We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unimpressive”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressive”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I was thoroughly disappointed with many aspects of this hotel. I stayed in a suite which I thought was quite small. The suite was nicely designed, but it's an old creaky building and the floor in my room was uneven. I was escorted into the room by the front desk staff "because the key card doesn't work many times" (is what he explained to me). When I got to the room the temperature was only 14 degrees celsius and the window was open. It was noticeably cold as soon as you walked in, but the front desk staff said nothing. I cranked the heat but took forever to heat up. This must be a common problem because there was a portable electric heater in the room. Being a suite, the heater was too small to heat the room. Next morning I plugged in the iron and must have popped a breaker because the electricy for the entire room shut down. When I went down to check out and the front desk girl asked how my stay was. I told her about the heat issue and she barely apologized. I will never stay hear again. If I felt the staff was truly apologetic about the situation, I would give this hotel a second chance, but unfortunately that was not the case.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for staying at Moda hotel and we are sad to learn that, you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. We do our very best to cater to guests' needs and concerns and we apologise that we fell short on our delivery with your experience. We hope that you will consider us in the future and wish you all the best.

Warmest regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    365
    211
    62
    49
See reviews for
76
414
85
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Valentines day – Living in one of the suburbs of Vancouver (White Rock) it is always a treat to stay downtown and enjoy a night out without having to worry about who is going to drive. I’ve stayed at all 3 Fairmont’s downtown the Sutton and the Wall Centre I wanted to try something with a little more character. We stayed in one of the suites which was quite large and well presented. Bed was very comfortable and the noise level was acceptable for a building of its vintage, it reminded me of the Mark Twain in SF with a combination of the Mondrian hotel in Scottsdale AZ

Location is great; right on the edge of Yaletown and it is a quick walk to Grandville Street or Robson street shopping.

Ate breakfast at the in house place Umma I think it was called – Had terrific coffee and generous portions for the food.

Overall good experience, it delivered with a nice modern friendly vibe

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and created precious memories. All of us here at Moda thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards,


Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed at Moda Hotel for 3 nights and I just loved it. Not only was the staff extremely friendly and helpful, making sure that I enjoyed my stay to the fullest. The room was also stylishly furnished and very quiet, given the central location. (I'm very noise-sensitive and asked for a quiet room when making my reservation - I got one!) Great breakfast at the restaurant next door gets you started for the day. Should I have another opportunity to visit Vancouver, this will be my place to stay.

Room Tip: O had a room on the top floor, facing the back, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Moda Hotel Downtown Vancouver during your stay in Vancouver. We are very happy that we were able to help you create great memories on that special day, and that you enjoyed our friendly service, the hotel and our wonderful restaurants.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back on your next stay in Vancouver!

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Moda has a great location, great food clean modern rooms very good service at a European stlye boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your feedback! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forwarrd to welcoming you back on your next visit to Vancouver.

Warmest regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I've stayed at the Moda on several occasions now. This time I booked a suite in order to hold a series of meetings, and it worked out really well. We made use of the onsite restaurants as well, though I find them a bit on the pricy side.

I've always found the staff to be helpful, and I am always greeted with a smile.

People complain about the noise, etc., but the hotel is in the middle of a busy part of the city...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplehayes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for staying with Moda, and we are very happy that you continue to enjoy our hotel and service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just be prepared to eat out a lot or utilize the grocery markets down the street. Has a great trendy feel and charming coziness, and the staff is uber-nice.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has ice machine and business centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel_mrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

With our very warm regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is in a great location downtown within 5 mins walk of Vancouver City Centre Canada Line station!

From first look the hotel has a great contemporary feel with red and chocolate decor, but this is as far as it goes!

Our room was at the back of the hotel which overlooked restaurant vents, even with triple glazing this constant drone kept us awake most of the night. Other noise could be heard from the corridor with guests walking about as well as from the room above.

The bathroom was cold with no apparent heating and the shower wasn't really up to much....as well as being set to a bizarre low height which meant crouching to wash your hair.

Breakfast was served at the UVA wine bar from a short menu. Service was ok but not award winning.

On the whole we were glad it was a one night only thing!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Garner-Beasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for staying with Moda hotel during your recent stay in Vancouver! We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location however sad to hear that you didn't enjoy other areas of our hotel.

We wish you all the best!

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing