We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Travellers from the UK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Travellers from the UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here in September before we cruised to Alaska and found the staff to be very friendly and efficient. The room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was plentiful. Lots of visitors at the hotel due to conferences but we always found a table.
Coffee facilities were in room and good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauline469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review on the hotel, we great appreciate the feedback and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    366
    136
    19
    18
See reviews for
206
304
72
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here in Sept and arrived at 5.30.in the morning to be greeted by the manager
doing night shift. He was lovely and made us welcome by opening the breakfast room so we could make coffee. He also laid out danish pastries etc so we could help ourselves.The rooms werent ready as they were booked but he organized for 1 room to be ready asap
so we could drop our bags and go out.
The rooms were spotlessy clean and very comfortable and the beds were really good.
Overall we had a great stay and the bus service is really good just up the road.
Would stay here again and recomend to friends travelling to Canada.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deedeeWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickSair, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you for your kind words I am very glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and that Rick was able to make you as comfortable as possible on your early arrival. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September(should have been 3, but thanks to Aer Lingus spent 1 night at Heathrow). We were on the ground floor, the room had high ceilings and was quite old fashioned but clean. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful but a bit of a squeeze and as we were right next to the breakfast room, there was no chance of a lie in as the chair scraping started at 7am. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a supermarket right across the road. I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Vancouver on a budget, it is about a 30 min walk to Gastown, but just be careful as we met a lot of unsavoury characters just when you leave Chinatown and that was only about 9pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alih68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickSair, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am glad to hear you were able to make the best of your shortened stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascain, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

After having staid at the BW+ in Kelowna, we expected much more from this hotel and were extremely disappointed.
On the truly + side were the free parking and really speedy free wifi. Leave your car here and grab the number 8 or 19 at the nearby bus stop and you're quickly downtown.
Apart from this the hotel badly needs renovation and his rather gloomy. Everything looks old and sad in this place.
The lobby is small and unpractical.
The rooms are average size and beds are too short if you're over 6 ft (my case).
The breakfast room is small and noisy and the choice of food limited and very basic.
The elevator is slow and you have to wait for it ages.
Some of the staff are ok, some merely so-so.
I wonder why criteria are chosen by BW to grant the + label but this hotel certainly does not deserve it.
Business centre is a joke

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpchoisne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickSair, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
I regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, while it is true that the new Best Western Plus in Kelowna is a remarkable property many of our guests still enjoy our property, however we feel that to be a successful hotel you need to constantly evolve and do what ever possible to create a great experience for every guest. With that in mind we have a lot planned for the Uptown Hotel over the next 2 years we will be taking great strides towards improving the property and the guest experience here at the Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel. I hope that in the future you can give us another chance to provide you with great accomodations here in Vancouver and thank you for choosing Best Western.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very good hotel in a great location. Offseason rates of $75 per night is a steal given the location. Hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants (Burgoos on Main is well worth the hike) and there is a mall across the street. Rooms are average sized and reasonably appointed. Above average selection of pastries at the included breakfast. Fitness area leave a bit to be desired and the hotel does not have a pool/hot tub area. All in all, this is a very solid choice for the area. I will stay here again especially in the offseason.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I have checked into best western hotels in man places in the world and have been nothing but pleased with the service. In Vancouver the break fast in this hotel was very tasty. Although sometimes the room was packed and we had to wait for a few minutes, but who cares about a few minutes on vacation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The drain was not ok in the first day and they fixed it as soon as we let them know. In general I totally recommend this hotel for people who are in Vancouver for sight seeing and are not extremely picky about the luxurious stuff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for several nights for business. While the front desk staff and cleaning staff were very nice and helpful, the hotel itself is quite out-dated, the walls and celings are paper thin and the rooms have that old musty stench. The continental breakfast was just that, with paper plates, plastic utensils in a tiny room where all the breakfast guests bump into one another. They then use the room for folding laundry the rest of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for 4rth floor so you don't have to listen to the guests above you stamping around all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LufTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickSair, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff of the hotel, we always try to give the absolute best customer service to all of our guests and would do anything we can to make every stay a pleasurable one. I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and I would have been most greatful if I had to opportunity to help make your stay more pleasurable while you were still with us. In general the hotel is very quiet however sometimes hotels can be noisy whether it be things like ice machines or other guests, most of the time we can do things to prevent these noises from being a constant disturbance. As for the contintental breakfast, the breakfast room is by far our least liked room in the hotel, yes it is small and gets very busy unfortunately we do not have any where to expand, but making the breakfast experience better for our guests is definitely one of the things the management team is constantly looking at for improvements which is one of the reasons we added the hot breakfast upgrade option which has become quite popular this summer amongst many travellers. This option is available to all guests and is offered at the time of check in, however you can choose at anytime if you would like to upgrade.

There are many things we have planned for 2012 and beyond as the hotel is now 12 years old it could use a refresher so many updates are on the horizon, we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#47 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing