We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd definitely stay here again”
Review of St. Regis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This hotel had many positive aspects, not least of all the extremely friendly and helpful staff. The availability of free long distance phone calls anywhere in the world was great for us as we had a family emergency back home that required many calls. The decor was attractive and modern in the room, and we enjoyed the daily free bottled water. We found the room slightly small for our 4 suitcases, but managed to work out the space with a few adjustments. The location is great for the short walks to art gallery, Robson St, Gastown and other downtown sites and venues. We knew this hotel was located in the heart of downtown, so were prepared for some traffic noise (busses) during the night. We didn't find these intrusive. The choice and fresh preparation of items on the included-in-price breakfast menu were tasty and filling. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,755 of 2,602 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

While renovating my new apartment I had the pleasure of staying at the St.Regis for nearly a month.I found the rooms to be as nice as any hotel room I have ever stayed in and given that I was very surprised at how reasonable the cost was.For anyone visting downtown Vancouver whether for business or Pleasure the location could not be better, close to great restaurants and bars while being right next to the business district.
Every other aspect my stay with them was first class, from the kind and helpful staff to the prompt room service. I would recommend this hotel to any friend or business associate coming to Vancouver.

Room Tip: The junior suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed here for 5 days in the Princess Diana Suite and it was just fantastic....even a fireplace in the sitting room....what a great little hotel. 5 star all the way!

Room Tip: Princess Diana suite.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

On booking this property I specifically asked for a high level room, for quietness. On checking in, after being rushed through the information about the hotel whilst the gentleman behind the desk talked to other employees around me, I was given a room on the 1st floor. As I was only staying one night at the end of a long trip, I didn't bother questioning it and figured it might not be so bad.
I was wrong - room overlooked noisy street and if it were not for the earplugs I had on me, I wouldn't have slept a wink. Very noisy. I understand the location is smack in the centre of everything and therefore noise is to be expected, also understand being an older boutique building the insulation isn't the greatest - so just keep in mind if you want a restful sleep here, bring earplugs and we prepared to hear everything going on outside as if it were happening in your room.
The room itself is lovely. Very tastefully decorated in pale hues and dark wood. Very small and simple - queen bed (note queen bed sizes are definitely smaller in north american than we are used to in the southern hemisphere - I was traveling alone but if I were traveling with my partner this would be a double size to us and probably uncomfortably small, but totally fine on my own). The bed was comfortable so no problems there.
Desk for work and chest of drawers. That was it for what was in the room, very basic. The bathroom was huge. Not sure if this is the standard type of bathroom or if I was in a disabled room, as space was very generous, huge tub, railings etc. The bathroom was beautiful and so clean. The whole room was incredibly clean.
A few things to point out - no shower cap, but all other expected amenities in the bathroom were provided. No minibar fridge - don't care about the minibar, but do like to have a fridge in the room for my own drinks, etc. Am sure if I asked they may have been able to provide it. Room service was average - server not impressive just dumped tray and left without saying a word. Chocolates on pillow on arrival, free bottles of Fiji water to drink during stay that are replenished daily, free calls - all, local, international, cellphones, etc. Free wifi within room worked most of the time okay, business centre open 24hrs, Didn't try to breakfast so can't comment on that.
Over all, this really is a lovely hotel that presents itself in a sophisticated manner, gorgeous generous bathrooms perhaps at the expense of a smaller room size, comfortable beds if only you could sleep through the noise, with average service.

Room Tip: higher rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I think the St. Regis might be the nicest small hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels. First, the staff, from check in to check out and everywhere in between, above and beyond expectations. Staff in the excellent breakfast room, in the lounge/restaurant, housekeeping, extremely helpful, friendly, just interested in making your stay the best it can be. The breakfast is a great bonus, it is a very nice cooked to order served breakfast, great! The hotel is in great condition, recently renovated, the rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable, well kept, great beds, everything pretty much perfect. On top of great service in a nice facility, it is located in the heart of Vancouver, close to everything for tourists or sporting events, or business.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We were so impressed with our stay at the St.Regis, before we even arrived, they called us while we were enroute to advise that the usual access to their parking had been blocked due to the Grey Cup parade. Ryan explained how we needed to go about accessing their parkade once we arrived. Ryan and Casey were extremely helpful once we arrived, and got our luggage up to our room. We were there at least 5 hours before the check-in time, and they already had our room ready for us. We were so impressed with the rooms, very beautifully decorated, and the bathroom was gorgeous. Complimentary breakfast was included with our stay, and it wasn't just a little partial snack, but a full breakfast. There wasn't a bad thing about this hotel, the service is top notch. I only have one constructive comment, and that is , I would ditch the one cup coffee maker for a regular hotel coffee brewer and I would ditch that coffee you have in the rooms, it's horrible, thank God you have a Starbucks downstairs. Loved the pub too, and had awesome service from Dora!! Our friends came in with us, and were so impressed with the St.Regis that they are booking rooms there for their next visit to Vancouver. Thanks for the wonderful stay!


Ed and Virginia Iceton

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eviltidball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STregisVancouver, General Manager at St. Regis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Ed and Virginia, Thank you very much for your kind words. Our free trade and organic coffee may not be to everyone's taste but we do appreciate your feed back. We are looking at our coffee program and may make charges in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to see you again soon.

Jeremy Roncoroni,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The St. Regis was a very pleasant place to stay in most important respects. The room appointments were especially attractive, and a positive surprise in an older building. The heritage background was a genuine plus for us. The location turned out to be excellent. The staff was very anxious to please.

A couple of drawbacks that may or may not be important to visitors:
- The restaurant has a noisy and party-like atmosphere: kind of a roadhouse. It's a mismatch for a hotel that is really quite classy.
- The elevator and rooms are on the small side. That must be what comes with renovating an older building.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stampsbluecollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STregisVancouver, General Manager at St. Regis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. I wanted to let you know that we are currently constructing a hallway to connect our lobby to the cocktail lounge at Gotham Steakhouse. We hope to have the hallway in place by end of January 2012. This will give our guests a choice between our St. Regis Bar and Grill, an energetic sports bar and Gotham Steakhouse, Vancouver's finest steakhouse providing a more upscale environment. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and we look forward to seeing you here in the future.

Jeremy Roncoroni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,069 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,859 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Hotel

Address: 602 Dunsmuir Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: C$216 - C$776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Regis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ST. REGIS HOTEL - DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER CANADA. Perfectly located in the centre of downtown Vancouver, the St. Regis Hotel is the city's best choice for award-winning service and refined boutique hotel accommodations. The independent, Canadian-owned and operated St. Regis recently completed a total renovation that brought this beautiful heritage building up to the highest level of modern comfort and finish. The St. Regis all-inclusive room rates include complimentary FULL BREAKFAST, HIGH-SPEED INTERNET, FREE LOCAL AND WORLDWIDE LONG DISTANCE, FIJI BOTTLED WATER, STEVE NASH SPORTS CLUB PASSES, AND BUSINESS CENTRE ACCESS. Winner of TripAdvisor's Travellers Choice Awards for Service for Vancouver hotels, with one stay you will see why the St. Regis Hotel is "more than you expect, everything you deserve." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Regis Vancouver
St Regis Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing