We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price of admission!”
Review of Science World

Science World
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.63*
and up
Vancouver Highlights Bike Tour
Ranked #25 of 349 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Science World at TELUS World of Science ignites the imagination with hands-on interactive exhibits, jaw-dropping live science shows, and the giant-screen OMNIMAX(R) Theatre. Fun for all ages, Science World is sure to jumpstart your imagination.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the price of admission!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Went to Science World on April 4, 2012 and was very disappointed. One Third of the exhibits were not working and those that were looked old and worn. The renovations did not seem to make a big impact ... same old stuff. There was not a lot of staff around to interact with. The one thing we did enjoy was the magician. He was very engaging!

The admission fee is too expensive and if you want to see one of hte movies you have to pay an addition $5.50. The Vancouver Aquarium admission is less and you do not have to pay extra for any of the performances or the 4D show.

We will not be coming back ...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    300
    120
    42
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great time with kids”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have a four year old and we were looking for something fun to do so we went to Science world. We had lots of fun and learned a lot.
The price was pretty steep though. Luckily we had a coupon to get one adult in for free or it would have been a $85 dollar day for the three of us.

Helpful?
Thank Firemedic3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great experience for kids!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is absolutely a great experience for kids of all ages. Currently they have Dinsaour World, which the kids just loved (although might be a bit scary for the wee ones), and Lego - great for kids of all ages, plus all the usual attractions. It is very hands on, which the kids just love - it makes learning such fun!
It is nice too, that they have a lunch room, where you can go eat your own packed in lunch and snacks, rather than relying on the purchased food, although that it also available, if you choose.
We spent over four hours there, and the kids wanted to stay longer.
A word of caution, go eary in the day, as it does get crowded in the afternoon.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not sure if it was worth the money”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We went to Science World with our two nine-year old daughters - had taken them once earlier when they were quite a bit younger. It was during spring break and was VERY crowded. I was surprised at how expensive it was (~$115 for the four of us, including one IMAX movie). The kids found it fairly interesting but nothing spectacular. We went to the Vancouver Aquarium the next day and enjoyed that much more. Now that we've gone, I don't think we'll be going again for quite a while.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Crowded and chaotic because of spring break, it was still an excellent day. We saw everything with our 11 year old son and spent about 5 hours there. Many places for tired parents to sit and rest while the kids explore. Divided nicely into sections and rooms so we could tell our son to stay in this section and know that he was okay. He loved the vacuum tube maze shooting balls around the room! The OmniMax Theatre was great (hint: get a seat as high up as possible...we were too far down and our necks got tired) We would definitely go again. (another hint: take your membership card from your hometown science centre for free admission here & check prices-it might be cheaper to get a membership locally than pay for one day here)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Science World also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Science World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing