We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, nice and clean hotel”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly located, nice and clean hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Burrard is a great hotel in downtown Vancouver. The price is very reasonable for a city like Vancouver. We had a beautiful stay. The room was new and clean with nice features, service was very friendly and efficient. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitorSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    675
    168
    55
    34
See reviews for
240
692
248
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Spent two nights at this Vancouver downtown hotel/motel in early March when attending the International Wine Festival. The rooms are rather small (as you would expect for a former motel), cinderblock affairs, painted white, with attractive, stylish touches - silver ottomans, clear plastic nesting tables, 50s retro-style lamps, and bright artwork. The beds are very comfortable (we had a 'queen +' room), with high-end bedding and plenty of pillows. By the way, we were glad for the extra pillows to jam over our heads starting at about 5:30 in the morning, when incredibly loud garbage pickup took place in the back alley - with that, the construction going on all around the hotel and the fact that you're close to the street traffic (the hotel is only 4 floors) be prepared for a noisy stay. The amenities were excellent, and included IPod/IPhone dock, 42 inch wall-mounted HDTV with premium channels Nespresso individual coffee maker, free bikes, and free, speedy Internet access. A few drawbacks - it was hard to find the premium channels on the TV as there was no guide, there was no cream for our coffee, and no bottled water in the mini-fridge - the cream and bottled water were both available in the lobby. There was also no elevator (it appears to have been permanently removed), so be prepared for a walk up a rather spartan stairwell! All in all this was a very pleasant stay and I would recommend The Burrard for people (especially younger people looking for a less expensive, somewhat self-consciously 'hip' choice in downtown Vancouver).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, bathroom window on to an alley, and main window opening on the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty08WhiteRock_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hello,

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate your comments in our continual effort to improve our service for all guests.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities as we pride ourselves in providing so many complimentary features including the coffee and water. We apologize you did not have them in room and will work to ensure they are there next time, as they should be - cream included!

Our elevator is out of order but coming back, better than ever, this week! There are new elevator code requirements that we had to update for, and in the process we gave it a facelift too. When you come back again, there will be a fantastic and modernized elevator at your disposal.

We hope you come back to stay with us and thank you again for your review.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff.
Rooms are small yes, TV is BIG. Bathroom is small yes, but it has a full bathtub and nice complimentary toiletries. Bed was very comfortable.
Walls are thin and there were drunk idiots yelling and banging all night, but this can happen at any hotel. I only stayed one night.
I asked for a late check-out for 9pm, the cost was VERY reasonable.
If I get to Vancouver again I will definitely stay here. Shame it was cold and wet I would have loved to try the bikes out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The location is amazing its so close to downtown.. The decor of the hotel is very retro which we loved! The staff was very helpful and can't beat the price!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kozzy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I live in Whistler and have stayed in a number of different hotels in Vancouver. This one is fantastic. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the location was convenient, the value was exceptional, and everything was so new and clean. Best of all were the retro design and catchy elements throughout the property. Bikes to borrow, chic furniture, entertaining sayings in the rooms, free North American long distance, TVs loaded with movies, nespresso machines ... this'll definitely be the hotel I choose from now on.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk agent if you want an especially quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandaceShadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

What's not to love? The Burrard is in a great location…tons of places to eat, drink and shop nearby. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the bed/pillows are so comfy. The courtyard is beautiful, but we couldn't take advantage of it due to weather at the time. The Burrard even has bikes that you can rent for FREE to take a spin around town. There is free wifi and even a Mac with internet access in the lobby so you can surf and print for free. Plus, there's free long distance…which was great since we were traveling from the US.
The only downside is the street noise. The windows are incredibly insulating which helps, but Burrard St is quite busy 24/7. So, if you're a light sleeper, I'd recommend some earplugs…which I never travel without anyway.
We like The Burrard so much that we stayed there at the beginning and the end of our 7 day ski trip to Whistler.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drb_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Pick this hotel last minute so we could go out for the evening Vancouver without the worry of driving or cabs!

I must admit the price and the cool Website won me over!

The room was exceptionally clean, the staff phonominal and location couldn't be beat!

The retro decor was a nice twist with very cool signs and roof garden!

Would I stay again or recommend to others? absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostlineage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,069 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#48 of 90 in Vancouver
1,401 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing