We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insightful visit...”
Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Ranked #10 of 53 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Nelson House Vancouver BC!! We really loves staying in the "Shangri-La" suite with its warm ambiance, jacuzzi tub and great privacy!! Kait was very helpful with reservations on the phone and David was so insightful with a plethora of info on Vancouver sights, history, economy and cooking a beautiful breakfast!! We WILL be back very soon, although the room rates go up with the seasons, that's not an issue when the hospitality is superb!!!! Thanks Nelson House!!!

Room Tip: Shangri-La suite is like a little apartment with privacy! 2 person jacuzzi with skylight and mini k...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinFood a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Nelson House B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Really friendly, clean, quiet, quaint atmosphere. Great hot and cold breakfasts, and they made breakfast based around my dietary allergies. Kait and Ingrid are fabulous employees and Ingrid was extremely helpful for guests who were new to Vancouver. Also a great location for a great rate. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Mattress in Bombay suite was firm and so were pillows, so know your preference and ask what they can...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

What a great option to have in Vancouver! The location couldn't be any better... it's easy walking distance to pretty much all of downtown. The old house is cozy and is set in a quiet, comfortable neighborhood only a few blocks off the bustle and amenities of Davie, Robson, and Denman Streets. Stanley Park and the ferry to Granville Island are just a little further. The room (we had the top-floor suite) was simply appointed and comfortable with natural light from all four sides. Guests taller than 6 feet will have a tough time in the suite as the ceiling is low in all the wings (kitchen, bed area, part of the bathroom). There is no shower, but after one use of the single-person jacuzzi tub and tin of epsom salts we decided that this was a good thing. Besides, you could always use the common shower shared by two of the other rooms if you really wanted. We never even noticed the other guests or anyone on the street during our stay except the muffled sound of garbage trucks one morning... hey, it's the city. The TV is tiny, but you're not coming to Vancouver to watch TV, right? We slept very well, usually roused late by the smell of breakfast. The breakfast was perfectly simple: some fresh fruit, juices, coffee/tea, yogurt, granola, little pastries, and a well-prepared hot item. Oh, and conversation good enough to make you get a later start than you thought you would.

The staff and proprietors weren't around much, so don't put off asking them for anything you need because you may not get another chance. Their advice is good, too... we spent an entire day doing mostly what one of them told us and had a fantastic time. Overall, it's a simple, welcoming place that gives the impression of staying at a friend's house. Just right.

Room Tip: Tall folks (>6 foot) may want to avoid the "Shangri La" suite due to low ceilings, but...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoldenYam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We would wholeheartedly recommend Nelson House B&B. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, Kait and Ingrid, helped us get our bearings for a very enjoyable visit to Vancouver. Owner David is a most gracious host and, again, very welcoming and helpful to the itinerant guest.
Other reviews say it all – a memorable place to stay. We were in the Shangri-La suite and enjoyed the comfort, space, everything about the place really.
The varied breakfasts, both in menus and guests, were eclectic and always an inspiring start to the day. We would love to come back to Nelson House if chance allows. Barnaby and Karen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aotearoa155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just spent a week in Vancouver staying at Nelson House B & B and honestly cannot fault this place. I stayed in the Sailors Room which was super comfortable. Ingrid, Kait and David went out of their way to make me feel welcomed and their knowledge of Vancouver helped me plan out my days. Each morning you are served an amazing breakfast with the menu changing each day. The B & B itself sits in a beautiful, quiet, tree lined street with the shops of Robson Street a 5min walk one way and the restaurants, bars and nightlife of Davie street a 5min walk in the other direction....you could not get a better location!! I HIGHLY recomend Nelson House B & B to any travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The location is perfect: a safe, quiet, residential street, a couple of blocks from all the West End restaurants and activity and sunsets at English Bay. Public transportation is close by and taxi service, when needed, was less than 5 minutes away. Breakfast with guests from all over the world were yummy and great fun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband, teenage son, and I spent Easter weekend this year at the Nelson House B&B and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Shangri-La Suite suited us perfectly, and I was completely delighted with the decor, particularly the light-up palm trees in the mirror in the beautiful bathroom!

One of the most memorable aspects of our stay were the delicious breakfasts that were provided every morning, made to everyone's specifications. Even the celiac in our party was happy with the gluten-free offerings the hosts were happy to provide. Also of note was the willingness of the staff to accommodate people who suffer from chemical sensitivities (MCS) by reducing or eliminating cleaning products which might be problematic, as well as providing an excellent air purifier. The opening windows overlook beautiful gardens and let in the fresh sea breezes. You'd never know that you were in the middle of the heart of Vancouver, yet there you are, just a few blocks from everything.

We're looking forward to finding a reason to visit Vancouver again, now that we know that our health and dietary needs can be accommodated in such a beautiful, relaxing location. The Nelson House was, for us, truly a home away from home! Next time we need a place to stay in Vancouver, we will look no farther than the Nelson House Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tunetigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#22 of 92 in Vancouver
2,604 reviews
West End
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#1 of 53 in Vancouver
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: $78 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing