all day long. I only wish I could purchase it on the open market. We had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Our superior king was a super value. We didn't see or use any other type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Synchroswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,475 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,882 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,161 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,483 reviews
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing