We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a charming, quiet, conveniently (re centrally located) hotel in the heart of Vancouver. The staff were kind and responsive, the rooms clean, and the food, in general, excellent (with a few hiccups that we promptly resolved) - all a traveler would want in overnight lodging. The business centre is clean and up-to-date, and the printing free. No charges for internet, no hidden irritating extras expenses - what you see is what you get and that is much appreciated.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors and facing the water are quieter and have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    528
    137
    51
    30
See reviews for
478
807
118
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Granville Island is pretty happening during the day, but quiet at night. This property is very nicely kept, and staff are very good. Seemed reasonably priced for Vancouver. They do charge extra for parking but it seems reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taos_NMSundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel was recommended to me and I was very impressed. the rooms were well appointed and modern. The resuarant was excellent but lets face it, it's location, location, location. What a wonderful spot. I will be returning. The only change I would make is a better equiped fitness centre.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate it.

The hotel is currently drawing up new plans for the Fitness area! We will keep you posted as developments arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I don't usually stay in upscale hotels because cheaper hotels (if carefully chosen) offer far better value for money and because I don't care for the usual obsequious staff, dripping venom. Sensitive of me, but there you go.

This time was, however, a business trip and I had no choice. Happily, the Granville Island Hotel was different. The room was nice enough and everything was clean. The coffee pot didn't work but was exchanged promptly. The Docksider Restaurant was okay, too.

Surprisingly, the best thing was the hotel staff. Very pleasant, friendly and accommodating. Not a sign of venom. I liked them and they didn't seem to dislike me. Perfect.

I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Vancouver and elsewhere, both up and downscale, and this one was good. The location is wonderful and we loved the views of False Creek.

Room Tip: Views of the condo towers and marinas on False Creek would be spectacular but we enjoyed overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugogirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

In Vancouver for business, we wanted a boutique-type hotel, something with some personality. We loved the Granville Island Hotel. Clean and quiet, superb restaurant on the premises, great access to downtown and fabulous artsy island to explore. Staff were very friendly and genuinely interested in our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitpickerCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in March. We ususally stay on English Bay when we visit Vancouver, so this was very different for us. Loved being on Granville Island. There are lots of great pathways for running. Tons of restaurants and shopping very close by. The hotel itself was clean, staff friendly, great restaurant and lounge that we used several times. The view of false creek from the dining room/lounge was really lovely. Our room, although a king-sized bed, was directly over the front entry-way, so it was a bit noisey in the early morning when the local running group met at 7:30 for their Saturday run. That being said, the hotel gave us the corporate rate even though the course that I was registered for was cancelled, which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband had a seminar in Vancouver and my 3-year old and I came up to enjoy Vancouver. We stayed here about 10 years ago the first time and were very pleasantly surprised at how much better it was this time. The entire hotel has been extensively remodeled and is lovely. Everyone we talked to that worked there was friendly and helpful and seemed to enjoy working there, which always makes my day. The room was extremely quiet, couldn't even tell there were other people staying there, and the beds were perfect. If you've never been to Granville Island, it's a bit of everything right across a small waterway from downtown - a public market, art studios, woodworking studios, small stores and galleries, and even an operational concrete mix plant! Great place for families.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing