We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all day breakfast!”
Review of Acme Cafe

Acme Cafe
Ranked #180 of 3,808 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$12
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Neighbourhood: Gastown
Description: SERVING BREAKFAST ALL DAY, EVERY DAY! Located just East of the Woodward's complex on Hastings Street in the historic Paris Block. Open every day of the year aside from December 24, 25 & 26. Excellent food made to order, and all pies and pastries baked from scratch, in-house.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great all day breakfast!”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We have just returned having visited the Acme cafe after a friend gave us the recommendation. Great service and amazing breakfast that is served all day and is very reasonably priced. I can highly recommend the 'Baked Eggs Benny' which is a different interpretation of a classic but very tasty! Located in Gastown this little cafe fits nicely in the quirky location.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Davethebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Soup and Sandwich”
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Great quality food at the Acme Cafe. The restaurant has a really neat nostalgic diner feel so if you are in the city for the 1st time or work downtown, this makes for a great lunch break stop. It is very small inside so come early or late but at noon time you might wait for a seat. I had the club with the soup of the day a tomato bisque and it was awesome. the coffee is fresh nad the deserts looked dangerous. .

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funky neighborhood diner”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Good food with natural ingredients!! We had a yummy quiche and eggs Benedict. Great service with smiling faces! Sat at the counter and watched the prep !

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Moandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brunch or lunch ”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The location may not be the best in town but this cute cafe serves the most delicious food. Lunch or brunch, you can't go wrong here. Their eggs Benny is so unique and delicious, you will go back.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank katievancouver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprise!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We were going to Gastown and our hotel clerk gave us a couple recommendations for breakfast and this was one of them. Both were on the same street, but the first had a wait list, so we checked out Acme Café and decided to stay. (Sorry, first restaurant...we didn't tell them to take our name off their list!) The neighborhood was slightly off-putting with lots of street people about...some obviously mentally disturbed. This is not Gastown, but a few short blocks away.

My husband was ready to turn around, but we went into the cafe and felt instantly at home. Acme is vintage charming and our waitress was delightful and attentive and very chatty. She handled most of the tables herself and did a splendid job. I had the frittata which was excellent and our party of four were all happy with their orders and the good coffee. It was also reasonable compared to anything in the downtown area near the big hotels.

After breakfast/brunch it was a quick walk to Gastown.

  • Visited August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moimoi184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acme Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Acme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing