We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best hotel stay to date!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was the second time that I've ever stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront and I thought it was my best hotel stay to date. When I booked the hotel, I was worried that perhaps the furnishings and service were going to be horrible, as the Fairmont Pacific Rim seems to be the one that is getting all the accolades these days.

I arrived on an early morning flight and I got to the hotel at 10am via the Skytrain - it was very convenient. Of course, I knew my room wouldn't be ready, but the front desk checked for me, just in case... and told me that they would give me a call on my cell phone when the room is ready to go. All of the staff were very friendly and I felt each one was trying to go above and beyond. The room that I was in, looked like it had been renovated recently and had newer furnishings. It was good to see that money was still being spent to maintain the quality of the hotel.

Overall, the combination of a great location, amazing service, and above average quality of the rooms made this one of my best hotel stays to date.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilburintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was thrilled to read your glowing review and will take great pleasure in sharing your kind words with regards to our high level of service with our team. You may be interested to know that we will be undergoing further exciting renovations to our guestrooms in 2012 as we strive to consistently provide a fresh and impeccable product. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. If I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager at The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,224
    704
    154
    54
    35
See reviews for
602
1,190
143
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just returned from our second stay at this hotel and again had a lovely time.

We had a fab corner room with 2 huge windows directly overllooking the harbour. Lovely and clean with evening turndown service.

Unfortunately they charge for wifi access which really annoyed me seeing as you can get it for free in so many places, including the Pacific Coast coaches! Why??? Apparently it's free if you're in their Presidents Club so is worth registering before you go!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whistlerpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our corner Signature rooms – the two walls of floor-to-ceiling windows definitely provide an amazing view of the harbour and North Shore Mountains. My apologies that you were disappointed with our wireless internet charge; you are correct in stating that we provide free wifi for all Fairmont President Club members, for which membership is also complimentary. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and if I can ever be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager at The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Location was good and the foyer was very pleasant but I found the staff to be just going through their paces and less than genuinely friendly. The rooms were quite nice but the 'mattress topper' was unbearably hot to sleep on. Probably would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Family_GJLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on your recent stay at The Fairmont Waterfront. Guest feedback is very important to us as we consistently review our practices to ensure we offer our guests the service and products they deserve. I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this visit; as we truly strive to make every stay a memorable one. Please know I will be reviewing your comments with the team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, please feel free to contact me directly at 604-691-1892 or ian.pullan@fairmont.com should you travel to Vancouver again, so that I may personally take care of you on your next stay. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager, The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Waterfront (I suppose too much time spent at their Royal York property in Toronto has tainted me! crappy out-dated rooms, crappy service... but I digress)

The service was friendly; the West Coast influenced decor was subtle, elegant and well done;, the breakfast service was great, food was excellent (good old Canadian Pacific Railway coffee - loove it!), the concierge provided us umbrellas to walk around with.

I was happy to see that the room had a mini-bar station with water, wine and goodies laid out for selection with an easily found price list. I also much prefer the new toiletry line they've got in-room. They also brought up a travel sized anti-perspirant for me at no charge when I called the concierge after forgetting mine!

Minor cons:
No foam pillows in the room for those of you who are allergic (delivered upon request).
Mediocre hairdryers but it was strong enough to get the job done in a reasonable amount of time.
As an interior design afficionado, I love being blown away by hotel design. This was lovely, understated elegance but not statement-making. They do have naturally beautiful surroundings so perhaps they don't want to detract from such a grand view.

All in all, a very happy business traveller.

Room Tip: You'll want a waterfront room. "Cityview" faces away from the beautiful harbour and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yycskymiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I was happy to read that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful view. I would like to thank you for your feedback with regards to some of the guestroom amenities and will be sure to share your comments with our Operations team. Thank you again for selecting the Fairmont Waterfront, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager, The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Classy luxury and service. A large spacious room with views of both harbour and downtown. A huge comfortable bed. Roomy bathroom, flat screen tv and coffee maker. Easy access to downtown and the waterfront. No negatives…oh maybe one…firmer pillows for our next visit please?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobs-big-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

What a wonderful hotel! The front desk staff was friendly and efficient, the room had the most comfortable king-size bed I have ever slept in and the in-room coffee was to die for! They even gave us a late check out on our last day so we didn't have to schlep our luggage around for 4 hours. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savarynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont Waterfront at the end of January 2012. The hotel is lovely and in a very good location. We were upgraded to a Waterfront room and the views from the room (once the cloud had cleared!) were spectacular. We could have sat all day gazing out of the window. The room was a good size, very comfortable and always clean and tidy. The hotel is very well placed for taking a stroll to Gastown or up into the main shopping area. The staff at the hotel couldn’t have been more helpful and I would especially like to mention Leigh Stratton. Leigh very kindly helped us with a delivery which was sent to the hotel some months ago. I would certainly recommend this hotel and, if we were to travel to Vancouver again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen9244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterfrontVancouver, General Manager at Fairmont Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to read your review and learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed the view and our excellent location. Please rest assured that I will be personally sharing your kind compliments with Leigh.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel once again in the near future. Sincerely, Ian Pullan, General Manager, The Fairmont Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 90 in Vancouver
2,886 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,718 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,577 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,480 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Waterfront

Property: Fairmont Waterfront
Address: 900 Canada Place Way, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Waterfront luxury hotel showcases the best of Vancouver. Conveniently situated beside the Canada Place Cruise Ship Terminal and adjacent to the Vancouver Convention Centre, this luxury Vancouver hotel has a central harbour location, ideal for any stay. Guests can enjoy shopping, trendy restaurants, art galleries, Gastown, Chinatown and famous Stanley Park all within steps of our doors. This Four Diamond urban retreat is world renowned for its warm and welcoming service and truly showcases the best of Vancouver. The 489 newly renovated Vancouver Waterfront hotel rooms are spacious, elegantly appointed with distinctive amenities and showcase spectacular city, mountain and harbour views through floor-to-ceiling windows. The Fairmont Gold floor is an exclusive hotel within a hotel, featuring complimentary breakfast and evening canapes, personal concierge service and an exclusive lounge and terrace with harbour-views. Visit the on-site restaurant ARC. The culinary team embraces fresh, local and sustainable ingredients complemented by hotel-grown herbs from the 2,100 square foot rooftop garden and honey from the on-site honeybee colony. Expect simple, flavor focused cuisine, cooked with flawless execution appealing to discerning or emerging palates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Waterfront Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Waterfront
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont
Fairmont Waterfront Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing