We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All hotels should be like this!”
Review of Victorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Hotel
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A true, hidden gem in the heart of Vancouver! Short distance to everything. The building, currently being updated here and there, has lots of personality and charm. Our room was great with two large beds and a corner with a couch and chairs where we could sit and read. We had our own bathroom, so it was really just perfect! Free wifi and breakfast only adds to the nice experience! Very friendly and helpful staff. Even the housemaids we met in the hallways! We will be back again whenever we visit Vancouver in the future! This is the type of hotel that stands out from the mass of sad, sad chainhotels that all deliver a certain service but have absolutely no charm at all.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hooray for the Danes! We couldn't be happier to hear your comments about our hotel Anders. I must say, your kind words about our staff are heartfelt and greatly appreciated. Thank you so very much and please hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the start of our 5 week Canadian holiday and enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the decor of the rooms and rest of the hotel was really nice. We stayed in the double room which had everything you needed but it was a bit on the cozy size, particularly as we were in town for the BC Bike Race and we had 3 bags and a boxed mountain bike between the two of us! But we were already aware of what the rooms were like and this hotel was much better than our next option which was a backpackers hostel. Once the bike had been put together the hotel staff let us keep it in the basement which was great. The central location was definitely a bonus, and most of the major sights are within a short walk or bike ride. The shared bathrooms weren't an issue and were always clean. We never had to wait to use the showers or toilets. Breakfast was basic but filling and of good quality, the only thing missing was juice. Overall a great choice for those wanting a clean, comfy budget option but are over staying at backpackers hostels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you so much for your comments Alice M. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us, as your energy and friendly attitude was infectious. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

5 minute walk from the central station right in the middle of downtown. Free breakfast and wi-fi was a plus. You could seriously walk just about anywhere from this hotel. Shared bathrooms take a little getting used to. I might've shelled out some more money for a private, but I was on a budget. Staff was excellent. Especially Brian...whom I hope tried that Pourhouse burger I told him about. Overall this place gets the job done as far as hotels go. My return trip would include this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank jmw4golf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Hey JMW thanks for the review. It was a real pleasure having you with us and yes, the cheeseburger was "All world" so were the Manhattans...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is a steep climb from the Station. Aged people and travellers with heavy luggage need fitness or have to hire a cab for the short 15 min walking distance from the station to the hotel. You also need to carry your luggage up or down a steep flight of stairs should you get a 2nd story room. The reception is a happy place and everybody who mans the place throughout the day are always eager to help you should you face any problems (which I haven't faced any during my 5 days stay at Vancouver. It is located centrally in the city and most of the sightseeing places are within walking distance.
The bathrooms may not be attached with your rooms but they are a treat to go to. They are really royal rooms and you start to feel like a king when you are in them, they are so lavishly decorated that they can put the 5-stars to shame, and the nos are adequate for the floor. Breakfast is simple but sufficient.
The rooms are adequate if not big and the bed is comfortable too. Coffee and tea is provided but the best part is that the coffee maker in the breakfast room is on throughout the day and after a tiring day of sightseeing, the free coffee is welcome.
Overall, I would again like to stay here if I visit Vancouver, in future.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side for a good view from the bay windows while you are having a cuppa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Many thanks for your review Doctor B. I must say, I'm not sure if our Deluxe rooms put 5 Star suites to shame but we're certainly very proud of them. I should also point out that guests arriving by Sky Train from the airport, can get off at the Granville station and the walk is only 3 blocks (from the Dunsmuir exit) and more or less down hill. My kind of stroll. Many thanks again sir, and please look us up on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights prior to departing on a cruise and then again for 1 night on our return. On both occasions staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable with a king-size bed and an ensuite bathroom. The hotel is beautifully restored and furnished with period style furniture and located close to shopping and dining districts and the cruise terminal. Our only complaint was that there are no elevators and it was difficult to manoeuvre 2 large suitcases up the 2 flights of stairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Well thank you so very much for your kind words and recommendation Julie L. I regret you had to struggle with your luggage. We try to help with bags every chance we get but obviously we missed your work-out and for that I'm sorry. But It sounds like you had a great stay in Vancouver and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent two nights here. We had a hockey game to see one night and a concert the next. This hotel is in a great location to walk to venues, restaurants and shopping. We booked a deluxe room. The price was great. The room was a corner suite, large and clean. We had our own bathroom. The bed was king size and super comfortable. Nice linens and king size increadibly comfortable pillows. Best hotel bed I've had. Housekeeping was great.
I loved the charm the building had. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I will be back.

Room Tip: This hotel has both shared and private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

I sure envy the both of you. You pulled off the "Ultimate Get-Away Hat-Trick"
A Road Trip, a Concert and a Hockey Game. Oh, and a great sleep. Nice!
Thank you Andrea W and we all look forward to seeing you again next time. Maybe live theater and a football game? It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This lovely Victorian inspired hotel exceeded my expectations! Great beds with crisp white sheets and duvet....deluxe! I slept in comfort. Bathrooms spotless, with bathmats and towels that were changed out twice per day. The shampoo was natural and contained lovely smelling essential oils.
I enjoyed the organic feel, victorian decor and quaintness of the hotel.
Breakfast was visually appealing, and yummy. Great start to the day!
Handy to shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and major transportation. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.
I highly recommend this gem. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Our thanks to you S.L. for such an inspired review. It is such a treat to hear from someone who so genuinely embraces the Victorian Hotel concept. We can't wait to have you back again and try one of our deluxe rooms next time. Until then, many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
426 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,779 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
934 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Hotel

Address: 514 Homer St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $99 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Vancouver, discover the Victorian Hotel-a newly renovated boutique-style property housed in a beautiful brick Victorian era building dating back to 1898. Once inside,guests are transported to the 21st century with 47 beautifully appointed guest rooms designed to create a truly alternative hotel experience.The location is at the nexus of 3 distinct neighborhoods. Historic Gastown,trendy Yaletown and the brand new development of Coal Harbour next to the Convention Centre, are all within walking distance.The shopping district of Robson street and the entertainment sector of Granville are also just minutes away. Waterfront Sky Train station and Roger's Arena are both approximately 5 minute walks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing