We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

For the vacation traveller this location hits the spot. Very central with markets, food stalls, shopping and galleries at your doorstep. Breakfast from the fresh food markets with real coffee from a real coffee machine. Yumm. Bus stop at the entrance to the island, the cute little ferries take you down town or a walk over Granville Bridge is not a huge impost. There are several pubs on the island to have a drink after a days sightseeing. Most offer good meals. We ate in the Granvile on two nights, once in the dining and once in the bar area. Both menus are the same and both times we had a good meal.

The room was modern and spacious. We liked that you could open the winow and let the fresh air roll in. Staff were helpful at every turn. The free high speed wifi was a bonus.

We loved this boutique style hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    546
    150
    53
    32
See reviews for
509
850
122
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a charming, quiet, conveniently (re centrally located) hotel in the heart of Vancouver. The staff were kind and responsive, the rooms clean, and the food, in general, excellent (with a few hiccups that we promptly resolved) - all a traveler would want in overnight lodging. The business centre is clean and up-to-date, and the printing free. No charges for internet, no hidden irritating extras expenses - what you see is what you get and that is much appreciated.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors and facing the water are quieter and have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, NM
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Granville Island is pretty happening during the day, but quiet at night. This property is very nicely kept, and staff are very good. Seemed reasonably priced for Vancouver. They do charge extra for parking but it seems reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taos_NMSundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel was recommended to me and I was very impressed. the rooms were well appointed and modern. The resuarant was excellent but lets face it, it's location, location, location. What a wonderful spot. I will be returning. The only change I would make is a better equiped fitness centre.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate it.

The hotel is currently drawing up new plans for the Fitness area! We will keep you posted as developments arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I don't usually stay in upscale hotels because cheaper hotels (if carefully chosen) offer far better value for money and because I don't care for the usual obsequious staff, dripping venom. Sensitive of me, but there you go.

This time was, however, a business trip and I had no choice. Happily, the Granville Island Hotel was different. The room was nice enough and everything was clean. The coffee pot didn't work but was exchanged promptly. The Docksider Restaurant was okay, too.

Surprisingly, the best thing was the hotel staff. Very pleasant, friendly and accommodating. Not a sign of venom. I liked them and they didn't seem to dislike me. Perfect.

I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Vancouver and elsewhere, both up and downscale, and this one was good. The location is wonderful and we loved the views of False Creek.

Room Tip: Views of the condo towers and marinas on False Creek would be spectacular but we enjoyed overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugogirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

In Vancouver for business, we wanted a boutique-type hotel, something with some personality. We loved the Granville Island Hotel. Clean and quiet, superb restaurant on the premises, great access to downtown and fabulous artsy island to explore. Staff were very friendly and genuinely interested in our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitpickerCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in March. We ususally stay on English Bay when we visit Vancouver, so this was very different for us. Loved being on Granville Island. There are lots of great pathways for running. Tons of restaurants and shopping very close by. The hotel itself was clean, staff friendly, great restaurant and lounge that we used several times. The view of false creek from the dining room/lounge was really lovely. Our room, although a king-sized bed, was directly over the front entry-way, so it was a bit noisey in the early morning when the local running group met at 7:30 for their Saturday run. That being said, the hotel gave us the corporate rate even though the course that I was registered for was cancelled, which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,168 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,013 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Property: Granville Island Hotel
Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing