We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Value”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were a little hesitant too stay at the Patricia Hotel but after reading very good reviews decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed. Yes it is on the rougher side of town but just think of it as a cultural experience. Being close to china town means meals on the cheap and as it is on a main bus route you can be in the centre of town in about 5 minutes. If you don't feel like heading out you can always stay in and have a meal at Pat's pub down stairs which also has great value meals and it's own micro brewery. The Hotel its self was kept immaculate and the staff at the front desk were always incredibly helpful, going over and above the levels of service to ensure your stay is as comfortable and insightful as possible. A special thanks too Noordin and Lindsay for your excellent service. I would recommend the Patricia Hotel to couples travelling on a budget not looking to spend all there time cramped in a rowdy backpackers. It is definitely among the BEST value Hotels in Vancouver City.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    175
    163
    76
    96
See reviews for
74
231
141
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forks, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We loved this place. This is a funky old hotel, furniture somewhat shopworn, and the neighborhood a bit seedy. That said, it was also clean, comfortable, easy access to lots of restaurants, sights, and activities. The staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful and the pub was cozy and pleasant. Good price too.

Room Tip: It costs an extra $20 to get a larger room, but definitely worth it. The smaller rooms are more lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Ridiculous review about bed bugs. The price is right, location is excellent, and frankly I don't understand the "terrible" ratings.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Entre_Amis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

What a nice place to stay if your business in within the city. I stayed here for close to two weeks and never regreted any moment of my stay. True, as others have already stated, the neighborhood is not your normal safe-looking, there are all these homeless fellows, druggies and prostitutes, but non of those interfered with my stay. I had quiet nights throughout. Apart from the main street on which the hotel is located, all the other streets in the neighborhood are clean.The staff are particularly awesome; they are just too friendly. I was able to walk to many of the places I wanted to go to from the hotel. Chinaworld is only ten minutes walk from the hotel. I will definately choose the hotel anytime I am in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I wasn't too sure about what expecting about the hotel, but for me and my boyfriend it was a great surprise and we would stay there again. Staff are friendly and very helpful. We could even checked in before the time. The neighborhood is exactly what people have already told here. But there are many ways to avoid the homeless and drugaddicts. One street down, Pender St, is very calm and safe. On the other hand, the location is perfect beause is close to all mains attrations in the City.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla_Sou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Patricia is absolutely the best budget hotel deal in Vancouver. For just a little more cash than you would pay for a dorm bed in a depressing, dingy hostel like C&N or the American you get your own room with a comfy double bed, warm shower, free wifi and cable TV. The staff is also really friendly and if you don't want to wander too far at night the pub downstairs has great live music and good beer.

Try finding a deal like this in any other world-class city such as New York City or San Francisco. Yes, the surrounding neighborhood is colorful but luckily Vancouver has some of the nicest and most harmless street people anywhere. The others on here complaining are probably not experienced travelers who know a good deal when they see it, because the Patricia Hotel is a bargain!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ande w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Depending on your expectations, the Patricia can be a good place to stay. True, it's location or actually it's neighborhood, isn't the best. But you get just what they promise-a small room in an old hotel which is clean and comfortable. Our stay happened to coincide with a heat wave in Vancouver, and the Patricia isn't air conditioned. The provided fan helped, but it was still warm in the room during the day. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging local tours. We felt very safe walking in the neighborhood; the various homeless people did not bother or harass us. For a 98 year old hotel, the Patricia is very affordable, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#64 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#78 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#16 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing