We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$5 a night to park”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I was not told by the hotel staff that they were going to charge me $5 a night to park. When I checked in they said it came with the room. If I had know I would have parked on the street for free or got a much nicer hotel. They make it look cheap for the room but then get you every way they can for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTrut h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear The Trut h,

Thank you for your comments. We take every guest comment very seriously and use them to improve wherever possible.

I am sorry to hear that there was some confusion regarding the cost of parking as we do provide information about parking on our website as well as on all travel websites where we have a presence. The cost of parking is also provided on guest registration forms right above the signature (next to the space where a license plate number must be entered). However, we are taking steps to ensure that this information is more readily available in an effort to eliminate any confusion for future guests.

With regards to your comment about the staff informing you parking came with the room, I imagine they were trying to explain that the parking may be added to your guest account and paid for with your room, at the time of check-out. In any case, as we try our best to ensure that all guests have a positive experience with us, I am confident that a satisfactory solution could have been reached if your concerns about the cost of parking had been conveyed at the time of your stay.

Again, we thank you for your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly if you have any additional concerns that you wish to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Patricia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Have read other reviews of the Patricia, some critical of it's location, here is our experience. Since my wife owned a Restaraunt on Robson street West End for 28 years, we were very familiar with the area, and the skid row people didn't concern us at all. They are pretty harmless amusement. We stayed here 6 nights, while winding up some tax business, and visiting rentals we own in West End. While we can afford The Westin Bayshore or the Fairmont, it's tough to ignore a six night stay at the price of a single night at one of the above. Slept good, no load noise. Best rooms are on the West side viewing the city. This is a 100 year old hotel, a movie was being filmed in the lobby on our last day. The rooms are adequate for the price. But the staff is EXCEPTIONAL at any price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimPuertoVallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear JimPuertoVallarta,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with other travelers. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out how harmless our neighbourhood is. I think that this is important as it helps to dispel the notion that poorer neighbourhoods are always dangerous. This is not always the case and definitely isn’t in ours. You also mentioned that our rooms on the West side of the building with views of the city are the best. For those unfamiliar with our rooms, West facing rooms (Kings, Quads and most Standards) have views of the downtown skyline, while our Deluxe and Triple rooms have south facing residential views. Everyone’s preference is different, but I do agree that West is best!

Thank you again and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, and would gladly have stayed longer. The room was very clean, the bathroom was large with a huge deep tub. Mr Noordin at the front desk was more than happy to share low-cost and FREE places to see in this lovely city. The other staff were just as helpful and friendly. Due to the great location, buying a translink daypass made getting around very easy. Free WiFi was great. The brew pub downstairs had good food. Be a sensible traveller and you should have no issues, plus its located 2 blocks from the police department. We felt VERY safe in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like bubble baths, book a clawfoot tub room. Online booking was VERY easy
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear KCL57,

Thank you for your comments. We sincerely appreciate guest feedback as it helps us identify what is working well for travelers and what isn’t. Specifically, I’d like to thank you for acknowledging our housekeeping and front desk staff. We are proud of our team and believe them to be amongst the best in the city so we really appreciate it when a guest takes the time to share their positive experiences in a public forum such as TripAdvisor.

Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you’re in Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Special Thanks to Nurdin for making our stay very hospitable and comfortable. We had a fantastic time at Patricia, the area seems dodgy but in reality it is a safe place, and great location not too far from downtown. The staff are very friendly, helpful and respectful. There is a pub joined to the hotel with live music almost every night! What more could you ask for?
Look forward to returning,
Anna and James

