We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Claudetteth
Cornwall, Canada

Very Good Choice

Review of Moda Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 17, 2019via mobile
We stayed here overnight before going on a cruise. The price was great and the accommodations pretty good. You can't beat this deal. The location is great and the staff is excellent. We had happy hour at Uva and dinner at Cibo all within the hotel.

The bathroom was roomy and well lit, both the bedroom and bathroom had windows that opened and the best was very comfortable. We will stay here again.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$525
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$525
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$476
  • Priceline
    C$525
0.3 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$243
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$263
  • Vio.com
    C$237
  • Hotels.com
    C$263
0.6 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
C$549
C$459
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    C$459
  • Priceline
    C$459
  • Expedia.com
    C$549
0.5 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$357
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$445
  • Agoda.com
    C$332
  • Expedia.com
    C$445
0.5 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
C$351
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$351
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$316
  • Hotels.com
    C$351
0.7 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
C$421
  • Expedia.com
    C$371
  • Algotels
    C$355
  • Hotels.com
    C$371
0.5 km from Moda Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
C$445
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$458
  • Agoda.com
    C$404
  • Expedia.com
    C$459
0.7 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$409
  • Agoda.com
    C$409
  • Vio.com
    C$409
0.9 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
C$459
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$459
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$401
  • travelup.com
    C$477
1.0 km from Moda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    C$476
  • Agoda.com
    C$415
  • Booking.com
    C$476
1.1 km from Moda Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Vancouver
Reviews (1,168)
Filter reviews
1,168 results
Traveller rating
224
487
299
88
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
224
487
299
88
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location rooms are small an older hotel front desk staff coffee maker heart of downtown granville island concert cruise alaska
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,168 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Four on-property dining options plus a wine bar and liquor store. It's still has a feel and ambiance of its bohemian/eclectic past. It is welcoming and upgraded, is clean, well maintained. Older structure and very good use of smaller space.

Dramatic red bathroom, roll-tiled shower & floor, budget toiletries, comfy towels. Inside the mirrored closet are a coffee maker, fridge, safe, iron & table-top ironing board, and - a nice touch - a laptop desk!

The bed is comfortable. I slept very well and the noise of the city lulled me to sleep. If you have a Seymour Street view you can walk the city go by.

It's much better than Granville Street "Entertainment District" hotels, comparable to Robson Street hotels. Staff very nice. Check-in 3p, checkout 11a, 3-4 minute walk from Canada Line & SkyTrain Vancouver Centre Station, close to prime shopping and numerous dining options.

Cibo Trattoria is expensive: appetizers $11-17, pasta $18-22, entrees $24-38 (there's a prix fixe option as well). Breakfast served from 7a (hot breakfast $11-17), lunch $15-21. Budget accordingly or visit numerous dining experiences close by. Korean grocery store one block away.

I had the focaccia bread french toast - it was huge! and very syrupy - almost too sweet. It was a very filling start to the day.

Uva Wine bar offers "zero proof" drinks: your order by adjectives. I chose sour-bubbly-savory: very refreshing. Beverage & prosciutto/melon app $22. It was good. Upscale, classy space. I found it relaxing.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank cigd70072
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

Room was very small. However it was pretty reasonable cost and it was clean. We have stayed there before in a suite which is across the street. Fast check in and staff was pleasant. Nothing fancy about the Moda but priced accordingly.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank GlenMClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Those are the pros. Located at Smithe and Seymour, it's about four blocks west of BC Place and across the street from Vancity Film and the Orpheum. As well, it's a short walk to great Yaletown restaurants. Good value for money if you're okay with the cons.

Cons: soft, mushy bed (room 427). Bed sheets starched/ironed so hard that they sound like plastic when you move. No air conditioning. A thermostat reset to 10C was completely ineffective in reducing the temp from around 34C, and we slept with the provided floor fan on all night which helped, but. This is in March, when it's only 60C outside. We didn't sleep well because of the warmth, the sheets, and the soft bed. Woke up with sore backs.

For these reasons, we won't be back.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Our room had a bed, wardrobe and Bathroom. All were clean and supplied with the essentials. It is a reasonably priced hotel situated for easy access to all areas of Vancouver by foot or by Bike and for us was ideal and functional. we experienced no issues either checking in or out and the staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to see and do as well as local eating houses.
many Thanks

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

Do not stay here. first, my car was broken into in the gated parking lot associated with this hotel. Do NOT park there, they will do nothing to help you, and will not pay or compensate ANYTHING for you. I tried.
Secondly, I left an item in the room, which they luckily kept in the safe for me, but I have been trying for 3 weeks to get them to send it to me, they refuse to take my credit card information over the phone, instead I have to put in an email or fax it to them which is completely unsafe.
I am really disappointed in this establishment. Also, the sheets feel like plastic, but I get that at under $100/night. Pass if you can, overall a terrible experience.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trav06489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews