We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the hostel for 3 nights and it was amazing. The staff were super friendly, helpful and knew what they were doing. The facilities (showers, toilets etc) had a much higher standard from other hostels I have visited. The rooms very very nice as well, clean and comfortable beds!

The only negative things I experienced were: 1) the first night the heaters in my room did not work, therefore it was a bit cold. However, the next day they were working again and all was good!
2) The breakfast only offered bagels, toasts and some fruit, which was kind of disappointing. But it’s included in the price and I am happy for that!

To summarize: Samesun in Vancouver was a very nice place to say at. I will recommend it to all my friends and family visiting Vancouver in the future!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank per_ris98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very rude and un helpful, the rooms were very small, the beds were comfortable but the sheets were questionably clean, the bathrooms were not clean, the showers were nice, the free breakfast should be re-branded free bagles, in summation not the best night of your life

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D9528FKbradc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I had a fantastic time at Samesun Vancouver, would 10/10 recommend to other travellers, the front desk staff were always super helpful and the bar had heaps of cheap drinks and great food. Will be staying again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank snewman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I stayed here with a friend as part of a trip across Canada. It was Halloween weekend and there was a Halloween held in the adjoining bar. We had a blast that weekend, with the hostel's location on Granville street offering a great location to soak up the nightlife.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexmack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Massively over priced bar! Paid for a pitcher full of ice. When we asked for the second one with less ice, we literally got lemonade. The service was rude and they forced us to pay gratuity. If they didn't have one of our ID'S as gaurantee I wouldn't have paid anything. Don't go there for a drink!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ktsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Really enjoyed my time at the Samesun Hostel, staff were very friendly and helpful with checking in and recommending activities to do within Vancouver! The food there was great and the free breakfast every morning was a lovely bonus, I would definitely recommend to my friends!

Room Tip: If staying on the bottom bunk becareful getting in and out, the gao is smaller then you think!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maggiemc935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Stayed 5 nights at the Samesun Vancouver. Beds were super comfy, bathrooms were clean, staff were always super helpful. Overall the hostel had a really good vibe to it.
The only thing I would say as a side note is that, it can get quite noisy at night so if your the type of person who doesn't like to party and hates noise maybe it's not for you.

Room Tip: 4 bed dorms are a lot more spacious than the rest.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank georgia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
672 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#14 of 92 in Vancouver
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
824 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $36 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing