We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Vancouver”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent 2 night at the Sunset Inn before heading to Whislter. It was a great hotel to recover from the long flight and provided a good base to explore Vancouver.

Hotel is located in a more suburban area of downtown Vancouver, but still an easy walk to Robson St for shopping, and there are plenty of restaurants of varying prices within a couple of hundre metres of the hotel. Not far to the beach either - a walk along is recommended (although it was a bit chilly when we were there!).

A simple breakfast is provided daily - bread, bagels, pastries, cereals - all of which you take on a tray back to your room to prepare and eat. All rooms have kitchen facilities which should satisfy most. We found the breakfast more than adequate to fuel us for our days sightseeing. Also free wi-fi is provided.

We needed some extra ski bits & pieces and the staff gave us thorough directions to get to the store and correct change for the bus.

Will stay here again if we find ourselves back in Vancouver.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brizsuz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    685
    101
    23
    11
See reviews for
745
943
116
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Some friends and I stayed here for 2 nights recently on a trip from the UK and thought it was wonderful. The large one bedroom suite was very comfortable with a large front facing balcony and was in easy walking distance of Davie Street and its nightlife.

The reception staff were warm and welcoming and there is a free continental breakfast which you can come down and help yourself to in the morning to take back to your room. It isn't amazing but then for the excellant price we paid for our room we really weren't that bothered.

I really can't find any fault with this hotel at all and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I would definately opt for a front facing or higher floored room. They cost slightly more but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The reviews we read were right on. Sunset Inn and Suites is the best place to stay for location, good size rooms, clean and nicely appointed rooms, comfortable beds, personableness of staff, breakfast, parking and price. It is an updated hotel that has the best of everything. Thanks to Dave, Elvis and Ashley for making us feel at home and enjoy our two night stay. We plan on returning next month with our two girls so they too can experience the same hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were only here for a night, but it was very pleasant. Room was really nice and the view from the upper floors is wonderful at night. Location is great. Easy walking distance to both Davie St. and Granville St. which are both great for food, bars and clubs. Only bad things was their continental breakfast. Would plan on eating elsewhere. Other than that, things were great. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midnightblue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here 2 weekends ago. It was very clean, spacious, and quite. I will definitely stay here again! Continental Breakfast is not very big, but it was perfect for a light breakfast to start the day! The rooms are wonderful! Bathrooms are a little tight, but didn't bother us one bit. Showers were great, beds were comfy, and the kitchens are SO handy!
The only thing that sorta sucked was the parking. I drive a mid-size pick up and it was hard to park it in their tiny parking lot. BUT it is secure and free!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The hotel is really nice, the location is good but it is not at the center of Vancouver. The center is 10min on foot, and basically you have everything around. The room has everything. Free wifi internet as well. The only "disadvantage" was that they said they have breakfast and they do, but it is just a small table with fruits, croissants and coffee (for us it was ok).
The hotel is highly recommended though!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Lovely hotel, fantastic location, incredible deal. One of the best places we have ever stayed in any city in North America. Staff is warm and extremely helpful. Our second trip and we have traveled with young kids both times. Excellent for families and a really fun urban location for couples or singles. Even have free parking in a dense neighborhood, and a generous continental breakfast. We feel very at home here and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,562 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing