We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Sylvia Hotel is a wonderful hotel for a family with children on a visit to Vancouver. We stayed in a corner suite with views over English Bay with two toddlers (1yr and 2,5yr old). The suite has a bedroom, a living room and a small kitchen with all amenities. In the living room is a decent table with chairs which gives you the opportunity to arrange meals on your own. Breakfast downstairs was fairly priced and although mainly consisted of egg dishes ok. Although the atmosphere is more for older people, we felt welcome with our little kids.

The location of the hotel is awesome. There is a beach in front of the hotel with a large walkway towards Stanley Park but also to the east to Granville Bridge. You are very close to Stanley Park so playgrounds or any other outdoor activity for the kids is close by. For the main shopping areas and sightseeing you need to walk a bit or take a bus but we thought the location made up for it.

Although the furniture and the room were a bit worn out and in need of a renovation, we would definitely come back to this hotel. Where else can you find a decent hotel in downtown Vancouver where the kids can play outside in the park and on the beach?

Room Tip: Bayside rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NTC436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We have so many room types to fit the many needs of our guests at the Sylvia, the kitchen units are great if travelling with kids or staying more than one night to save on restaurant charges. Great access to the beach and Stanley Park. Hope the kids enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    570
    134
    49
    35
See reviews for
289
608
125
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Returned for another weekend getaway, this time bringing friends. Once again, enjoyed our stayed. Lovely room with view of English Bay. Considering that this is a perfect ocean location, the hotel does not overcharge, for the rooms or the food & beverage. Brunch was wonderful. We were extremely lucky to have the same waiter we did when we stayed in Oct...Izad was once again very attentive, funny and it was a pleasure seeing him again. Our friends really enjoyed the morning with him as our server. Special thank you to Rick for my birthday upgrade and for taking care of our reservations and answering all our questions. See you again soon. Maybe this time with our boys to watch the fireworks in the summer.
thanks again. two couples from the subhurbs.

Room Tip: check the website for monthly specials, upgraded etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Welcome back, Thank-you for bringing your friends and your comments about appreciating the value we offer. Izad is a proud member of our food and beverage team and I will forward your comments on to him. Rick will also get a note from me about your great comments about his service. I was happy to see that he was able to upgrade you for your birthday. So until we see you again, Thank-you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnam
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Sylvia with so much going on in the neighborhood we were never at a loss for something to do or see. The restaraunts were plentiful and good, the sea wall was a bustls of activity and the sun was out ... made for many smiley faces. I have wanted to stay here since I was a young girl and it was apartments at that time ... what a wonderful retreat within the city. Our suite was clean spacious and massive with views of the harbour.

Room Tip: I have been told not to stay near the elevators. If it is a special occasion spring for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marivietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Like others have mentioned we do have a great location, we are close to everything. Plus we are in a quiet residential area of the West End of Vancouver. So happy that after all these years you were able to finally get to stay with us. I hope that we exceeded your expectations? We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We went to Vancouver for two days March 18 and 19. The staff was more then helpful. They gave us the most beautiful room with a view to English Bay.The location is the best in Vancouver. We enjoyed brunch in there restaurant looking out at English bay. We loved everything about this Hotel, and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANETH154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
I agree the views from the view rooms are amazing. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant as well. Our Sunday brunch has always been a draw for the locals as well as hotel guests on the weekends. I have to agree with you that we do have the best location in Vancouver to stay while in Vancouver. We will look forward to serving you on your return visit to the Sylvia Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Arrived around 5pm. Check in was a breeze!
My room was small ,with a great view.
Staying at the Sylvia is really like a grab bag, with no bad grabs!!!
After leaving my bag in the room, went to the "cocktail lounge". It was the first one in Vancouver many years ago.
They serve yummy cocktails, all with an amazing view of English Bay. This is a classic lounge. No noisy music or TV's. Thank goodness.
It is, literally, right across the street. A nice long stretch of sandy beach, and lovely beach walk which will take you all around Stanely Park if you so choose.
The food was fine, nothing out of the ordinary, which is a shame, but not expected. Service was great for breakfast too.
Bed was very comfy, and the room quiet.
This was my second stay,even better than the first.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
I love your description of the rooms we have as we do have so many room types, it is like a "grab bag" (with no bad grabs) as you put it. Our lounge is a classic with great views at sunset. Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Sylvia hotel is the most friendly and beautiful hotel I've stayed in for ages. It has the most friendly staff even at six in the morning they were the most friendly people in the world. Amazing location. Can't wait to stay there again xx

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the bay xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank-you for your comments, I will print them off and post them in the lunch room for all the staff to read. We have a great location and when you match that up with great service, you have a great Hotel.
I am so proud of my crew; I feel that they help in making sure that every guest has a great experience while staying at the Sylvia Hotel. Thank-you for crew making us look good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel was built before WWI and has the perfect location overlooking English Bay. In a city that is hyper modern, it is so great to have this landmark piece of architecture survive. The dining room and bar have the perfect view over English Bay and the ships at anchor in its Roads.

The Edwardian Charm still there. I loved this Hotel and even though less grand than the Big Hotel's of Vancouver, it is definitely the most charming and very reasonably priced. I will go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcorsano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdyck, General Manager at Sylvia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
I agree with you, I have always liked the hotels with character and charm; next year will be the Sylvia Hotels 100th year in operation. The first hotel on English Bay with the views from the lounge at night which are the best in the city in my opinion. We hope to keep the rates reasonable and offer the best service possible. So we will look forward to your return visit to Vancouver and thank-you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 1154 Gilford St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing