We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granville Island Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$126
US$103
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Loden Hotel(Vancouver)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
US$169
Suttonplace.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$255
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Inn Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$172
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,333)
Filter reviews
2,333 results
Traveller rating
1,471
607
163
58
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,471
607
163
58
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdockside restaurantpublic marketgreat locationart gallerieswater viewthe penthouseboutique hotelfront desk staffeasy accessdowntown vancouversea wallwonderful hotelstanley parkcreekgiaquabuswedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,003 - 2,008 of 2,333 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Arrived to an over-heated tiny room that was dark. No place to put carry on luggage so left it on 2nd bed. View of a deck for ventilation shafts. Bathroom appeared clean, modern, renovated. But how much time could I spend in the loo? Breakfast was memorably disappointing. Couldn't find the shrimp in my omellette. Pieces smaller than ants were under the lettuce. None in the omellete. Had to pay 3$ on top of the 17$ for toast with the omellette. Lunch was quite good, with a friendly efficient waiter compared to the ornery one who "served" breakfast. No offer of extra coffee refill, water, etc. In brief, this "boutique" hotel makes rooms at a Holiday Inn Select or Delta look like a 5* palace. Avoid this place, especially if you want to appreciate this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on your hotel stay. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
As Vancouver has reached the very cold temperature of -5 this week, we did turn the heat up in the rooms as we were afraid guests would be cold upon arrival. Each room has its own heat control panel so guests can adjust the temperature to their own comfort level.

All of our rooms offer a selection of different views and each room varies in size. For guests looking for larger rooms with views, we offer Superior and Executive Suites. All rooms are also equipped with a luggage rack for guest’s convenience.

The omelet which the guest refers to is a Malay Shrimp Omelet - this omelet comes with winter green and a fried jasmine rice cake instead of toast. Guest may choose to substitute the rice cake for toast for no charge or a side order of toast can also be ordered.

We do appreciate guests taking the time to comment on their hotel experience as it gives us an opportunity to improve and learn. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

After a very long direct flight from NZ and collecting a rental car, it was a delight to be greeted at the hotel by delightful staff. It was new years eve and we enjoyed the "hotel offered" celebrations, albeit we were rather tired from traveling. We stayed 3 nights before heading off skiing, and made sure we booked in again for our final night before flying home to NZ, would definitely recommend and stay again, fantastic location and the harbor location outstanding.

Room Tip: Some rooms bigger than others, views vary, ask when checking in
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We spent two nights here and were not dissapointed. Friendly, clean, quiet...what more can you ask for? Right in the heart of Granville Island to make it really easy to explore. Great views of False Creek. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canukgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis for a number of years and continue to really enjoy the experience. The location, for me, is ideal, the reception very friendly and efficient and the rooms great value for the price. As I live in the UK I almost regard the hotel as my second home!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

A clean, comfortable, convenient and scenic place to stay for visitors to Vancouver. Hop on a nearby ferry to explore downtown, the West End, Yaletown or Chinatown. Visit all the amenities on Granville island and enjoy a meal at the hotel restaurant Dockside - especially on the waterside plaza in the summer! Even though we're local, we've stayed here a few times when we've turned our place over to out-of-town family.

Room Tip: Request a room on the north or east for the best views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews