We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hostel”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Great location to all the bars (literally), great atmosphere and everyone is there to party, to get to know one another and do their thing. It’s definitely a hostel vibe from people all around the world. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Always shut your room door
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Easy-to-find hostel, in Granville street, right in the middle of downtown Vancouver. The atmosphere is nice and comfortable, toilets and showers clean, kind staff at the reception always wiling to help you and superb bar on the ground floor. The only "but" is that if your room has the window on the street can be really noisy until late at night.

Room Tip: Try no get one not facing the street
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pserracomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

It’s a very good place for sleep and take a shower. You can use the kitchen and make your own meals. The breakfast is so nice and free. You can take tours with discount...the most relevant thing You can also make many friends :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Bathrooms are clean. Each bed has power outlets and a little lamp. There's a nice common area with couches and chairs, and also a great bar downstairs. Very solid hostel. This was my second stay already.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank music-000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Fun place and met some great people but for $35 a night for a hostel is a bit steep. Breakfast is decent, bagels and bread plus coffee so not bad. Rooms were average on cleanliness, I had a few spots on my sheets.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajb484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a private room at this hostel on 8th October. We stayed here because we had a 2 day tour that was leaving from hostel.
A lot of Australians work here. It cost $130 for 1 night. Room has a bathroom, double bed and fridge. Room is very small. Not much room to move, it's best to keep your clothes in your suitcase. Not much bench space.
1 night stay in a private room is plenty, room is to small to stay any longer. Bar in hostel is pretty cool, they have drinking games etc. Tv in room is real small.
This place appears to be more suitable for a short stay and is a good place for young single people (19 to 28 age group) to mingle.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bon1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights this month. I was solo travelling. The location of samesun is exactly where you’d want to be in Vancouver. So much going on! The beaver(the bar in the samesun) was awesome! Lots of tables and good prices for food and drinks. Easy way to meet people. Very clean rooms and helpful staff. Some of the stalls for showers/toilets were very small, but they were always clean which is my main priority.
Overall definitely would stay here again if I was in Vancouver!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#14 of 92 in Vancouver
2,135 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,904 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#79 of 92 in Vancouver
678 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
434 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $41 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing