We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place - stinks of marijuana, staff hopeless (poor communication), lousy neighbourhood, tired hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible place - stinks of marijuana, staff hopeless (poor communication), lousy neighbourhood, tired hotel.”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Hated our 2 day stay. Our floor stank of marijuana both nights and when we complained the second night we were told we weren't the first to complain, that the housekeeping should have noticed and told front desk (sure blame the housekeeper when the idiots were bound to have do not disturb on the door), and that they couldn't do anything about it. It was sickening and smelt in the lifts, hall and also our room. Especially bad when you are travelling with a small child. They also don't have cots or cribs for small children - they said they weren't in use already, there literally weren't any. Don't go here if you are travelling with a small child as ours ended up on the floor on pillows - lucky he is 2 and not 6 to 12 months!

The neighbourhood is not great either - lots of rough looking people around and saw several using the garden out front for toileting.

All in all gross. Friends nearby recommended Richmond area for next visit as it is affordable but easy to get to downtown via sky train. Just go anywhere but here. Manager said when I checked out he had only just been told about it because I had phoned best western central number to complain. I told him to read his own communication diary as it was already 10 am but was in there the day before. He then blamed night staff for not telling him! I would have thought breech of smoking policy (fire hazard) and especially with illegal substances, with multiple complaints would have been reported to management on the day! Useless place. Has put me off best western totally.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wild1wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Once again I apologize that you had an unpleasant stay at our hotel, As was stated in our conversation we have very strict policies against smoking in our hotel whether it be cigarettes or marijuana the offense carries a fine of $500.00 which I assure you was charged to the person who decided to break our rules. It is rather unfortunate that there are people who choose to act in such a manner that it effects other people and the reputation of a hotel. I apologize on behalf of the hotel and myself, for not being able to rectify the issue in a much quicker manner, as I stated the hotel still values the privacy of our guests and there was very little we could do to find the culprit with out potentially violating the privacy and trust of our guests. In this situation unfortunately we did have to wait for the room to be vacant before we could be certain which guest was responsible.

As for the area, it is quite nice, many new developments have sprung up in the past couple of years and it has really kick started quite a transformation of the area, while streets such as 10th avenue remain quaint, tree lined residential streets the Main St, Broadway and Kingsway corridors have become hotspots for new commercial/residential developments. We can't deny that there is a poverty issue in Vancouver, and even though there are some less fortunate people in the area at times (most of whom use the Vancouver Recovery Club) the neighborhood is no worse then any other in Vancouver and on any given day you'll see employees and volunteers of the Mount Pleasant Business Improvement Association in the neighborhood keeping the streets as clean and as safe as possible.

In response to the comment about toileting, sadly some people choose to ignore the norms of society and do commit such acts in public, however with the 5 years I have worked for this hotel and 2 1/2 years I have lived in the neighborhood I can honestly say that this is a rarity, and not something myself or any of the hotel staff would tolerate happening "several" times in a matter of days.

The hotel does provide play pens for small children, we do not have cots or full cribs.

Once again I would like to apologize that your stay was not up to the standards of the hotel or your expectations. Best Western is a fantastic brand in terms of quality and customer care, I hope that in the future you will give the brand another chance.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    379
    140
    19
    18
See reviews for
217
310
74
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here in September before we cruised to Alaska and found the staff to be very friendly and efficient. The room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was plentiful. Lots of visitors at the hotel due to conferences but we always found a table.
Coffee facilities were in room and good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauline469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review on the hotel, we great appreciate the feedback and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here in Sept and arrived at 5.30.in the morning to be greeted by the manager
doing night shift. He was lovely and made us welcome by opening the breakfast room so we could make coffee. He also laid out danish pastries etc so we could help ourselves.The rooms werent ready as they were booked but he organized for 1 room to be ready asap
so we could drop our bags and go out.
The rooms were spotlessy clean and very comfortable and the beds were really good.
Overall we had a great stay and the bus service is really good just up the road.
Would stay here again and recomend to friends travelling to Canada.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deedeeWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickSair, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you for your kind words I am very glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and that Rick was able to make you as comfortable as possible on your early arrival. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September(should have been 3, but thanks to Aer Lingus spent 1 night at Heathrow). We were on the ground floor, the room had high ceilings and was quite old fashioned but clean. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful but a bit of a squeeze and as we were right next to the breakfast room, there was no chance of a lie in as the chair scraping started at 7am. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a supermarket right across the road. I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Vancouver on a budget, it is about a 30 min walk to Gastown, but just be careful as we met a lot of unsavoury characters just when you leave Chinatown and that was only about 9pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alih68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickSair, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am glad to hear you were able to make the best of your shortened stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascain, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

After having staid at the BW+ in Kelowna, we expected much more from this hotel and were extremely disappointed.
On the truly + side were the free parking and really speedy free wifi. Leave your car here and grab the number 8 or 19 at the nearby bus stop and you're quickly downtown.
Apart from this the hotel badly needs renovation and his rather gloomy. Everything looks old and sad in this place.
The lobby is small and unpractical.
The rooms are average size and beds are too short if you're over 6 ft (my case).
The breakfast room is small and noisy and the choice of food limited and very basic.
The elevator is slow and you have to wait for it ages.
Some of the staff are ok, some merely so-so.
I wonder why criteria are chosen by BW to grant the + label but this hotel certainly does not deserve it.
Business centre is a joke

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpchoisne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickSair, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
I regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel, while it is true that the new Best Western Plus in Kelowna is a remarkable property many of our guests still enjoy our property, however we feel that to be a successful hotel you need to constantly evolve and do what ever possible to create a great experience for every guest. With that in mind we have a lot planned for the Uptown Hotel over the next 2 years we will be taking great strides towards improving the property and the guest experience here at the Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel. I hope that in the future you can give us another chance to provide you with great accomodations here in Vancouver and thank you for choosing Best Western.

Sincerely,
Dave Stevens
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very good hotel in a great location. Offseason rates of $75 per night is a steal given the location. Hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants (Burgoos on Main is well worth the hike) and there is a mall across the street. Rooms are average sized and reasonably appointed. Above average selection of pastries at the included breakfast. Fitness area leave a bit to be desired and the hotel does not have a pool/hot tub area. All in all, this is a very solid choice for the area. I will stay here again especially in the offseason.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I have checked into best western hotels in man places in the world and have been nothing but pleased with the service. In Vancouver the break fast in this hotel was very tasty. Although sometimes the room was packed and we had to wait for a few minutes, but who cares about a few minutes on vacation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The drain was not ok in the first day and they fixed it as soon as we let them know. In general I totally recommend this hotel for people who are in Vancouver for sight seeing and are not extremely picky about the luxurious stuff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson on Broadway
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#48 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Address: 205 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3J5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Uptown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > South Main , Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#41 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***PLEASE BE ADVISED THE LOT TO THE IMMEDIATE SOUTH OF THE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION*** We expect disruptions during the day time through out the excavation period. Thank you, Dave Stevens Assistant General Manager Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing