We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveller rating
375
383
136
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
383
136
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator salvation army shared bathroom yogurt continental breakfast private bath hardwood floors first floor waterfront station stay there again gas town street noise downtown vancouver comfortable beds few minutes walk tea and coffee deluxe room
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 980 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

Just had such a lovely short stay at The Victorian that we almost want to keep it secret! It exceeded our expectations, especially considering how inexpensive it is.

There are what may be downsides for some, ie stairs up to the front door & no elevator, but this was not a problem for us. We booked a room with private facilities & were delighted to have a large room, on the first/ground floor (same floor as reception), on the corner of the building so with large windows to both Homer & West Pender streets. They have retained the Victorian charm and elegance of the hotel with lovely furnishings, whilst also being light and airy & having a modern bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable, there was a large walk-in closet, bathrobes, & plenty of hot water for showers. There was tea & coffee making facilities in the room and, because we don’t like powdered milk, it was no bother for reception to supply us with fresh milk.

We never had any trouble getting a table to ourselves at breakfast, where there was fruit, yogurt, cornflakes, pastries (savoury & sweet), toast, waffles and condiments plus, of course, tea & coffee (& you could take tea & coffee togo too). (It would be even better if they could provide muesli or granola too). The day we arrived, in the late afternoon, reception offered us leftover pastries from breakfast which were most welcome.

On checking out, which was at the most civilised time of 11am, we were able to leave our bags for free whilst we went out as we did not need to leave for the airport until the afternoon.

An all-round great experience and would definitely stay here again should we be lucky enough to return to Vancouver.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AtaFitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Many thanks to you Attafitgirl, what a lovely review and we can't wait to see you back again. Travel well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2019

As family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children), it is always a challenge to find "affordable" family room able to accommodate all of us, that's why we selected this hotel for our one night transit in Vancouver. Room was very big and totally refurbished so it was a good surprise, no elevator but we stayed on first floor. Check in / Check out was fast, breakfast is included, quite limited in choice but enough and convenient if you want to have a quick meal before leaving the hotel. The only concern is the restaurant on the ground floor just below our room and it was very very noisy till late, so room on 2nd floor could be better. Good experience overall for one night stay.

Room tip: Choose room on high floors
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410xavierg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Thank you so much for your review and I can't be happier that things worked out for you and yours. The restaurant noise is disconcerting as they rarely ever cause noise issues, so my apologies for that. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2018

I chose the Victorian because I was attending a show at a sort-of nearby venue (The show was fantastic, by the way.) The staff at the Victorian were very friendly and helpful. I should have read the website more closely as I did not catch that there was no elevator but really it was not a big deal as I was on the 2nd floor. I got one of the ensuite rooms, it was well lit, clean, and comfortable. I appreciate the older style rooms. I don't often stay downtown in Vancouver but if I do again I would definitely consider staying at the Victorian Hotel again. It is very close to Pacific Centre and Vancouver City Centre skytrain. Good takeaway food nearby. The neighborhood to the east can be a little rough but I had no difficulties, one needs to be aware of where one is going and plan accordingly.

Room tip: Don't skimp, if you want your own bathroom, get that kind of room.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Cheers to you Carole,thanks a-ton for the charming review and I certainly hope to see you back with us again on your next Vancouver junket. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Location was great. The hotel is very noisy. You can hear everyone’s movements. If you get an interior room facing the alley, be prepared to be woken up by people talking outside around 2 am. It’s grear if you want to get close to the stadiums though.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018

Sorry for the noisy disruption Jory. People coming and going as well as some of the boisterous locals can be something you may never experience snug in your own bed. More often than not it is eerily quiet around here, other times-not so much as it's quite a lively neck of the woods. Hopefully you'll get one of the calmer nights next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of many attractions. The rooms are spacious and nicely decoarated with a harmonious blend of old and new and the bathrooms are modern. The continental breakfast was plentiful. The only downside was the cramped breakfast room. Price was very reasonable.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fromawidebrownland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMacGM, General Manager at Victorian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018

Many thanks to you and the rest of your Australian troop. It was such a pleasure having you all with us and I wish you the best on your epic journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews