We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable alternative if a little inconsistent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We visited the Metropolitan for an overnight stay in our local city. The staff were friendly and helpful as you would hope. The room was a reasonable size, with the finest linens and toiletries (Molton Brown). It was good see a room-safe in the room but the room taken up by all the snacks, bottled water etc seemed disproportionate.

One thing about the room was the TV. I don't think I've seen such an old TV, (remember when they used to be deeper than they were wide?) a TV which sat unceremoniously on top of one a black metal stand I thought they had stopped selling in the 1980s. The picture was, as you would expect, poor. This all made no sense in the context of the rest of the room.

We did visit the bar which seemed agreeable - however on returning to the hotel we found it closed at 11pm which was odd. This was a Saturday night in a top-rated hotel in the hear of the city and the bar was closed? The hotel offered 24hr Room Service, but clearly getting a drink was another story.

Overall the Metropolitan was a reasonable hotel. I wonder if someone has simply taken their foot off the pedal?

Room Tip: Given the location don't choose your room based on the view - lots of buildings to look at!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stew255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
There are newer reviews for Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

The welcomes we received from the valet and front desk were great; both friendly and helpful. No problems there. Nice entrance and lobby.

The room itself was nothing special; quite dated. It had an old CRT TV on a black stand which had once housed a video or DVD player - very 1990s. TV picture wasn't very good. The room didn't look as if it had been updated for quite some time. The heating/ventilation system was good; soundproofing from street noise not that great.

The bathroom was a nice surprise - large and nicely fitted out with great toiletries (Molton Brown). It had a cheap, white plastic shower head which seemed at odds with the marble walls and floor. Only one bathrobe was provided in a room for two. The supply of Frette towels (one of the most upmarket brands) was odd. The hand towels and face cloths were thick and luxurious, the mat too. However, the bath sheets - although supposedly of the same brand - were thin and frayed around the edges. Wasn't thrilled to find someone else's long black hair in the sink though.

The bed was quite comfortable and the Frette linens were soft.

There was a coffee machine - the cheap kind you can buy at a drugstore. Also horrible coffee and Coffee Mate powdered milk sachets - yuck. I think they could do a lot better with that.

We went into the bar for a drink late on the Saturday afternoon. The bar was pretty empty. The server was not very welcoming. Later, a polite request to see the restaurant's menu for that evening (it was not ready) was also met with a surly response. We were surprised to see the bar closes at 11pm on a weekend - a bit too early for this kind of hotel. As we were finishing our drinks at that time, several people came in hoping to get served and were incredulous that the place was closed for the night.

The hotel is well located for all downtown activities.

With so much competition in the area I don't know if we'd stay there again or not.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We loved staying at the Metropolitan Hotel. The staff could not have been more friendly or more accommodating and were very helpful when we wanted to make restaurant and sightseeing reservations. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated, with a spacious separate sitting room and large bedroom. We also enjoyed the hotel's restaurant, where again we had great customer service, and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend staying at the Metropolitan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

To say we were impressed by the Metropolitan hotel would be an enormous understatement! Right from the start we were treated with kindness and courtesy when we made our initial reservation. On arriving outside on a very busy Howe Street in the heart of the city, our car was guarded by the doorman against any marauding traffic zealot while yet another extremely polite young man showed us our room before we had to dash off to Langley to a birthday party at least three hours before we were officially due to gain access.
The charming reception at the front desk, where we were welcomed so warmly, boded well for our stay and, to our surprise and delight, we were upgraded to a room we would think twice about before checking with the bank! That room, 15 floors up overlooking the cathedral, was so comfortable that we decided to extend our stay for another day. Both concierges we talked to knew the city down to the finest detail and were extremely helpful. The hotel's Diva Restaurant lived up to the rave reviews. Thanks to being granted a late checkout time we had a chance to try the swimming pool which was perfect.
We look forward to staying with you next time we come to Vancouver to visit our family.. We will certainly be telling all our friends about our wonderful experience,. Thank you all for making our visit so memorable

Room Tip: remember to take your camera - the view from the top floors are amazing!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

first time at this hotel and overall I enjoyed my stay. Staff are very attentive to your needs, I didn't touch the main entrance doors - someone is always there opening it for you. The rooms are nice. It's is obvious that this was probably one of THE HOTELS in the 1980s and for the most part they have maintained it very well. I founds the beds to be ok, not as comfy as most 4-5 star hotels. Overall I would recommend the hotel but i wouldrecomend that you should not have to pay more than 180 here.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is perfect in every way. The rooms are beautiful and quiet and I wish I could pack those beds and pillows for my own home. Staff were always friendly and attentive. I can not think of one bad thing to say about this hotel and I do hope I will return to Vancouver again some day and enjoy the accomodations under better personal circumstances. We had a medical emergency with my elderly father during our stay. I can not thank the hotel enough for helping us out and expressing compassion and concern. A special thank you to Sabrina at the front desk for competently helping us out with the bill, which, due to our stress and confusion we had mixed up. A lovely hotel in a lovely city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareliToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I am frequently in Vancouver on business and almost always stay at the Metropolitan Hotel. It is superbly located with easy walking access to restaurants, shopping and transportation. As hotels go the "Met" is relatively small, but the rooms are excellent with comfortable beds, including exceptional linen and pillows. Large bright bathroom with great shower and separate tub. The staff are consistently welcoming, friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. A french style bistro restaurant - the Diva - serves great food at reasonable prices. I particularly enjoy their breakfasts.

This hotel manages to create a "homelike" ambiance that cannot be matched by any of the other major hotels in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel_Petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,586 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,497 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,672 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $193 - $1,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing