We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Ranked #4 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The breakfast is absolutely perfect, it was hard not to over eat, but taking the muffin with you for lunch will solve that problem.

The room was clean with a small but convenient ensuite. We had a fridge in our room which was a bit noisy at night. All in all this place is not cheap but definitely worth its money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonoorW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
203
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The Bee & Thistle is an outstanding B&B in a quiet and convenient location. Lynn and Michael are friendly and welcoming hosts, providing great hospitality and service. The star feature is Lynn's breakfasts, which are not only substantial but genuinely gourmet standard. The cooking and presentation are top-class, and the menus really varied and imaginative. We stayed in Florence's Room which has a beautifully comfortable bed and a stylishly equipped bathroom. There is little storage for clothes etc so we couldn't really unpack our suitcase - not an issue for a short stay.
We thoroughly recommend the Bee & Thistle, and we'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamWithSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

I just don’t know where to begin. Upon arrival at The Bee & Thistle we received a warm welcome from Lynn and Michael, the owners. We were shown to our room and Michael took time explaining the security system, the area and anything else we wanted to know. The home is lovely and location was terrific. We could walk to dinner every night and also catch public transportation. Our room was in the front of the house with plenty of windows which included a view of a portion of the harbor where the cruise ships dock. There is a shared balcony where we would sit and relax at the end of the day with a glass of wine while perusing the menu for the next morning and noshing on the cookie of the day, which had been left in our room. Our room had a fireplace, computer, refrigerator stocked with water, milk, snacks and soft drinks free of charge. There was also a tea pot and coffee maker in the room. The tea and coffee supplied were organic and delicious. The bed was incredibly comfortable. There is a cookie jar in the breakfast room that contains the cookie of the day for the taking. Now, for the good part (if one can imagine anything being better than what is noted above) - breakfast is incredible. Not only is it delicious, the plating is nothing short of spectacular, and it is obviously prepared with much creativity and love. You won’t even think of eating anything until dinner time. The Bee & Thistle is a special place and Lynn and Michael work hard at making it so and succeed on so many different levels.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed with Lynn and MIchael at the end of September 2011. The level of luxury and attention to detail throughout the entire property was outstanding. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts were a work of art and very scrumptious. There was so much food we had to take some for morning tea. Michael went out of his way twice to drop us off and pick us up in town, which was very much appreciated. We could not fault your hospitality and would highly recommend a stay with you in your beautiful house. We hope to visit you again one day. Thank you both again for everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbanePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We was last week 3 nights in this wonderful B&B in Vancouver. This was our second stay in Vancouver and the best stay. The service was great and the rooms perfect. A very nice bathroom and carefully details in the rooms. In the near are any restaurants and pub's for a perfect dinner. 5 minute footpath. One of the best B&B in Vancouver. Thank you Cheryl for the great service and the delicious Muffins and Cookies.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Room, The Breakfast and most importantly the Hosts, Everything is just lovely, so much thought and love goes into running this B&B, the attention to detail and all the little extras tell you the hosts enjoy what they do.
Location is perfect, in a quiet street, with N0.20 bus at the end of the road taking you straight into Vancouver City, plus the Sky train about a 10 min walk away with links to the airport. Great restaurants on the door step a short stroll away, with plenty of recommendations in the info book.
We can confirm all the previous reviews and say put this B&B on your list of places to stay, you can be are assured of a wonderful stay ! Thank you so much, hopefully we will be back !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-girl-at-heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This B&B is exceptional. The room we were in for 2 nights was tastefully furnished, with a lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. In-room facilities were excellent and Lynn and Michael's care and attention to detail were very obvious. But the highlight was undoubtedly breakfast; Lynn's creations (not too strong a word!) are a great start to the day.

Just one word of caution - if breakfast is a main reason for your staying here, make sure that Lynn and Michael aren't on holiday - whilst they are on vacation their daughter takes over and breakfast is (understandably) less ambitious.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 52 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
West End
English Bay Inn
English Bay Inn
#6 of 52 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Property: Bee & Thistle Guest House
Address: 1842 Parker St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Commercial Drive
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1908 heritage house located near downtown Vancouver, Canada, with views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have min. queen beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee And Thistle Guest House
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing