We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent All Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black + Blue

Black + Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Black + Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 3,596 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard
Description: The magic of a classic steakhouse, but with a decidedly contemporary twist. In-house aged rare cuts of beef, tableside Caesar salads, flambes, flaming coffees, and more. While he may find it familiar, it's definitely not your Daddy's steak house!
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent All Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I recently had the pleasure of eating at Black + Blue while in Vancouver for a conference. My colleague and I enjoyed a delicious meal, outstanding wine and exceptional service from Diane. She made the night a true joy!

Next time you are in Vancouver be sure to go to Black + Blue! Try the table-side Caesar Salad, the Steak Oscar, and the brussel sprouts - a delicious surprise. Also, ask for Diane. :-)

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    275
    121
    62
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant Food & Service/ Horrific Front Hostess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was my third visit to Black and Blue. There were several reasons for my coming back...now it will no longer be a slam dunk first choice! We were told that it would be a 45 minute wait, but not so much in a welcoming way, but rather more in an off putting, can't you see we're very busy here manner! When asked if there was a seat at the bar, we we're told that they in fact had another restaurant a couple doors down where we could wait. Fair enough. A very pleasant gal lead us there and set us up with a table on the understanding that we were waiting to head back to Black & Blue. Roughly 15 minutes and an opened bottle of wine later, another of the gals came by and said a table was now available. Not wanting to 'upset the apple cart' we asked our server is she was OK with us moving back so soon - no probs. We settled up, and she accompanied us back over - opened wine on tray. When we got there - the Hostess who had been less than hospitable the first time greeted me with " Look, I told you it was going to be 45 minutes!" ..whereupon I bit my lip and let her know that we were told that a table was ready - but moreover that we were not in the habit of completely packing up from what was a relatively comfortable table (with opened wine!) to simply try and cut back in line without having been invited back to what we were told was a waiting table! While we were soon shown to another holding area table to once again wait....when finally we were rewarded with a table - it was directly beside the front door! One got the feeling that that was courtesy of our favourite hostess. Thankfully our server Mathieu was gracious enough in his service and the food once again good enough in it's quality that we were able to overcome or at least forget the crappy attitude of that front hostess. At $400+ spent on each occasion for dinner for two...one would hope that there would be zero tollerance for someone as unapologetic in being rude to returning customers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Black + Blue, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hi David,

Thanks to your feedback, we will be able to address this issue and better train our team. I have passed on your review to Black+Blue's General Manager.

We apologize for any inconvenience we caused and hope that we can once again welcome you to Black+Blue.

Sincerely,
Tara Armstrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Wonderful time - exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Eight of us visited Black and Blue for dinner and had a long enjoyable dinner - truely a lovely time. Our waiter (Bradley) was exceptional, catering to our every need while adding a good deal of humor to our dinner. The food was amazing as was the wine. We all received seperate bills (exactly as requested). It was the best dinner during my stay by far.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iska W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 people, $900 bill, that was ok but they rushed us out!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The food is good and the service is very good, but what kind of restaurant rushes you to leave after spending $900?

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davidreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Addition to the Vancouver Restaurant Scene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Black + Blue lived up to its No. 1 ranking tonight. They know how to do a fine Steakhouse and excelled in all respects from the moment we walked in the door. The urban decor and vibe is killer. The service was attentive and caring (one of our group of 4 is a celiac). Good wine list, great menu selections and most importantly, excellently prepared food. The men each had steak and the women the halibut special, and we were all wowed from the first bite. It's not often a Steakhouse will prepare fish well, but the halibut was cooked and seasoned perfectly. We took a little tour of the 3 levels before we left, and will keep the 20-place private dining room in mind for special party events. Prices were as expected for Vancouver, and we did not begrudge paying for the quality of the food, service and ambiance. We will definitely return and be proud to take visitors. A really enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gaylecooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black + Blue also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Black + Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing