We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little expensive, but satisfying”
Review of Las Tortas

Las Tortas
Get food delivered
Ranked #630 of 3,592 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: South Cambie
Description: Life is simple- Eat, Smile, Repeat! Chef Moises Toyber has been serving fresh and healthy Mexican dishes "always imitated, never duplicated" We believe that the quality of the food we eat is paramount so all of our ingredients are of the highest quality and sourced from local producers and suppliers. What is our wish? For you to experience the flavours of our childhood in Mexico right here in Vancouver, and be amazed at the flavours and quality of this amazing sandwich.
Reviewed June 19, 2017

Stopped here for lunch with the kids as we were the in area.

We had:
- the Mexican Club Torta - very good - lots of flavor, well cooked, and quite filling.
- Chips and Salsa - nicely warmed, and kids were happy
- Churro - again, very good
- Hochata - also very good and refreshing

You order at the counter, and the food is served at the table. It's a small space with limited seating, so I would guess most of their business is takeout. Since it was quiet, the staff were good enough to hold off on preparing the churro until we finished the main part of the meal. That was thoughful.

Pay street parking out front, and residential street parking around if you're willing to walk a few blocks.

Overall, a good satsifying meal. Might be a little on the expensive side, but was happy with the taste and quality.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roary_and_Friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2017

Excellent Tortas! the owner is a very friendly host, excellent cook and accommodating. We got a free slice of an amazing cake for my friend's birthday, will definitely come back

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Oz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 24, 2017

Incredible Mexican food would challenge or beat that served in the home country. Fantástico!

We have seen this place for awhile and made a point of going. Especially after walking past the other day and staring at the person’s meal of one fantastic looking burrito.

Let me tell you that was exactly what it turned out to be when we had it. Scrumptious

And extensive menu of authentic Mexican items from the lovely and simple Tamale to many more complex preparations.

Lovely Mexican sodas and if you wish a beer.

Focusing on the simple act of your taste bud’s joy in surroundings warm, cozy, basic and feels like home.

Great for take out. Eat in hours between 11am and 8pm.

You “will not” be disappointed.

Loved it. On the list of regulars. And as a couple who has had Mexico as their main destination almost annually since 1993 we know something about what we like of Mexican food.

Now we don’t have to wait so long for that taste zing.

Muy Deliciosa.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CityMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile

I can't attest for their whole menu and to be honest wasn't too keen on Mexican sandwiches but the fish burrito is delicious! The place is cute and authentic feeling. I went back for a second one this week it was so good. The only thing extra I wish they had were a few different housemade hot sauces or sauces that you could add.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank SquamishLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

There is no decor to speak of. I had the Pollo Parilla it was good with a kick of heat. It had good flavor and the price was 10.50 ...average for a lunch. The service was okay and seemed like a family run business as there was a child running around and interacting with the server/cashier. There was a steady stream of people mostly ordering take out.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Bugqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Las Tortas also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Las Tortas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.