We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
356
198
41
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
198
41
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen denman street stanley park lost lagoon katherine hepburn classic suite apartment building west end living room a quiet residential area home away from home second bedroom tree lined street penthouse suite few blocks well equipped kitchen free upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 636 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2018

2 couples stayed at the Rosellen Suites recently. The building is old and full of character, clean, and comfortable, in the quiet west end area of Vancouver. Very close to Stanley park, pickup locations for hop on hop off buses and many restaurants on Denman. The location is ideal as everything is in walking distance. We were greeted and cared for by extremely friendly and helpful hosts. Amy & Heidi kept our suite in perfect order. WiFi good. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank geonbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourRosellenFamily, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Glad to learn that you enjoyed your suite, the location and all the amenities in the neighborhood and the staff. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Apartment building turned into hotel. All the basics are in place. Apartments have kitchens larger open areas. Beds were good, bathrooms clean. No air con, so you have to sleep with open windows in summer. They do have fans though.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ksksksksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourRosellenFamily, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Glad you enjoyed your spacious suite and the local neighborhood. Thanks for sharing your experience and for making Rosellen your temporary Vancouver home. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

I made an online reservation and when I arrived to the location surprise!!! This is a knock-Off. Everything was different and I mean OLD. (See elevator photos). The worst thing that you should consider: A very bad Wi-Fi connection, No Air Con (We were at 30C outside and I can tell that inside was warmer), the smell of the building OLD... and last but not least they charged me like if I was staying at a Four Seasons hotel with my family.

Theyadvertise that are the closest building to the Stanley park but they forgot to mention the oldest one too.

I decided to upgrade the room that I reserved because there was no way I’ll sleep there with my family and guess what? they charged me and additional $90 per night.

Really be careful before reserving in this temporary "MOTEL". I tried to canceled as soon as I arrived and saw the room but guess what THATS NOT POSSIBLE according hotel policy.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rrmingramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourRosellenFamily, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Wow! It is always such a disappointment when we have not met or, preferable, exceeded the expectations of our guests. And, though it is perfectly understandable that your experience was not as you would have preferred, please allow us to share some details.

In regards to expectations, the website for Rosellen Suites at Stanley Park very clearly represents itself as a 1959 boutique hotel nested in a quiet residential neighborhood steps from Stanley Park. There is a photograph of the building which should help set realistic expectations. There are photographs of each suite type that convey, realistically, the differences between the Classic Suites and the Personal-ity Suites. These photos are not professional touched up in any way and are taken with a smartphone. Photos of the specific suite that you upgraded to have been added to the TripAdvisor listing.

The art deco elevator is one of the features that most guests truly enjoy. We personally live in a brand new modern condo building with 4 new elevators. Three of those four elevators are constantly under repair. Rosellen's original elevator, that is extremely well maintained, is a work horse that is far superior to the modern technologies of elevators today. In short, they just don't make them like the used to. On the date of your stay, there was a panel of glass that came unglued on the exterior of the 4th floor elevator door as depicted in your photograph. However, this repair was completed and the cosmetic flaw shown in the photo was gone and completely repaired by the end of the day.

You indicated that the rate was similar to the Four Seasons. Yet, on the night of your stay, the Four Seasons Hotel was charging $1,100 per night for a standard hotel room. While, for significantly less money, Rosellen offers full suites with living area, dining area, fully equipped kitchen (not mini-kitchen), 2 separate bedrooms and bathroom at a cost typically 25-50% lower than the average standard hotel room in the city. In this specific case the savings were substantially higher than that.

In making this reservation, the rate selected was for a no refund, no cancel, no changes, no exceptions rate. In exchange for the ability to cancel guests receive a substantial discount. Though we would have loved to have been able to provide a refund, it would not be fair to other guests who chose to pay a higher rate so that they would have the ability to cancel if desired.

The wifi connection provided is guaranteed to be the very best offered in the city. In fact, while most hotels use a central system, Rosellen has individual service in every suite with both wireless and hard wire options.

Our sincere apologies that Vancouver has been experiencing a record breaking heat wave. Typically air conditioning is not needed in the city. The hotel does, however, offer portable air conditioners on a request basis. This information is provided in the welcome letter next to the phone as guests enter their hotel suite. So sorry to learn that you did not see this nor request an air conditioner as it would have been a pleasure to provide one for you.

It is totally recognized that Rosellen is a unique boutique all suite hotel and that it is not the best choice for all guests. We attempt to accurately represent the experience offered and it does sometimes end up that it is not the best fit for a guest. Again, our sincere apologies that this was the case for you. It is so appreciated that you tried Rosellen as your temporary Vancouver home and should you choose to return, you are invited to contact us directly and we will do everything possible to make it a better experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Rosellen Suites recently. The building is old and full of character. Very close to Stanley park and many restaurants on Denman.
The location is ideal as everything is in walking distance.
We were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful host.
We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonthompson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourRosellenFamily, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay, the neighborhood, location and the staff. So looking forward to serving you on your next visit! Most appreciate that you chose to make Rosellen your temporary Vancouver home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

This place is in a great location in Vancouver’s West End. It is only 1 block east of the Stanley Park lagoon and about 5 blocks north of English Bay. Nearby Denman & Robson Streets have TONS of restaurants and coffee shops.

Included underground secured parking is a great bonus.

Our 2-bedroom suite was pretty nice. Furniture could use updating, as could the one bathroom.

Our only complaint was that there was no air conditioning in our second-floor room. It was a very warm weekend and our room was very hot and unpleasant mid-day through the early evening. Our traveling companions, who were on the third floor, had a portable floor unit air conditioner. For the price we paid for our room we should’ve had one, too.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank kfd819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourRosellenFamily, Manager at Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. So glad to learn that you enjoyed your visit, the West End, and your suite. It is very true that Vancouver has been experiencing an unusual heat wave. All suites have multiple fans that typically provide enough cool air for comfort. But, as we realize each guest prefers a different level of warmth or coolness, there are a limited number of portable air conditioners available simply by asking Guest Services.

There is a welcome letter in each suite with details on all the important issues such as how make calls, request any services needed, and a note that portable a/c is available for the asking. Our sincere apologies if you missed this information as it would have been a pleasure to try to resolve your needs while you were on property vs. after the fact.

On your next visit to Vancouver, please contact the hotel directly and we will ensure that you have a portable a/c in your suite on arrival.

Thanks so much for making Rosellen your Vancouver home. We look forward to serving you, again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews