We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,287)
Filter reviews
1,287 results
Traveller rating
212
472
370
154
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
472
370
154
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canada place great location cruise terminal hardwood floors vancouver downtown waterfront station convention center an older hotel budget hotel walking distance mini fridge short stay few blocks one night stay canada line water front would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
1,100 - 1,105 of 1,287 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in early Sept. The hotel is central, clean and has decent sized rooms and reasonably priced... indeed they upgraded us to a very large room on top (8th floor) - no view but that was ok. The room was spotless , beds comfy, came with fridge and coffee maker.
Bathroom was well appointed. Being on top floor the water pressure/temp was not the best.
Oh, our air-conditioner didn't work but as you could open windows and get fresh air ( lovely) we didn't bother to even mention it to hotel. The location was great for touring Stanley Park, Canada Place, Gastown and we could easily find within short walk some great restaurants .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you, very much for your recent stay with us, and we are very pleased that you found our accommodation very clean and spotless, and comfortable.

We wish you had called the front desk, regarding your air-condition, and we would have advised you that the a/c will only work if the windows are closed the reason being to save the energy, and that is why it did not work.

Our asset is our location, being close to Canada Place, Gastown, and the Stanley Park.

Thank you, again for your review about our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We picked this hotel pre-cruise for its proximity to Canada Place,Gastown and downtown shuttle.It was comfortable,clean.But let me warn you,the Bathrooms are more roomy than the rooms:))The Breakfast was included and what a breakfast!!!The elevator was tiny and always busy.
overall a good value for money....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crazyforbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we very pleased that you found our hotel to be quite pleasant, and you had a good stay with us.

Our hotel's best asset is its location, and we are convenient for so many activities from Canada Place to sighting seeing to Gastown.

Yes I do agree with you that our elevator is small as the hotel was built in 1918, and only 1 elevator was installed, and that is why it is always busy, and I wish we could install 1 more elevator but unfortunately, we do not have the space to do so.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This Days Inn is located in the busy part of Downtown Vancouver. You may not realize where it is on W. Pender Street as it just looks like a normal business building amongst other business buildings. As someone from the States, it was a little confusing on how to actually stop and check-in. Turns out the designated curb area in front of the property is a passenger loading zone so you can stop there and check-in (even with busy traffic). Parking for the property is certainly not convenient as the lot is a few blocks away so make sure that you've cleared out any baggage while you are at the loading zone first otherwise you'll have to wheel it with you back from the parking lot.

The Days Inn itself is definitely outdated and there is only one elevator so it can be very busy in the mornings during checkout time. The rooms could stand to use some updating but overall it is in okay condition. The bathrooms are fairly clean as well. We had a queen sized bed and a sleeper sofa which accomodated our family of 3 adults and 2 smaller children (8 and 5 years old). The two rooms were nice to have as there were two televisions in each room so we could each watch different programming while we were winding down our days. There is a lot of noises from loud birds in the mornings.

There is a restaurant in the basement of the Days Inn which serves breakfast and lunch. Some packages from the hotel may include breakfast coverage so check to see if your reservations do include that.

The hotel is convenient to places within the Downtown area such as the Canada Place waterfront area, Gastown, and the main Downtown area. You can certainly walk around there. If you are looking at visiting things such as the Capilano suspension bridge or Grouse Mountain, consider walking the two blocks to Canada Place and taking advantage of the free shuttles to those areas by buying your tickets from one of the vendors. It will save you the hassle of having to drive through Vancouver.

Overall, it's a basic place to stay with some inconvenient off-property parking but convenient to walking to things that could get you around town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you, for your recent stay, and taking the time of your busy schedule to write a review about our hotel, and we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We appreciate your concern about the parking lot being away few blocks away from the hotel, as all our guest do not know this that the hotel was built in 1918 and in those day there was no need for underground parking. and that is the reason we donot have onsite parking, or the space to build a parking lot.

The same goes for the elevator, the owners in 1918 had installed 1 elevator, and we wish they installed 2 or more elevators, who would have known that this hotel would be a busy place next to the cruise ship terminal, and in the heart of the financial district.

As we are located in downtown, we are sorry that we cannot control the Vancouver's Sea Gulls.

Thank you, for sharing your recent experience with us, and hotel's best assets is its location, and convenient for so many activites from conferences to cruises to sightseeing.

I am glad your family, and you enjoyed our hotel, and our guest rooms.
Thanks again for writing a review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location was perfect, as I was arriving from a cruise and wanting to see as much of the city as possible in two days. The manager (Ish), Shuttle driver (Bill) and front desk staff (especially Violet) were incredibly helpful, friendly and kind (which was greatly appreciated since I was traveling alone). I enjoyed the historic, quaint property and respect how they have done the absolute best they can with the space. The cold, filtered water on floors 4 and 6 was delicious and there are bottles of water in the frig when you arrive. The TV screen with an updated status of all of the airport departures. I didn't feel the room was too small and I loved the ventilation, bedding and bed...so comfortable. They called a cab for me and it arrived shortly after 4 am! I received two wake-up calls to help me and shuttle driver, Bill, was kind enough to take me back to the port so I could pick up my last suitcase. Ish went above and beyond to help me enjoy the city in only two days; he was professional, yet funny and charming. I loved my time there and would definitely stay there again due to the value, outstanding service and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from ice or elevator; it worked for me.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bradylizann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review that you wrote of our hotel! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had pleasant encounters with all of our staff. We could not have described a perfect stay at our hotel better than you have - that is indeed our intent for all of our guests and I am so pleased that we met your expectations. Although we do have limitations being a historic property, we have done the best that we can to create an environment for our guests that is clean, comfortable and offers tremendous value. Our simple but appreciated gestures like free downtown shuttle and free bottled and filtered water are just some of the ways that we try to bring enhanced value to all of our guests. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and our charming staff look forward to welcoming you back to our charming property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2012

never again will I stay in a days inn! so ok the location was great and the price for reasonable.
However, the size of the room was tiny and very outdated. Coupled with the noise of the ice machine and some nesting birds on the window sill outside, it was dreadful nights sleep!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gill851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is a European style boutique hotel located within one of Vancouver's historic heritage buildings. The size of our guest rooms reflect this. While our hotel will not appeal to all travellers, we do our best to ensure that each and every guest stay is satisfying by offering additional value added touches like complimentary bottled water, complimentary wireless internet, and a free downtown shuttle combined with our unbeatable location. It is our hope that our location, great service and other amenities will compensate for the size of our rooms. It is important to note that not all of our guest rooms are small and if you bring this issue to the attention of the front desk, we will always do our best to block you into a room that suits your needs whether that means finding a larger room or a room away from the ice machine. Unfortunately, however, we are located downtown and we cannot control Vancouver's sea gulls. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews