We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
shell90857
100 Mile House, Canada

Awesome and Friendly

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Love this place, beautiful house, excellent staff, comfortable bed .. we will be back . Great Breakfast in this downtown B&B, close to everything, taxi cabs arrive within two or three minutes of a call. Thank You so very much Dennis and staff
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip:  A lovely place to stay, friendly staff and comfortable beds in old world charm.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$392
  • Expedia.com
    C$419
  • Agoda.com
    C$359
  • Hotels.com
    C$419
1.2 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$403
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$419
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$369
  • Hotels.com
    C$418
1.1 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$279
  • Expedia.com
    C$331
  • Agoda.com
    C$253
  • Hotels.com
    C$331
0.8 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
C$325
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$325
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$312
  • Expedia.com
    C$325
0.7 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Pool
Restaurant
C$259
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$279
  • Vio.com
    C$236
  • Expedia.com
    C$279
1.6 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
C$414
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$414
  • Vio.com
    C$414
  • Agoda.com
    C$414
0.3 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
C$307
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$276
  • Hotels.com
    C$276
  • Priceline
    C$307
1.4 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Exterior
C$360
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$360
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$335
  • Vio.com
    C$360
0.8 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
C$488
  • Priceline
    C$557
  • Algotels
    C$464
  • Expedia.com
    C$557
1.3 km from Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Vancouver
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
810
97
36
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
810
97
36
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peak room beach room garden suite mountain room front porch west end stanley park b and b robson street tree lined street within walking distance every morning home away from home downtown vancouver few blocks granville island the location is perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 963 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2024

Great place to stay in Vancouver. Very welcoming environment, a great location, and the breakfast is perfect. The host was amazing and it made our trip very enjoyable. Will be back the next time I am in the city! Very easy to book online, loved the stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 23, 2024

Such a beautiful place to stay. My fourth time here and it never disappoints. Dennis is a wonderful and friendly host. Great rooms and close to downtown but still nestled in a beautiful neighbourhood. Great breakfasts and wonderful coffee.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbelly1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 15, 2024 via mobile

We have stayed in dozens of accommodations in Vancouver over the decades and Barclay House B & B has been the best overall for our needs. What have we appreciated?
1. Location - central yet quiet
2. Affordability - great value in the shoulder season
3. Lovely Breakfast - a fantastic bonus!
4. Comfortable bed
5. Conscientious host
If you are looking to experience a taste of Vancouver life, Barclay House is perfect. Walk or jog the enchanting streets of the west end under the beautiful tree canopy. Visit Stanley Park by bike or on foot. Explore the robust international food scene of Robson, Denman, and Davie Streets. Access SkyTrain or other public transit to explore further afield.

Room tip: Parking available by arrangement with operator, though you won't need to drive once here
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank deboraha209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 9, 2024 via mobile

We stayed in Barclayhouse B&B for four nights and it was awesome.
The room was clean and spacious, the breakfast delicious and Dennis and his staff super nice. Also it’s really close to the city center. 10/10 we will definitely come back!!!!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sunshine35712471266
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 13, 2024

This is a nice old vintage house (1904). Unfortunately the exterior of the building, the front and back yard are neglected and deteriorating. The house next door is identical, but it has been updated and renovated. If this were done with the Barklay House it would extend its lifespan and provide quiet, tasteful accommodation for guests, only a couple of blocks from shopping and entertainment on Robson Street. It is not hard to imagine what would happen to the house if nothing were done to improve and update it.
Our room consisted of two rooms and a bathroom. One room with a bed and one room with a day bed, a chair and a TV. Watching TV with two people was awkward.
There was a coffee maker in that same room. Nice to have stemmed glasses for our wine. Something we rarely encounter in other places of accommodation. Our room was too hot even with the windows opened a crack. There was no way to control the flow of hot air coming out of the register.
The dining/living area is cozy. It is filled with an eclectic assortment of furniture, both contemporary and traditional. A computer and printer are located on one side, below an attractive stained glass window. The carpet in the room is due for a replacement.
Our breakfast was OK. My wife got the gluten free toast she requested. I was served a 'bagel sandwich' filled with tomato, boiled ham, fried egg and processed orange cheese. Not the greatest. The diced melon served in an oversized martini glass was refreshing. The coffee in a thermos type pitcher was good. No juice, milk, tea or water were offered.
The woman meeting us, showing us to our room and serving us, was pleasant in a polite and quiet way.
In all, the place has elegance and a mix of quaint and funky.
Would we stay here again? Maybe. Especially since it is in a quiet neighbourhood close to commercial streets. Also, judging from two solo women guests, it is probably a safe location for single females to stay at. A real plus in a large city.
We did wonder if the Barklay House is designated as a heritage building. If it is, there might be some city funding for some of the required upgrades.
For what it is worth.

Room tip: It was hard to give the Barklay House a higher rating than 3/5 because of its condition The place has great potential.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jurrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews