We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steamed pork buns”

New Town Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #226 of 3,540 Restaurants in Vancouver
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stopped at New Town for a to go snack/lunch on a self run tour of Chinatown. I had a steamed pork bun and my husband had steamed pork dumplings. Both were delicious!

Date of visit: June 2013
1  Thank LizHWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 255 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

This Chinese bakery and restaurant offers a great variety of dim sums in addition to the traditional well-known Chinese dishes. The prices are incredible inexpensive and the place is very clean.

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank travelislifeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a fantastic, authentic place. Excellent take out and dine-in be it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Delicious congee, buns, shrimp wraps, and much more.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is crowded and you had to take a number...also cash only, but it was well worth it. Awesome coconut buns! I also has the sesame balls and there were good too. I know this will be a place we go every time we are in Vancouver.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EricP176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The New Town Bakery is a must stop when ever we are in Vancouver. They have a great selection of Chinese baked and steamed treats. Many of these treats are the sweet staples of dim sum. The quality is excellent, some of the best I have had anywhere. My favorite is the sesame balls filled with red bean paste (chin tui). Also good are the egg tarts, and steamed bau. I have never eaten at the restaurant, so no recommendation for that part. These pastries are best served in the mornings.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Town Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to New Town Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.