Room Tip: recommend the $39 rooms best value for money
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Anna and James,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!! Just an FYI - Pat’s Pub & BrewHouse now offers 20% off for hotel guests so you’ll save even more on an already cheap meal next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Located in the heart of a major tourist side and with budget in mind this is the place to be.
East Hasting Street is a absolutly must see for every traveler and visitor of Vancouver.
Everybody will find out by himself what East Hasting means and tells.Pure education!
Without walking twice the East Hasting you can't even say you have been in Vancouver.
Yes, there are some homeless people,a few women and so on.Some bodies look strange or funny.
But it is safe to walk there any time and nobody trouble you or ask for change,what is happen more in the city center.During my 5 weeks stay I had no problem at all.
Also is easy to walk the Pender Street in interesting China Town just 70 m from the Hotel and avoid the Hasting if you like.
The Hotel got a nicely decorated big lobby and the staff is very friendly and can tell you about Vancouver all you wan't to know. Mr.Noordin(reception) always like to explain everyting with patience. Unbeatable location.Very closed to the center.Walking distance.
The view from my room 502 fifth floor is gorgeous!Skyline,mountains and sea and the never boring unique street view is more than worth the little money extra.Room service is doing well always friendly with a smile.Police museum is near.
The last week I was parking my car at the hotel's parking lot also without any problem.
So really I don't understand the review' s of some guest's.Maby they are from countryside.
This is Vancouver and not Johannesburg!So don't worry at all.I guess it is more dangerous in a barbershop then to walk the Hasting Street.
When I'm back in Vancouver without a doubt I will stay in Patricia again and can recommend
the Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank detlefscholz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Budget inn Patricia Hotel was good compared to the price. about the location: it is a bad neighbourhood, but good distance to downtown. would recommend Powel street, if your walking home from downtown at night..

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

taxi driver told us it was a bad area, we didnt know it was this bad. As soon as we turned on Hastings Ave we saw a few hookers, bums everywhere. When we tried to check in they charged us even though we were booked with travelocity. I was worried bout that, but travelocity did not end up charging us so that worked out. When we got to the room it smelled bad, MILDEW! Turned on fan, opened window with no screen to let air out. Even with that didnt help after hours. Bathroom was size of small closet, broken floor tiles, old furniture. Pub was rundown and dirty. When we went outside there were teenagers smoking crack on the street. Horrible visit to beautiful vancouver!!!

Room Tip: Stay in Downtown
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ziggz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budgetpat, Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear ziggz43,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences as it is these experiences, both favourable and otherwise that help us to determine what is working well and where improvements are necessary. I will refrain from addressing your comments about the area as the vast majority of previously posted reviews have already indicated that the area contains a particular demographic characterized by lower income, but that does not affect the safety of the neighbourhood.

With regards to being charged at the time of check in, your credit card was pre-authorized not charged, as is standard policy at most, if not all hotels. This is the case even if the room has been prepaid through a third party (who is not responsible for incidentals such as long distance phone calls or room damages). As it is a temporary hold rather than a charge, a credit card associated with a prepaid room with no incidentals would have the pre-authorization released without any charges being processed.

Judging from the description of your room, it appears that you were assigned a room that was in need of attention from our maintenance department. If the reception team was alerted to this problem at any time during, they would have gladly provided you with an alternative room that better represented the high standard we strive to maintain. With regards to your comments about the room’s size, we do have a wide selection of rooms that range from small rooms with one double bed, reflective of the building’s era (Est. 1914), to rooms with two queen beds that are more representative of a modern hotel’s room size and style. Based on the room allotment that we have on the website you mentioned, I imagine the room you reserved was one of our smaller “Super Saver” rooms, which because of their low price tend to appeal to budget-minded travelers who as an alternative to hostel-style accommodation, prioritize privacy over space. If this is not travel style, you likely would have found one of our Standard Rooms more appropriate. Additionally, in reference to your comments about our furniture, we have tried to maintain the heritage feel through furnishings and the maintenance of the building’s original character. I apologize if this character is not one that you share a fondness for.

Again, thank you for your review. As it was written about a stay that was five months ago I am confident that we have since rectified the issues that you described, however, your comments and insights are still beneficial in assisting us with ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
413 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#81 of 92 in Vancouver
97 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast Vancouver Airport
#70 of 92 in Vancouver
157 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#67 of 92 in Vancouver
503 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $60 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing