We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Understated excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Perfectly situated to access the core of Vancouver, the Listel offers unpretentious but finely tuned hospitality that invites a return visit. The themed art displays, the live music and fine dining in O'Douls restaurant (attached), the quiet and spacious rooms all make for a very pleasant hotel experience. One very nice feature is that if you use the hotel parking (recommended), you can keep your car there with full access till 6 p.m. even after you check out at noon. An "extra" like that is indicative of the service emphasis at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_MLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    748
    177
    53
    19
See reviews for
325
843
120
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Recently a friend and myself spent two wonderful days in Vancouver - part of our delight with the trip was our stay at the Listel Hotel. We arrived at 9:00 am and were pleasantly surprised as we were given access to our room immediately. The hotel staff was extremely helpful in suggestions of places to see and things to do. The hotel is well situated for walking tours about the city - close to English Bay, Gastown and the seawall. Later that evening we spent a little time in the restaurant/bar listening to live jazz. The next morning a complementary pot of freshly brewed coffee was delivered to our room. We were staying in the city until late in the day and the hotel staff kindly checked our bags so we could continue with our walking tour of the city keeping our bags until the early evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccdbtravelgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I always choose Listel (I have been coming back here for several trips now). I just feel so comfortable in the place - the art theme, the gentle jazz music background, the friendliness of the staff etc etc.
It is in a good location for hitting the main street of shops, or for the stroll round Stanley Park, or for getting to the waterfront, or for things like the city art gallery: all without being in a busy, noisy place.
I have never had any problems on any of my stays - if there has any tiny thing I needed it was done quickly and efficiently.
I value the good WiFi, the business support etc
A place I feel confident about recommending.
And in Vancouver - such a great place to be in.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bimingham, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is several times I have returned to stay at the Listel hotel on Robson Street in Vancouver. As in every time previously, this time's stay was relaxing and refreshing. The staff are all cheerful and the rooms well looked after. The WiFi worked well. The meals were good. Good location for the central shopping and tourist areas and for Stanley Park. Even the smallest request was dealt with courteously and effectively.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked an Artist Suite for a 2-night jaunt to Vancouver for a pre-Valentine's day weekend. The hotel we usually stayed at in the past had recently closed and we were looking for something in the same area that wouldn't be overrun with kids or conventioneers, and we found it at the lovely Listel. The suite was large, the bed comfy, and the bathroom had a deep soaking tub that we made grateful use of after our excursions in the city and on Grouse Mountain. It was clean, the staff pleasant and helpful, and I thought it might be loud since our room fronted onto busy Robson street and we heard some noisy people in our hallway, but it was very quiet and restful.

The location is our preferred one in Vancouver, on the west end of the Robson street shopping district, close to Stanley Park, the West End, Davie, and downtown in general. When we checked out we got a nice surprise too - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a twin centre break our intial impressions of the hotel was good. Our room was on the second floor with only one lift in operation and no stairs to the second floor which is normally not a problem but at busy times you could wait 10 minutes for a lift!

The room itself was adequate but overlooked the waste bins and recycle area, early hours of the morning we would wake to the sound of people going through food bins and a few hours later by the bin men and delivery lorries. The room was directly opposite the service lift and the staff had no consideration to the guests on the floor, I know staff have to work but not all have to be up at 06:30/07:00 hours.

Over the course of the stay with execption of 2 staff at the hotel we found that most were ignorant and unhelpful.

The only positive thing about this hotel is it was on Robson Street and within walking distance of the City highlights.

Room Tip: Not on the standard floor!!!! If you can afford upgrade to a room on the higher floor overlooking Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jase495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsawwassen-Jim, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
My apologies, yes one of our elevators was out of order during this guests stay, it is now back in operation. The hotel is in a downtown location, and that does bring with it downtown activities and sounds. I am very sorry to read that some of the noise was created by staff, it is an unusual time of day for activity on a guestroom floor, and certainly something we need to be cognizant of, thank you for pointing it out.

With regards to the quality, friendliness and helpfulness of our staff I will point to, and standby, the vast majority of reviews received which are testaments to what a wonderful group of people we have working with us; I must say that I find the language used in this review describing staff to be untrue and quite upsetting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

had a great 3 night stay here - the staff were very helpful in advice of what to do. The restaurant had live jazz - thurs, fri sat. The art and artifacts were fun to see and added much more charactor than a chain hotel. The hotel is well located in the downtown area. Free wifi and landline calls within Canada and USA were thrown in.

Room Tip: higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing