We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced, convenient location, nice room with kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Inn and Suites
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well priced, convenient location, nice room with kitchen”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here with two other colleagues for a conference at the convention center which was a little walk from the hotel, but doable. There was parking on site which was convenient. We had a one bedroom suite, with kitchen. The kitchen was a nice bonus. There was a modest breakfast each morning downstairs of coffee, cereal, fruit, and bakery. There was a small fitness room. The staff were welcoming. The location felt safe and there were many restaurants/shops within walking distance. My only criticism of the hotel was that the windows were not double pained so we head some noise from outside. There was also some noise from the hallway area outside of our room. Other than that, the place was great and I would recommend it. The jellybeans in the lobby were a nice treat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mllesaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    662
    97
    22
    11
See reviews for
718
922
116
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we were in Vancouver for my husband's surgery. We chose the Sunset Inn because of its proximity to hospitals, the fact that they offered rooms with 2 beds--sick people need to sleep alone, and the included parking. We will return because of the care and friendliness of all the staff, from the front desk to the team that cleaned our suite, we were made to feel like family. It was great to have a kitchen even tho the light breakfast offered in the lobby each morning was very adequate and often very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nannato5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Sunset Inn & Suites is our kind of place: great location in Vancouver's West End, free covered parking, roomy and stylish accommodations, great bed, and all at a fair price. Plus the staff was very friendly and helpful. We met a lady in the elevator who said they had stayed there over 60 times (to visit their daughter and family).

We will return, possibly with our family in tow.

Room Tip: There are 11 floors and the best rooms are on floors 8 through 11, I believe. We were on the 8th in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vintagemary67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for a week and was very impressed. Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, secure parking and comp continental breakfast. Rooms had all one needed to self cater but location is so good that many restaurants are within a few minutes walk. Very good wifi and also wired Internet. Will certainly stay again for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We shared a room with a friend for a fun trip to the city, and it was a perfect choice for our needs. Close to everything we wanted to do, we never had to spend more than $10 for a cab. The apartment style living made us feel more comfortable, and the free coffee and muffins downstairs in the morning was a nice touch. The full kitchen was a lifesaver as well!
The only complaint was our bathtub would not drain, and it was a bit of a hassle trying to get us all cleaned up each day. In the end, after they could not fix it, they let us use another room to shower in, which worked for us. I had to suggest that though, so I wouldn't expect anyone to offer any extras. DON'T be afraid to ask if you need anything.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We picked this hotel for a 2-night stay based on the good reviews it was getting and we were not disappointed. Great spot for tourists, rooms are large and well-appointed, free breakfast and parking. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We've stayed here as a family on four occasions and enjoyed it every time. The staff are great, the suites clean, spacious and comfortable. A recent reno has provided flat screen TV's and iPod docking radios, in addition to the free Wi-Fi. Oh, and you get a balcony to sit out on and watch the city go by.
A great attraction is the location, it's centrally located so you can walk to all the main parts of the city. So, after arriving and parking your car for free in the secure car park, you can enjoy the city on foot. A short stroll down the hill takes you to the beach, from where you can walk on a footpath all the way to Stanley Park, then on into the city, and then back to the hotel. Alternatively, jump on the little ferry and zoom across to Granville Island ($3 return). Another positive thing is that the area around the hotel has so many great independent eateries, that you're spoilt for choice. Joe's Diner and Vera's Meat are two we've liked.
If you enjoy a swim, there's a great aquatic centre a short walk away. In the summer you must try the lovely beachside outdoor pool ten minutes walk along the footpath, just a couple of dollars to get in, and a favorite with the locals. This pool also has a nice Cafe and park adjacent to it.
So, whether a single, couple or family, this place really is a great value, comfortable little base for a few days in Vancouver.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a view of False Creek and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lookathat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,718 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,481 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,517 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,382 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn and Suites

Property: Sunset Inn and Suites
Address: 1111 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-owned Sunset Inn & Suites hotel in Vancouver located on a quiet, tree-lined residential street in the charming West End. Our residential-style Vancouver suites offer all the comforts of home with separate bedrooms, living rooms, fully-equipped kitchens, dining areas and private balconies. Whether your Vancouver travels are for leisure or business, our spacious suites at affordable rates are ideal for memorable family vacations, productive business trips and extended stays in Vancouver. Find numerous amenities at our Vancouver hotel including free gated parking, wireless Internet and breakfast. Then explore the endless Vancouver attractions within walking distance including the English Bay, Robson Street, and more. Our friendly staff looks forward to going above and beyond to make your stay at our Vancouver hotel unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing