We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect first visit to Canada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect first visit to Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I booked the Coast Coal Harbour from a list of places recommended from my convention info. It was expensive, but I enjoyed my stay so much that I don't really care. The staff was friendly right from the beginning at check-in. My room, in a corner, had fantastic views of the Inlet and the city. It was fun just to sit in the window area and watch the seagulls! I enjoyed eating in the restaurant, Preston's. The staff were easy going and friendly. The meal was quite good. This hotel is only a short walk to the Convention Center and Canada Place. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel offers free wireless, but it is slow. You can pay for faster service, if you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucsonteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Suggestion: The next time you are coming and if you know that your dates are fixed, I would suggest booking our Pay Now rates on our website, as these are our lowest rates available. But you will have to book well in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    502
    115
    22
    18
See reviews for
335
610
108
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is beautiful and way more then I had imagined. I had purchased the girls night inn package which is $180 for two girls and $25 for each additional girl. You get pajamas from la vie en rose any appitizer, alcoholic beverage and breakfast the next morning. You can even get breakfast deluvered to you room for just $3. Prices for the room go up in the summer but I think its still worth it. We had a great time together and are views were amazing on the 16th floor. You have to check this place out if your staying in Vancouver!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our Girls Night Inn package to be a fun getaway! Hope to see you back soon. May I suggest our shopping package?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you are in Vancouver for a conference at the Vancouver Convention Centre, do yourself a favour, don't book at the conference hotels directly opposite but save some money and get some exercise by walking 5 minutes to stay at this hotel. It's new and funky with excellent staff and comfortable, good-sized rooms. The restaurant on the second floor serves a good variety of West Coast dinners, and their breakfasts are reasonably priced.

It's also just a short walk from West Georgia Street, and of course it is also very close to the bike trail along the waterfront if you fancy a run or walk up to Stanley Park. If possible, get a room overlooking West Hastings Street - with any luck you'll be able to see the harbour and the North Shore mountains between the buildings opposite.

Nice to see the emphasis on saving the environment at this hotel - a compost box in the room as well as a recycling box, and refillable soap dispensers instead of all those little bottles of shampoo in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiddleGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
What a great write up! Thank you so much! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our "funky" hotel. We do pride ourselves on our service and are trying to be one of the most environmentally friendly hotels in the city! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. They were very helpful and cheery. The room was clean and quiet, even though I was on the West Pender street side. I would stay again in a minute.

Room Tip: I was on the street side, and for and extra $30 a night I could have had an ocean view. I kind of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarySummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I would recommend this hotel as the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. the location was excellent as well. I did pay extra for an upgraded room which gave us spectacular views looking north and onto the harbour. The hotel is conveneintly located in close proximity to Stanly Park, Gas Lamp District, China Town and skiing. The upgraded room was larger and clean. The only complaint if I had one was that the shower stall was a bit small.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycleFan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed last summer as a family of 4 and found the hotel to be in an ideal location for getting out and about. Minutes walk from Stanley Park, Harbour, Robson Street, and Gas Town. And the beaches on the west side are easily reachable on foot within 20 or so minutes. Although ineraction with staff was limited to check in and check out both times we found them friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and simply decorated in a modern fashion. Only reason we didn't give it 5 stars was the aircon as it only had two modes of operation - "off and silent" or "ON & LOUD!!!!". Still, being jetlagged at the start of our Canadian holiday it didn't affect us too much. Would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofield, AB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel staff were FANTASTIC! Extremely small room, stayed with my husband and two kids. Only double beds, no table to eat at for the room service, no fridge. And parking was to be paid upon check out. This I was not aware of, I thought it would have been included in the hotel cost. I too booked through hotwire.com and got a good price, but was not impressed with the cost of parking, $33 per night. Coming from a small town to the BIG city, it was a shock. Overall very clean, Preston's was a great place to eat as well. Not a hotel for more than two guests.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a better view and are said to be "larger". Valet parking is mandatory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catharine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Pinnacle Hotel Vancouver Harbourfront
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing