We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cute, clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights here. We had a hockey game to see one night and a concert the next. This hotel is in a great location to walk to venues, restaurants and shopping. We booked a deluxe room. The price was great. The room was a corner suite, large and clean. We had our own bathroom. The bed was king size and super comfortable. Nice linens and king size increadibly comfortable pillows. Best hotel bed I've had. Housekeeping was great.
I loved the charm the building had. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I will be back.

Room Tip: This hotel has both shared and private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I sure envy the both of you. You pulled off the "Ultimate Get-Away Hat-Trick"
A Road Trip, a Concert and a Hockey Game. Oh, and a great sleep. Nice!
Thank you Andrea W and we all look forward to seeing you again next time. Maybe live theater and a football game? It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    288
    109
    40
    23
See reviews for
100
345
66
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This lovely Victorian inspired hotel exceeded my expectations! Great beds with crisp white sheets and duvet....deluxe! I slept in comfort. Bathrooms spotless, with bathmats and towels that were changed out twice per day. The shampoo was natural and contained lovely smelling essential oils.
I enjoyed the organic feel, victorian decor and quaintness of the hotel.
Breakfast was visually appealing, and yummy. Great start to the day!
Handy to shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and major transportation. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.
I highly recommend this gem. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Our thanks to you S.L. for such an inspired review. It is such a treat to hear from someone who so genuinely embraces the Victorian Hotel concept. We can't wait to have you back again and try one of our deluxe rooms next time. Until then, many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month and found this hotel to be just the ticket.

A 5 minute walk from the Waterfront Skytrain station, which on on the direct line from the airport. Nice bars, shops and cafes nearby, and close the Canada Place if you're heading off on a cruise, or just like to gawk at the liners.

Our room has shared facilities which suited us fine, the bathrooms were clean (and always availble) and the bedrooms too were spotless and very comfortable. Quality linen and beautiful polished wood floors.

The complimentary breakfast was a bonus too, enougn tea, coffee, toast, cereals and pastries to set you up for the day. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much Stumblebee, ( I love your handle).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night while waiting to board a cruise. I'd read some of the TA reviews beforehand, but decided that one night would be okay. It was MORE than okay. The location was perfect for us. The reservation process was simple, and I like that the hotel confirms your stay right away via email. The room (king suite with private bath) was lovely, with hardwood floors and clean linens. The room and bathroom were updated but still had an old-fashioned and European B&B vibe to it: marble and wood. The tub was a little tall to climb out of for a small person. The front desk was courteous and informative. The breakfast was continental plus: fruit, cereal, toast, rolls, yogurt and coffee. In the front of the hotel, there are steep stairs that some might find challenging. If you have stayed in B&Bs, you would love this little find.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so very much for your charming review Lady Bellvue. We're glad to have exceeded your expectations and love it when a guest appreciates our hotel's certain unique style.
Hope to see you on your next trip to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is in walking distance to the Gasworks neighborhood and very convenient to public transportation which we used the whole trip. The manager (Bryan) was helpful and even drove a few of us to the airport so we wouldn't have to get two taxis-wow! PS Their free breakfast was quite healthy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dearest Becky, your whole group were just wonderful and it was a pleasure to help get you to the train station, given the bedlam with the cabs that day. Remember, threes a charm, so we're really looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to go to the Timbers vs Whitecaps game and do some sight seeing. The building is as cute in person as on the website, and I loved how they maintained the old timey vibe while still providing some modern accents. I was a little worried at first as to sharing a bathroom with other guests, but it was not a problem at all, and in 4 days we only had one issue with another hotel guest hogging the shower room for almost an hour while they not only showered but did their hair and makeup (however, this isn't the fault of the hotel, just an inconsiderate guest). The chocolate croissants in the mornings were delicious. The wifi was easy to connect to and reasonably fast. The location was within easy walking distance of most of what we wanted to see and seemed like a reasonably safe area, though it was kind of on the outskirts of the well trafficked area, but I still felt perfectly safe. The only issues were that I wish they provided more soap/lotion and a more secure place to leave bags if you arrive before check in (they just store them all in the breakfast nook). Also, we were close to the main staircase so it was a little noisy in the morning, but we planned on rising early so it wasn't a problem. Overall, it was a wonderful stay and we would consider returning.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from main stair case might be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Well thank you very much for your detailed review D85. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm sure you were happy your team came back for a tie. As for the shower diva, She must have been a Timbers fan as we found green body paint on the towels. Hope to see you again in the play-offs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were in Vancouver for just one night, and found the Victorian when looking for places to stay within walking distance of Rogers Arena. We were pleasantly surprised to find we were central to nearly everywhere we wanted to go, and didn't once need our car. Two blocks from Gastown, 6-7 blocks from the Arena.. and found great places to eat in between. The host and hostess were very friendly, and made us feel very welcome. We took advantage of the paid secured parking, and never worried about the car. (It is first come, first serve, as there are only 7-8 spots, and we were able to check in early, in order to get a parking spot). The bed was very comfortable, the rooms were very clean and the overall ambience of the hotel was magical. Tastefully decorated and not overdone. We are already planning a return trip to see more of the city.

Room Tip: Most rooms are shared bathrooms (a European Boutique hotel feeling)!.. however we were given room #2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outandabout912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Cheers to you Outandabout! What a delightfully energetic review.We thank you so much and look forward to your next stay with us.
Just a F.Y.I., we have 28 rooms with en-suites and 19 economy rooms that share 6 bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Property: Victorian Hotel
Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing