We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marjanospam

Welcoming, quiet and beautiful place to stay in Vancouver.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 27, 2019via mobile
It’s a great place to stay when you’re in Vancouver. Welcoming host Dennis is a friendly man and a great cook who serves the best fresh breakfast in town. Every day something different and made with love. A Victorian style home on a quiet spot in West End, Down Town Vancouver with everything within walking distance (for example Stanley Park, Waterfront, Robson street). We had a good bed in a clean and big room which felt like home. Would definitely go there again when staying in Vancouver!
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$549
C$459
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$549
  • Priceline
    C$459
  • Expedia.com
    C$549
1.2 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$525
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$525
  • Agoda.com
    C$482
  • Priceline
    C$525
1.2 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
C$458
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$458
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$400
  • Hotels.com
    C$458
1.1 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$401
  • Hotels.com
    C$381
  • Vio.com
    C$371
  • Expedia.com
    C$381
0.7 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Pool
Restaurant
C$302
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$302
  • Vio.com
    C$260
  • Expedia.com
    C$302
1.6 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
C$409
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$409
  • Agoda.com
    C$409
  • Vio.com
    C$409
0.3 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
C$506
  • Expedia.com
    C$459
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$405
  • Hotels.com
    C$459
0.8 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
C$1,242
C$476
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    C$542
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$303
  • Agoda.com
    C$282
  • Hotels.com
    C$379
0.8 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$351
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$315
  • Hotels.com
    C$351
1.4 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Vancouver
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
810
97
35
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
810
97
35
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak room beach room garden suite mountain room front porch west end stanley park b and b robson street tree lined street within walking distance every morning home away from home downtown vancouver few blocks granville island the location is perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 962 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Vancouver starting with Barclay House. Dennis was extremely charming and helpful. The house is beautiful and Dennis has thought of everything. We were greeted with a tour of our very comfortable room and chocolate chip cookies. The bed was ultra comfortable and we were in the best part of town. The house is on a tree lined street close to shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. We were served a delicious breakfast each morning and more cookies each day. When we needed suggestions on where to go or how to get around Dennis was ready with suggestions. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rmg991
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

The Barclay House is such a gem. We had such a fantastic stay in the Haidaway room. The room was cozy, quiet and private with a lovely shower and jacuzzi tub which was a real treat! There were freshly baked cookies to greet us upon arrival and the bed was super comfortable. Had a very peaceful night's sleep! Denis is an amazing and attentive host, paying attention to every small detail to ensure that guests are happy throughout their stay. The breakfast items were delicious and filling. Would definitely stay here again!!

Room tip: The Haidaway room is so tastefully appointed and has an amazing jacuzzi tub!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Saara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

The location can't be beat. They're in a pretty tree-lined residential area, but only two blocks from Robson Street and dozens of restaurants.

The inn is elegant but not in a stuffy "you can't touch that" kind of way. Very comfortable and welcoming!

The proprietor Dennis took good care of us. The breakfasts were especially good, and I've been to many B&Bs.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

When we arrived Dennis greeted us and gave us a tour of the room and information on the area. Breakfast was amazing every morning! We stayed in the garden suite which had its own entrance which was very nice! Then to top off a great trip, he provided a continental breakfast for us the morning we left since our train was leaving early. We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Katwatts0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

We stayed at Barclay House during the Christmas holidays, one week before Christmas and returned to stay again on Christmas Eve. This Victorian B&B was decorated so beautifully for Christmas, including a tree on the porch to greet you as you arrive. The outside, the living room and dining room, everything was SO BEAUTIFUL!! The host is so friendly and personable. The breakfast was delicious. We loved the rooms. We will definitely return!!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews