We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
10
41
52
24
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
41
52
24
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stanley park tired and in need fully equipped kitchen blackout curtains one bedroom suite floor room excellent location early check cleaning staff coffee maker washroom roomy starbucks
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 158 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016

All the bad reviews really worried me and I almost gave up staying there. Thank goodness I didn't! Ok, the hotel is old, the rooms look like they came from the 80s, but it was super clean, very spacious (our room was like a small apartment, there was the bedroom, the bathroom, a living room, a small dining area and a fully-equipped kitchen!). The maids were great, they cleaned our room every day and changed the towels and sheets. The wi-fi was pretty great as well! Plus, being on Robson st, it was in the middle of everything! Really convenient and close to restaurants, groceries stores etc. My partner and I stayed there for a week and we have no complaints! Specially considering what we paid for it ($159 a night).

Room Tip: High floors are the best ones!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Pre-booked at short notice a room/suite for one night. Location is perfect for shopping and Stanley Park is literally just down the road.
The hotel and room were outdated. The windows in the suite - were filthy, though the bedding was crisp and clean.
Cost was £100 for one night, cheap compared to other hotels. Suite - consisted of full bathroom, a kitchen, bedroom, lounge/dining area. The view from the sixth floor was of an office block.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up, away from noise and traffic
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Cheap and a reminder of 70's tower block living must have been like.

But...

If you want a good central location, will be out for most of the day/evening, this is the place for you.

It is a short walk to Stanley park, central to Robson Street and serviced daily by a lovely crew. I would recommend this to anyone, just be prepared to feel like a pensioner in a home while you are staying there.

Maybe I am being harsh, and maybe it's because we had just come from a swish hotel in Seattle, but if you want to stay in downtown Vancouver for £74 a night, the Tropicana is for you!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank scatti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2016

Spent 5 days at the Tropicana. It was a clean, "no frills" hotel. Maid service everyday. Our bathroom had recently been remodeled and was nice. The curtains in both rooms were old and frayed, but effective. Kitchen was minimal. Great view and great location. Easy walking to shopping, Stanley Park and the waterfront. Front desk was helpful. Used the washing machines without problems. The pool and sauna were closed.

Room Tip: The higher up you go the quieter it is. No air-conditioning so you need to have the windows open which can get loud.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

This is a boutique hotel that is locked in the design and colours of the 80's. The room are complete with coffee maker, fridge, range, microwave, big TVs and good beds. Nothing has changed since Disco was King. Frankly this hotel is a bargain at only $149 a nite including parking. My room on the 10th floor even had a $1000 view. I'll be back for more!

Room Tip: Higher is quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marriagecommissioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews