We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Italian”
Review of Tavola

Tavola
Ranked #89 of 3,330 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Good modern Italian fare served family style. The brick chicken is excellent. Order that and a couple of pasta dishes and salad to share. The pasta is excellent, but the portions are on the small side.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2016

Very bad dining experience. Wow. Simply wow. Simple basic Italian food gone wrong - how can you possibly mess up an undistinguished piccata plate? Easy - serve the meat overcooked and 1/4 inch thick and swimming in a salty and fatty sauce devoid of flavour other than heaps and heaps of salt. Add mushrooms to soak up the grease and salt and you have a meal sufficient to gag anyone.

How do you truly mess up something so simple as a plate of walnut pesto seafood linguine? Tavola showed us how - simply cook the pasta until it is completely mush and then toss in some bland prawns devoid of any flavour inspiration other than the sea water in which these creatures lived and possibly died a miserable death.

This review sounds harsh. It is harsh - Tavola is an insult to at least two genres of dining. As human beings who have actually consumed food and as people who have travelled extensively in Italy we find Tavola's offerings to be both unappetizing and un-Italian.

The food presented to us actually tasted like it was never sampled by any person with any sort of food preparatory training whatsoever.

The food is bad but the atmosphere is definitely eclectic. The room is very loud with inelegant furnishings and family style group tables. The crowd seems predominantly 20-30 something and the scene is more osteria than trattoria but regardless of the mood - the food misses on any scale one would encounter in Italy.

My wife and I are truly amazed and embarrassed that we have such a dining experience within blocks of our home within a city that is chock-a-block full of excellent restaurants.

Tavola is truly to be avoided, there is so much better Italian dining to be experienced almost anywhere, particularly within the competitive restaurant environment of Vancouver.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigBonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 11, 2016

We came back 3 times! The staff were great and the food was divine. We were planning to order a main meal each however were advised that sharing was a good option, and in our experience this was very true. Two of us were very satisfied having a small appetiser and one entree. We started with the bruschetta - pea and mozzarella - which was delicious, and followed up with the pulled pork ragu with a side of grilled asparagus. The pulled pork ragu was the best I've ever had. We chose it again on the next visit, this time having the salad of the day as a side. Great choices! The afogato we shared for desert was made with quality ice-cream and an excellent espresso.

Craft beers are on tap and the wine list is good.

Seating at the bar is interesting and the barman is a great conversationalist!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank TravellerNZ146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

We were very impressed with the staff and the food at this restaurant. The barrata was heavenly, and the brick oven chicken was melt in your mouth to die for! We ended our meal with the sticky toffee pudding which was devoured immediately by our family! I would highly recommend eating here if you are in Vancouver.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank G8trgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

I highly recommend Tavola to locals and tourists. The restaurant is located steps from the busy intersection of Robson and Denman (and a short walk from Stanley Park and the Coal Harbour Seawall).
Tavola is cosy and cute, with a casual neighbourhood ambiance. At the same time, it is classy: the food is beautifully prepared and presented and the service is efficient and professional. The staff were friendly and welcoming.
We loved everything we tried. We shared two types of crostini (including one with walnut pesto, gorgonzola and a pear slice). We also shared two types of house made pasta with delicious sauces. We also had a lovely chocolate desert with rich café Americanos.
We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NorthVan_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tavola also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.