We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs update to compete with the competition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but needs update to compete with the competition”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed on Saturday night with my wife celebrating our anniversary. Enjoyed the property. They gave us free upgrade and surprised us with chocolate covered strawberries. Room was clean and nice. Great location. Had average breakfast in restaurant. Starting to see some wear and tear. With all of the new luxury competition, the hotel will definitely need an update soon to compete. Service was good. Wifi is not free, but many hotels are still charging for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    950
    318
    107
    51
See reviews for
557
1,307
179
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This place got a "moon" in Lonely Planet and other rave reviews. The review must've been old or the reviewer lucky. Nothing special here: small room, high price. Charged for internet. No view (even on top floor).

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mmladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Overall great experience. Friendly staff, decent rooms. There is little reason to complain. The hotel lacks a number of amenities to truly compete with luxury hotels such as the Four Seasons - I guess it especially lacks in original style. It all seems quite 'put together'.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malte83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

No complaints at all about the room or the location of the hotel, which were both fantastic. The rooms were big and clean and we had a wonderful city view from the 16th floor. Unfortunately, the staff were extremely unhelpful and we must have found the one hotel in North America that doesn't have free WIFI, which was a huge drawback and something we had failed to research before we booked. The bar and restaurant were good with excellent service, as you would expect. I have mixed feelings about this hotel as there were some nice touches (free umbrellas, nice bar) but ultimately let down by rude staff and lack of WIFI.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkygirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was a business trip accompanied by my family. The concierge was superb and went beyond anything I had expected with three special last minute requests that I had for them. The rooms were great as always. The staff were happy and friendly, and went out of their way to ensure my 94 year old mother in law was well catered to and made to feel special. My business trip was successful in part due to the efforts of the staff to cater to my last minute request for help.

I highly recommend the hotel and their staff for an outstanding stay, a great business environment and enjoyable downtown hotel experience. Do not be reluctant to ask the concierge for suggestions and help. They're rockstars

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Sutton Place hotel was fabulous! The hotel is immaculate, the fuzzy robes in the closet are a nice touch as well as the umbrella in the closet, perfect for Vancouver!
The beds are amazing, definitely the best bed I have ever slept on in a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eminemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

If you are a business traveller, avoid this place. No free WIFI unless you stay in their costlier rooms. The business centre had a machine to print boarding passes, but was out of order. The computers were only accessible by paying $6.50 for twenty minutes, and then the attached printers would not print. The concierge tolds us that the whole business centre was contacted out and that none of the stuff in it worked, and hadn't for some time. He suggested we ask for our $6.50 at the desk, but they blew us off. Never staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#31 of 92 in Vancouver
3,089 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,281 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,661 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing