We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Lovely hotel, fantastic location, incredible deal. One of the best places we have ever stayed in any city in North America. Staff is warm and extremely helpful. Our second trip and we have traveled with young kids both times. Excellent for families and a really fun urban location for couples or singles. Even have free parking in a dense neighborhood, and a generous continental breakfast. We feel very at home here and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    646
    95
    22
    10
See reviews for
700
885
113
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We found this apartment-hotel because it was close to where travelling-friends were staying, and it turned out to be a great hidden gem....reasonably priced (and we were upgraded to a full apartment!) lots of rooom in the apartment, great bed and bedding, and everything modernized... simple continental breakfast (cereal, fruit, bread choices and bagels as well as croissants, plus coffee) was offered and you took it back to your room, well worth the savings from the more typical hotels. Located smack in the middle of west-end Van, within walking distance of many tourist venues, or a short walk to a subway line. Facility was clean, staff very hospitable. No complaints for the money we paid, and we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a lovely room on the 6th floor. Very clean and decorated nicely. Really suprised at what a beautiful room we had for the price. Everyone at the Hotel was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good and just enough to get you going in the morning. Close to the Granville Island ferry. Close to everything. The only complaint I have which wasn't the Hotel's problem was the garbage trucks that come early in the morning and are loud...the surrounding alley-ways are not pretty to look at but oh well...and the rain started up early in the morning and was dripping really loudly on the top of the air-conditioner outside. The Hotel itself though is definitely worth coming back to. I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagensborg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I went to Vancouver on a medical trip. The hotel is very close to the hospital and shopping. The room was excellent and the staff were very helpful. If I ever have to go there again that is where I will be staying and I will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know that has to go to the city. It was nice to be able to have my daughter and granddaughter come and stay with me at no extra cost. I was able to visit with my children and grandchildren with no complaints from anyone, the staff were helpful and friendly to my family as well. As a person with a bit of a mobility problem everything was easy access. Simply great service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We come to Vancouver for a little winter getaway every year and the Sunset Inn and Suites is our home away from home. The location is perfect, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the executive suites very roomy, clean and with full kitchen, but who wants to cook when surrounded by a wide variety of excellent ethnic restaurants? Continental breakfast, wireless, parking, daily Globe & Mail, bathrobes and slippers - complementary. Sea wall and Granville Island, just down the hill. This is our fifth year and after staying for 6 nights, our only regret is that we can't stay longer! The essence of urban life in Vancouver.
K & J
Edmonton, Alberta

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This time we chose the hotel because of being close to St. Paul's hospital. My husband was having a major heart procedure which would be a day procedure if all went well.
We stayed in an Executive Suite so my husband could rest without me disturbing him.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the suite was spotless with tasteful decor and an extremely comfortable bed. The room safe is large enough to accommodate a 15" laptop.
Since we pretty much had to stay in our suite except when we were in the hospital we really appreciated the well appointed kitchen, the two flat screen televisions and the excellent wifi reception. The hotel includes breakfast which consisted of nice fresh bagels and croissants, cereals and juice and fresh fruit as well as coffee. There is no public gathering areas as such, so you are encouraged to bring the breakfast to the comfort of your suite as well as using the real dishes from the room. We also enjoyed the national newspaper provided at our door each morning.
The bathrooms are compact but very well appointed and our suite on the 11th floor had excellent water pressure with a nice rain type showerhead. The bathrobes provided were a really nice touch as well. At this time of the year there was ample underground parking which is conveniently located to the elevators. There is a guest laundry and also a workout area should you need them. The location is great, right in the heart of things in Vancouver and the prices very reasonable.
My husbands recovery went better than expected. We had reserved for 3 nights but were able to check out after 2 and were not charged for more than the two nights.
We really enjoyed our stay and will be back, hopefully on a holiday the next time!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OnAWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel was a great surprise for us. While we don't live far from Vancouver and have been there many times, we have never stayed in this part of town. We only needed to stay one night for a soccer event at BC Place so really didn't take advantage of all the wonderful amenities the suite had to offer, but we will definitely stay there again. The location is great: a short walk to Robson Street shopping and BC Place for big events or even Granville Island for the market and restaurants.
The price was reasonable - especially when parking is free! We will stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a pull-out bed for our grown daughter. Worked well for a family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suew008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing