We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rated choices never fail...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bee & Thistle Guest House
Ranked #5 of 54 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Top rated choices never fail...”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

...and Lynn & Michael of Bee & Thistle deserve their high ratings. They offer the extra touches that are so appreciated--warm cookies on the bed in the afternoon, a (free) stocked minibar and very comfortable beds in nicely appointed rooms.
If I had to offer any fair balance, it would be the breakfasts. I am a guy who eats oatmeal every day, and the richer presentations are more than I am used to. That said, if you want a simpler breakfast, let Lynn or Michael know and they will surely accommodate you.
My special thanks to Michael. I left some piece of computer hardware in the room, phoned later in the day and Michael found and sent back immediately. That never would happen at a hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syncomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
207
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for two nights and the Bee & Thistle and we're blown away with the place and hospitality. The rooms are gorgeous with lots of extra touches that make it so special. Incredibly comfy beds with a well stocked fridge. The breakfasts are amazing better than a 5star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Comfortable, clean, well appointed, great breakfast, and accommodating to us with our toddler.

4.5 stars because the king bed in our room was actually two twins combined, but still very comfy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamtravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

In summary, the Bee and Thistle is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Why? It is because Lynn and Michael have rolled many of the best features of numerous excellent B&Bs into one and then added some additional features to top that off. To start, the room we stayed in for 3 nights had enough space to feel very comfortable and relaxed, a very very comfortable bed with excellent sheets and pillows, room for both a small sitting area and a separate small desk which accommodated both my laptop and the courtesy one supplied, and the bathroom was beautifully finished and equipped. The hosts made one feel like the B&B was a home away from home and were extra helpful with their guidance (eg when we mentioned that we were having a day’s drive along the Sea to Sky drive via Lynn Canyon, Michael provided a maps.google printout how to drive from the B&B to Lynn canyon. The complimentary extras were much more than I can ever recall in any B&B; freshly backed biscuits in our room when we returned each afternoon, drinks and snacks in the bar fridge, international phone calls, fresh tea and coffee (not the stewed variety, but real espresso based). The breakfasts are a delight; they were expertly and artistically prepared, fresh and set one up for the day.

The location is a good balance, not in the hustle and bustle of the inner city, but close enough that it is an easy drive or public transport into the city. It is in a quite side street off Commercial Drive where there is a wide choice of casual eating cafes and restaurants. Parking in the street was never a problem.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vannofavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had originally booked for 5 nights and ended up extending our stay in the Bee & Thistle for a total of 9 nights !

This is a very comfortable guest house that quickly grows on you and quickly becomes like your own personal Vancouver home.

The details make all the difference : the beautifully restored Victorian home, the decoration, the furniture, the cleanliness. The complementary snacks and drinks in the room minibar. The netbook computer in the room and the fireplace. Very hard to leave when you are made to feel so comfortable !

Lynn and Michael are very gracious hosts and go out of their way to be helpful - even during wet snow downpours !

We also met Sheryl who was very pleasant and shared interesting insight of her Bowen Island life including her free range natural chickens that supply the Bee & Thistle with fresh eggs for the wonderful breakfasts !

Commercial Drive has a nice variety of restaurants - our personal favorites for several repeat visits were Palki (excellent Chicken Tikka Tandoor/Tikka Massala all made in real tandoor oven) , the Pizza Garden for pizza by the slice, and Marcello´s for the large brick wood fired pizza oven and general ambiance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This charming and beautiful house is located right in a district with wonderful restaurants, coffeeshops, small boutiques in walking distance. We had a beautiful view of the mountains and the city. The room was VERY nice with it's own full bath. Well equipped with a refer full of drinks and snacks. Bed and bedding very nice.
The breakfasts was a culinary experience with excellent food and fresh fruit and fresh made juices. Plenty to eat (we even saved some pastries for the afternoon because it was so much) both for me a vegetarian and my husband non-vegetarian. Meals to remember!
The hosts made us feel like we were part of the family. We felt pampered!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgitta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I just had the most wonderful stay at the Bee and Thistle. It was cozy, beautiful, warm, and the breakfasts divine. It is by far the best place I've stayed in a long time and I'd go back in a second. Lynn and Michael were so hospitable and the care they took with me was unmatched. Homemade cookies on my pillow, luxurious bedding, foot scrub, flowers, fireplaces, and the best food I've had for breakfast anywhere! If you're headed to Vancouver, this is the place to stay. The price is fine and a couple of blocks' walk to Commercial brings you to lots of cool shops and eateries. (Lynn and Michael are reviewing those restaurants themselves for their guests!)
And they opened their door to a few business associates who met me for one of Lynn's rich breakfasts so that I could roll out of bed and entertain instantly. And gorgeous presentation.
Risa Garcia of LA

Room Tip: All great. I stayed in the Loft which was hard to leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,781 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,631 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 54 in Vancouver
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bee & Thistle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee & Thistle Guest House

Property: Bee & Thistle Guest House
Address: 1842 Parker St, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Commercial Drive
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1908 heritage house located near downtown Vancouver, Canada, with views of mountains and harbor. All rooms have min. queen beds, luxury linens, fireplaces, t.v., iPod docking stations, ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bee And Thistle Guest House
Bee & Thistle Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing