We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Granville Island Hotel overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Sudden Valley, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Granville Island Hotel overnighter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

First, I need to mention how helpful the folks at the front desk were. They know their facility well and strive to make their guests comfortable. My feeling was that they would never make me feel as though any question I asked were silly. In addition, when my family and I arrived early, they gave us a parking pass well before check-in time. It's those kinds of perks which make people decide to return.

My room - 316. Oh, my gosh. That view is killer, and with two decks with which to view it! I wish that there were a way to turn off the outside lights, however, so that I could leave the curtains open at night to catch the lights from the buildings across False Creek. I will totally ask for that room again.

Go to the adjoining restaurant - Docksider - for at least one meal. Awesome food, service and view!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view! Balcony rooms, especially along False Creek, are well worth the additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    528
    137
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
808
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel was excellent - stayed in the penthouse room 401. Price was reasonable for the size of the rooms. Nice views and very quiet! Good service at front desk and hotel staff were courteous.
Celebrated our engagement and manager provided a bottle of wine and glasses...complementary

Only one suggestion - payed $12 for parking on the bill and was not able to find a place to park!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area of the island and is nice but "off the beaten track"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

One of the best places I have ever stayed. Sales Manager Christine was wonderful to deal with, and very accomodating in helping us put together a stay package with them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad021312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my boyfriends birthday and I purchase a coupon from WagJag. It was an absolutely fantastic experience! Upon check-in we received maps of Vancouver and Granville Island and the staff suggested where to go and spend the nice sunny day. All great places! We had lunch and breakfast the next day at the Dockside restaurant and it was delicious! Great service. Our room was spacious and very clean with a nice new tv and great view! After I informed the staff that it was for a birthday they brought a lovely bottle of red wine to our room with nice glasses. It was a wonderful time and I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We live in this city and enjoy Granville Island. When a fire forced us out of our home, I called the Granville Island Hotel and asked their rate for one night. It was evening and the fellow at the desk said he "could do $149". We took the room, and the next morning I called down to the desk and asked if we could stay in this room another night at the same rate. The answer was yes. When we checked out we signed the credit card bill and were off. However, when we got home,I looked at the bill and realized we were overcharged. $169 and $179. I called to straighten this out and spoke to Kim, the manager on duty. We went back and forth for a while, but I gave in when she told me "Impossible. We have no rate ever of $149". I swallowed the new rate and felt she thought I was trying to pull a fast one. I was so upset with the fire, maybe I had made the mistake.
We could still not return to our home and since the location was best for us, we called to book in for a few more nights. The woman at the desk easily offered a room for $149 the first night, and a bit higher subsequent nights. I took this but had her email the confirmation this time.
My mind was on dealing with the restoration of our home , not the rate of this hotel, so I let this go at the time. When I received an email asking me to write a review for Trip Advisor, I phoned the gal and told her why I was unhappy before i wrote this. Christine sympathized but did not adjust the rate. She said she would send us a free dinner coupon to make up for our troubles. I declined, saying that was not the reason I had phoned. She insisted she attempt to make it up to us. Never received the dinner coupon!
Had this not happened, my review would say nice hotel, but beware there are huge differences in the rooms here. There are some that look down on huge vats, which I gather produce beer, and the hum of these kept me up all one night. One night our room was spacious, another room was quite cramped. If you must book here, get your rate emailed to you to ensure you check out with the same rate. There are too many wonderful hotels in Vancouver to choose this one.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mamatross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
268 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Arrived to an over-heated tiny room that was dark. No place to put carry on luggage so left it on 2nd bed. View of a deck for ventilation shafts. Bathroom appeared clean, modern, renovated. But how much time could I spend in the loo? Breakfast was memorably disappointing. Couldn't find the shrimp in my omellette. Pieces smaller than ants were under the lettuce. None in the omellete. Had to pay 3$ on top of the 17$ for toast with the omellette. Lunch was quite good, with a friendly efficient waiter compared to the ornery one who "served" breakfast. No offer of extra coffee refill, water, etc. In brief, this "boutique" hotel makes rooms at a Holiday Inn Select or Delta look like a 5* palace. Avoid this place, especially if you want to appreciate this beautiful city.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to comment on your hotel stay. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay.
As Vancouver has reached the very cold temperature of -5 this week, we did turn the heat up in the rooms as we were afraid guests would be cold upon arrival. Each room has its own heat control panel so guests can adjust the temperature to their own comfort level.

All of our rooms offer a selection of different views and each room varies in size. For guests looking for larger rooms with views, we offer Superior and Executive Suites. All rooms are also equipped with a luggage rack for guest’s convenience.

The omelet which the guest refers to is a Malay Shrimp Omelet - this omelet comes with winter green and a fried jasmine rice cake instead of toast. Guest may choose to substitute the rice cake for toast for no charge or a side order of toast can also be ordered.

We do appreciate guests taking the time to comment on their hotel experience as it gives us an opportunity to improve and learn. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

After a very long direct flight from NZ and collecting a rental car, it was a delight to be greeted at the hotel by delightful staff. It was new years eve and we enjoyed the "hotel offered" celebrations, albeit we were rather tired from traveling. We stayed 3 nights before heading off skiing, and made sure we booked in again for our final night before flying home to NZ, would definitely recommend and stay again, fantastic location and the harbor location outstanding.

Room Tip: Some rooms bigger than others, views vary, ask when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,604 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing