We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unclean!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unclean!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is located in a great location on Robson Street in Vancouver. The hotel rooms were probably amazing... in 1996 when they were last renovated... and cleaned.

I lifted my pillow, which was on the green comforter, and yes, it was covered in hair! The short and curly type. The bathroom, pretty much the same: watch-springs everywhere!

Naturally the comforter ended up on the ground, yet now the "freeze or sweat" AC settings left me shivering all night.

I travel a lot for work, and I stay in a lot of hotels, but I've never stayed in a hotel that offers a "sex kit" in the mini-bar. Yes, that's right. I guess now I know why there was so much hair all over the room.

The room was nicely appointed, but pointlessly large. And no, two small crappy televisions, don't make for one decent one.

4 Star hotel? I think not! 3 at BEST!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AInstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    759
    179
    53
    21
See reviews for
338
855
122
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great location, friendly and helpful service, and a nice collection of art throughout makes for a warm and inviting atmosphere. Wireless and wired Internet is included, which rates highly for me. Nice little touches as well, a greeting card from the manager with quality local chocolates, and the TV has a connection console so you can display content from your devices. I'd go again...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a delightful, boutique hotel, well-located in Vancouver’s bustling Robson Street shopping-and-dining district. It’s a short walk to major sights and attractions including Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery and the harbor. The hotel is clean and attractive. The art in and around the lobby area as well as on some of the higher floors is a fun and unique touch. The service was fabulous -- everyone was very accommodating and helpful. All this said, if you go expecting a four-star property, you may be disappointed which is what I think accounts for some of the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. The Listel Vancouver is a solid three to three-and-a-half star property. I found several, significantly discounted prices for the hotel on various websites, including the $100/night rate I ended up paying so shop it and I think your stay will prove to be a very good value.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Gallery floor room facing Robson Street which was very pleasant and comfortable ... an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasOutdoorChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a great hotel for walking downtown Vancouver. I did find it not quite as nice as some of the other 4 star hotels but for the most part the staff were great. They even left a cookie in my car from the valet as a little going away treat. O'Douls restaurant attached to the hotel was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I booked the Listel Hotel at the last minute for our Anniversary.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the Valet -very helpful.
The Woman at the front desk was very pleasant.
Our room was exceptional-We had a deck to sit out on overlooking the city.
We had dinner at O'Doulls in the Hotel and again had exceptional service and food.
The whole experience was a wonderful surprise!
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyesrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable and in a great location, what more can you ask? If you plan to spend all of your time in your hotel this is probably not the choice for you. The TV's are old and small, the restaurant is not that great and there is no pool or spa. However if all you plan to do is sleep in your hotel because you want to explore everything Vancouver has to offer this is a very good choice at a good price.

We arrived around noon, three hours before check-in. They found a room that was available for us to check in to right then so we didn't have to store our luggage in the storage area and it was a free upgrade to a suite! Our sitting room was an art deco design, so fun, our bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fancy (rain shower head and big soaking tub).

Speaking of service, they offer free French press coffee delivery every morning from 6 - 9am, it was delicious and a perfect treat. Also, when they return your car to you they give you fresh baked oatmeal cookies. Nice touches!

The hotel was right in the middle of all of the places we wanted to go: Granville Island, Stanley Park, Gastown. I would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Free WiFi in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tr4v3l_g1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at the Listel for 4 nights in March. The location was great- in the middle of shopping on Robson, and less than a 10 minute walk from the sky train. When we checked in, we were upgraded for free to a "gallery room" which made us feel like we were getting more value for our money. The room was a nice size and clean, and we really appreciated the complimentary coffee service each morning which made starting our day that much better. The bed was comfortable, and the soap-shampoo-body wash dispenser in the shower was a nice touch. We also liked the built-in TV inputs for plugging our computer into the big streen. In general, a great stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
2,407 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
1,417 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
2,321 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Listel Hotel, Vancouver is located on city's most vibrant shopping and dining street. It is also known as "Vancouver's most art-full" and eco-friendly hotel. The property features original and limited artwork throughout the 129 guest rooms and public areas. It also boasts two award-winning and popular restaurants - Forage and Timber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing