We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Centrally located and nice room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I liked the large-sized soaps and the recycling center in the room. Nicely laid out room that was easy to unpack in for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    544
    117
    25
    18
See reviews for
365
648
114
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great hotel. Excellent service. Simply decorated comfortable and spacious rooms. Extremely clean bathroom.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the inlet have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slabotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is an excellent choice in Vancouver. The hotel is well situated to downtown, the waterfront and Stanley park. The staff is very pleasant and rooms are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
It's great to hear that you like our location. We recommend anyone staying with us to request a harbour view room....the views are spectacular to wake up to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times this year on business trips. I am continually impressed by the kindness and thoughtfulness of staff, they genuinely want to ensure you enjoy your stay and go out of their way to deliver top of the line customer care.

The hotel is in a wonderful location! 4 blocks from the sky train, 5 blocks from shopping on robson street, surrounded by coffee shops and a block away from the waterfront. I had a beautiful view of Stanley park and started every morning before meetings with a run.

Highly Reccomend to everyone staying in Vancouver!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoleandmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your great comments. Our staff pride themselves on providing all of our guests with the best down to earth service that they can, and it is the comments such as these that keep the energy flowing. We love our guests to feel welcome, at home and more so, to be enjoying their time with us.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

An excellent, good value hotel. Good size rooms.

Great location for coal harbour, Stanley Park and Robson shops & restaurants.

The breakfast in the hotel is very good but try Urban Fare, on Bute, 1 minute from the hotel for excellent value and delicious breakfast and lunch. (Breakfast around $8-10 for two).

Cardero's is also very close. A lovely restaurant. Recommend booking as it gets busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool or on a higher floor. We moved as soon as we arrived after a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shmaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast in Prestons. You'll have to try the gyoza on the menu the next time you are here, as they are our number one seller. Also having a number of restaurants in the immediate area, certainly makes staying with us easier doesn' it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were greeted on arrival by welcoming staff who immediately made us feel at home. They were always helpful and professional. The room was spacious with a lovely bathroom and an amazing view of the city. In a fantastic location, we were able to walk to shops, restaurants and parks easily. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you, we are so happy to hear that your stay was nice and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I booked the Coast Coal Harbour from a list of places recommended from my convention info. It was expensive, but I enjoyed my stay so much that I don't really care. The staff was friendly right from the beginning at check-in. My room, in a corner, had fantastic views of the Inlet and the city. It was fun just to sit in the window area and watch the seagulls! I enjoyed eating in the restaurant, Preston's. The staff were easy going and friendly. The meal was quite good. This hotel is only a short walk to the Convention Center and Canada Place. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel offers free wireless, but it is slow. You can pay for faster service, if you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucsonteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P H, Director of Sales at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Suggestion: The next time you are coming and if you know that your dates are fixed, I would suggest booking our Pay Now rates on our website, as these are our lowest rates available. But you will have to book well in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA

Property: Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Address: 1180 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 4R5, Canada (Formerly Coast Coal Harbour Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is New Urban Style Hotel concept that combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. It's fresh, it's modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. Places like Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre and the shopping district of Robson Street. The Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA is an urban retreat in downtown Vancouver. With 20 storey's boasting 220 modern, spacious guest rooms and all the amenities you've come to expect from Coast Hotels. Each of the guest rooms at our downtown Vancouver hotel features floor-to-ceiling windows, Electric Bidet Seat(TOTO(R) Washlet), 55" flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA's Urban Style Hotel concept. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. You'll also have access to our top-notch fitness center, pool and hot tub-not to mention our signature Prestons Restaurant + Lounge, the perfect spot to drink, dine and dish about your Vancouver experience. A 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass, creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym with locker room, and a landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. We encourage you to come visit one of the newest hotels in downtown Vancouver. And to enjoy the best that our city has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing