We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #52 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Recently renovated”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Fairly central. Pulling my bag from the Sky Train station in Yaletown I arrived at enterance. Stairs only and doors open outwards automaticly from top of stairs. This would be an issue for those a little unsteady on their feet. Reception friendly and efficient with knowledge of Vancouver. Upgraded as rewards member to room with two king beds. Solo traveller. Scratched my head. Bed comfortable. Room end of passage away from lifts and ice machine. NO noise issue unlike the company's Quality Inn,False Creek hotel where road noise WILL disrupt sleep. Housemaids helpful and friendly. Breakfast included in next door pub. This was good. Price for a hotel downtown excellent.Visited Vancouver 1.5 years ago and streets clean of beggars after the Olympics but now beggars and sleezy sorts are everywhere. Sleeping in doorways and when buying train ticket had on shove his had in my face 'CHANGE'. While in Vancouver try the Yaletown Brewhouse. One of the best brown ales to be had anywhere on the planet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    396
    176
    48
    25
See reviews for
158
330
87
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had a corner room on the 5th floor overlooking Nelson Street and on the opposite corner to the Pub attached to the hotel, hence less noise.
The room was a good size with spa bath, gas fire, tea and coffee ( but bring your own milk if you want the real stuff).
There was some noise from the traffic but it wasn’t annoying.
The room was very clean and the king size bed very comfortable.
Check in was quick and friendly.
Breakfast was included in our booking and is in the attached pub (access internal to the hotel). They had cereals, toast, fruit, waffles, muffins, juice and hot drinks. Enough to keep us going until lunch and it was nice to have cornflakes again!
Great location to, it seemed quite central and we walked everywhere we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and on the opposite side of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I can't understand why anyone would stay here. Assuming the point of checking into a hotel is to actually sleep at night, then there's no point trying this place.
First impressions were great, the location was very central and perfect for our requirements, the staff were friendly and the room was clean, an ok size and had everything you'd expect, there was the kind of traffic noise you'd expect from a downtown hotel, but nothing problematic. After we'd been in the room 5 minutes, the people next door came in. They weren't being noisy but we could hear every single word of their conversation, even when they turned the TV on. It was as though the walls were actually amplifying their conversation!

This was clearly going to be a problem so we returned to the desk and were moved to a bigger room in a 'quiet' location for no extra charge. This seemed fine until just after 10pm when incredibly loud music started drifting up from the pub downstairs. This carried on for a few hours, but when it stopped it was replaced by loud singing by drunk people, accompanied by a irregular percussion that we think was coming for the water pipes. The doors have automatic closers on them so that they bang quite loudly, as if that wasn't enough noise and although we were at the opposite end of the corridor from the ice machine, you could hear quite clearly every time someone used it. The chap next door had a nasty cough and snored - not his fault, the the wall amplified every little noise, and every time the person in the room above got up to use the loo the footsteps were like distant thunder.

We had booked 2 nights but after one almost completely sleepless night we checked out and went elsewhere. The staff are clearly familiar with the problem and didn't try and charge for the second night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank binky_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

One year since my last visit, I booked another stay here. I received a room with the same floor plan as the previous year, one floor directly above last year's room.

This room was equipped with a fixture that served as a dresser, with a small refrigerator behind another cabinet. It was nice having this extra storage, but it did make the entryway a little more cramped, particularly with a king-size bed in the room.

Since my visit last year, many changes were made to the TV programming offered in the room. While the system has been upgraded to carry HD channels, it resulted in the loss of many of the channels that were previously available, including some local stations. What makes it worse, is that the new channel list that's left in the room, shows about twice as many channels, most of which aren't available at all. When you're trying to "cool down" after playing in the city, it would be nice to have more of an in-room selection.

Aside from that little annoyance, the experience was nearly identical to last year. The room was clean and comfortable. The jetted tub is a nice bonus, especially after a long day on the slopes.

Again, if you don't like noise at night, this is not the place for you. It's in the heart of the entertainment district. The streets in front of the hotel, will be crowded until well into the night, particularly on Friday and Saturday nights.

All in all, it's a good value, for a hotel that's right in the center of everything. There's plenty of entertainment and dining options within walking distance, access to transit within a very short walk, and when the weather is clear, you can even look up Granville Street, and get a glimpse of the spectacular mountains on the North Shore.

Room Tip: Guest rooms start on the "First Floor," but it's really three stories up...two levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in November. Upon arrival into Vancouver Airport i took the train downtown(20 minutes) and then found my way to the hotel on foot. just a 10 minute walk along Granville st. Check in was smooth and the staff very friendly,providing me with maps and information for navigating the city. The rooms are very clean if a little compact,but rooms are just for sleeping in! A plentiful,fresh complimentary breakfast was provided in the bar which set me up nicely for the day. I would recommend this hotel to a traveller looking for a good value,central hotel in Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria B.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I took my mom and brother to a Canucks game for Christmas and we stayed at the Comfort Inn as it was close to GM Place!! The location was great and easy to get to via the skytrain as we took the ferry over to Van from Victoria and took public transit to get to the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating as they let us check in a bit earlier than the usual time!
We had a double room, which was kind of on the small size, but it worked as we were only there two nights. The bathroom however looked like it had been recently remodelled and was quite spacious! The beds were very comfortable and the tea/coffee maker was nice to have in the room.
The breakfast was served in the Irish pub next door, and although there was a lot of room to sit down to eat, there was a long line up to get most of the food. They had muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee and make-your-own-waffles.
The pub was packed in the evening and I was quite tired so I decided to order take out, which I brought up to my room. The food was pretty good!
I will definitely stay here again, and may actually stay here with some friends in March!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,678 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 90 in Vancouver
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 654 Nelson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing