We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, very smelly, Loud bass from clubs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dated, very smelly, Loud bass from clubs”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Old hotel, very dated interiors, bad lighting in rooms, view from the windows...you are looking at the fire wells, worst part is that it is currently 0150 in the morning and the bass from the clubs has kept me up the past two hours. Front desk can do nothing about it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yyzbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    447
    474
    253
    223
See reviews for
356
513
245
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Well i had a pre paid visa and for some reason it did'nt want to work when i needed to pay the bill so we could get our room my girl friend and i, so i tryed and tryed with the visa a few times still did'nt work, kinda pissed me off and i felt like an idiot, but this wonderful woman named mihaela did'nt lose her cool at all and gave us an option that worked for everyone and made me smile and happy, she does great at her job and is full of smiles and has a wonderful attitude and great work ethics from what i seen, my girl and i want to thank you for helping us and making our stay every thing that we hoped it would be, hope to return again, thank you mihaela, room 209 march 24 2012.

Room Tip: Just let them do there job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just stayed at this hotel for a quick business trip, its in a great location and close to everything that I needed. All in all it was great value for money and the staff were very helpful and professional. Well recommended! I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at this property Feb29-March 4th, 2012. The room was clean but very small with two double beds. For someone who is not expecting luxury, but just a place to sleep, this hotel fits the bill. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we had no problem with noise except for Saturday night when there was a group conversing in the hallway, but that could happen anywhere. You require a room key to enter the elevator and I felt very safe in spite of the fact that the hotel is on a major road. The bus stops right outside the door of the hotel and it is just a 5 minute walk to the skytrain station that takes you to the airport. We booked on Hotwire and the hotel would not allow us the complimentary breakfast as a result. We were allowed a bigger room, at our insistence. My husband was able to use the complimentary gym facilities at the gym around the corner. We paid $70/night with Hotwire, but could have booked for $84 directly with the hotel and received the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here twice now. The first time, my son found a bed bug and we were not charged for the stay. The manager apologized profusely and assured us they would get it dealt with and I am sure they did. Wanting to give it a second shot, we made the mistake of staying here again and bringing a car. My son found a used condom under the bed and had to be moved from his room, which was decent enough of the hotel. Beds were OK, rooms OK, TV didn't work in my room and the creamer was actually hard.I have never seen creamer so old that it is hard. The internal fire doors all seemed to be 'sticky'. We stayed on a Friday night and the music noise from the downstairs was really quite bad until very late ( I went to bed at 1.30pm and it was going then ). I am used to loud music and was on the 5th floor , but even I couldn't sleep. The thing that made me most upset though was the following. When we booked in we had to hand the keys to our vehicle over to the desk (they had moved the car 'to make way for other vehicles' in the short space of time it was parked there)Despite the cameras all round the car park and the surveillance screens on the front desk, no one saw a thief breaking into the vehicle and the cameras were not hooked up to video! Not very useful.The cameras gave us a false sense of security, as they turned out to be completely pointless. This all happened in the space of less than 2 hours of being parked there in broad daylight. So my advice is, if you have to stay in downtown Vancouver stay somewhere else.If you have to stay here, do not expect any sort of protection for your vehicle. In fact, if you ask the hotel staff, after the event, they will show you in writing that the vehicles in the car park are not protected by them, even though they have hold of your keys. Yes it is near to everything, yes its reasonably priced, yes the rooms are cleanish and hopefully they dealt with the bug problem. Yes the staff are pleasant enough. BUT beware the drug users scouting out the cars in their car park.They are very swift about their business and the hotel staff did not seem unduly perturbed for us, leaving me to assume they have seen this scenario many times before!
**Ramada, pay someone to either actually watch your cameras, video tape it, or employ a guard in the car park. The thieves obviously know you don't, or they would not have tampered with our car in the daytime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here in the beginning of February and was pleasantly surprised on how good the service was. We had a small problem and accidentally got overcharged but the staff fixed the problem very quickly and really went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay there. Mihaela was extremely helpfuI and wouldn't stop until we were more than satisfied. I defiantly recommend staying there. The location is amazing. It sits between a fun bar and a nightclub. The rooms were nice and clean and our overall stay was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

every time we visit vancouver, we stay at the Ramada Inn & Suites on Granville street. We love the location as it's very convenient to walk pretty much everywhere we want to visit or shop. Also, the bus is easy to catch and the train in only a few quick blocks away.
The staff have always been very friendly and accomodating, the rooms are spotless, and the beds are out of this world comfortable. Well done Ramada, keep up the good work :)

Room Tip: the rooms on the south side have a better view, and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Howard Johnson Hotel Vancouver Downtown
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
695 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Property: Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Address: 1221 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. The Ramada Vancouver Downtown, formally the Ramada Inn & Suites, is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new WiFi network has been greatly expand for more coverage and higher speeds. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Located in the heart of Vancouver's famous Granville Entertainment District and close to city transportation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing