We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GrandTour572275

great from beginning to end

Review of Hotel BLU
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 11, 2023
We stayed April 20th for a Birthday celebration, we booked through the hotel and obtained a rate that included breakfast and parking which is a huge bonus. Friendly greeting by valet and front desk staff upon arrival and super accommodating. Beautiful lobby and it was nice to see complimentary infused water for guests in the lobby, even fruit as well.

The loft room was gorgeous, and the amenities in the room were impressive! A Dyson hair dryer, a Nespresso coffee machine, a complimentary diffuser & oils upon request, umbrella, robes, motorized curtains etc. We were upgraded to the loft room which was beautiful, spacious and had a nice patio (too bad it was raining during our stay). I thought the sound of traffic would be loud since the hotel is right in the middle of downtown, but it was surprisingly quiet. If I could, I would choose the loft room every time... it's so worth it. The pool and hot tub were indoor and nice. Also a dry sauna onsite and a patio off the pool which would be nice in the summer. I never used the fitness centre but it appeared adequate for sure, and even had peloton bikes.

The included breakfast was amazing. I was expecting grab and go items and nothing too fancy. To my surprise it was nicely decorated room with sit down service. We could order anything off the menu (which had great choices) up $40 for the 2 of us which was included (and anything else above obviously, if you wanted to pay for it). The breakfast was freshly made to order, and was very good.

Check out was a breeze. The parking was perfect, and loved the fact that we could use it until 1pm on day of check out.

Thank you Hotel Blu for a great stay from beginning to end and making my Birthday special. We will definitely be back.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke L, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this review
Responded May 12, 2023
Dear GrandTour572275,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel BLU for your birthday celebrations. I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are honoured to have helped make your special day memorable.

I am thrilled to hear of your great stay with us. From the exceptional service you received, to enjoying our 2-storey New York-style Lofts, and our other thoughtful guest comforts, I am delighted you were able to experience our best. Our team is committed to guest satisfaction and was delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas of your experience. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and will be sure to share your kind words with rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whenever you are in Downtown, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Luke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$312
  • Vio.com
    C$236
  • Hotels.com
    C$283
0.1 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$475
  • Hotels.com
    C$399
  • Official Site
    C$475
0.3 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Pool
C$392
  • Hotels.com
    C$368
  • Expedia.com
    C$343
  • Official Hotel
    C$409
0.5 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$307
  • Agoda.com
    C$273
  • Hotels.com
    C$276
0.5 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$402
  • Agoda.com
    C$341
  • Hotels.com
    C$347
0.8 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$313
  • Agoda.com
    C$283
  • Hotels.com
    C$350
1.0 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$343
  • Vio.com
    C$343
  • Hotels.com
    C$343
0.9 km from Hotel BLU
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$483
  • Agoda.com
    C$435
  • Vio.com
    C$487
1.1 km from Hotel BLU
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
    C$355
  • Algotels
    C$350
  • Hotels.com
    C$359
1.2 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Pool
C$349
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    C$349
  • Agoda.com
    C$349
  • Priceline
    C$349
1.3 km from Hotel BLU
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Vancouver
Reviews (2,161)
Filter reviews
2,161 results
Traveller rating
1,607
415
97
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,607
415
97
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room great location bc place hot tub and sauna nespresso machine rogers arena within walking distance downtown vancouver robson street rain shower front desk staff excellent hotel comfortable beds lots of restaurants would highly recommend this hotel would definitely stay here again valet parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 2,161 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2023 via mobile

A concert was the main attraction for our trip to Vancouver and this hotel was the perfect location. 8 minutes to Rogers Arena.

Canada Place and False Creek ferry to Granville Island were both 20ish minutes away. Lots of restaurants in the area.

Rooms were nice. Extra soft sheets. Pool wasn’t anything fancy but perfect for my 12 year old that wanted to play.

Our flight home was mid afternoon and the hotel was kind to give us a late check out. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jodim344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke L, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2023

Dear Jodi M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel BLU. I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent positive experience with us.

I am thrilled to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. Our team is committed to guest satisfaction and am happy that we were able to exceed your expectations in all areas of your experience. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of our team.

Should your plans find you in Vancouver again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2023 via mobile

We just stayed 3 nights at Hotel BLU. It is in a great location with easy walk to most city highlights such as Stanley Park, Canada Plaza, city Stadiums and Gastown. Staff are very friendly and room was large with a good bathroom. Very clean daily service. The Nespresso machine with daily pods and microwave were very handy additions. I also love they offer recycling bins in room and free apples at reception. There are lots of small restaurants within a short walk from hotel ranging from cheap eats to good restaurants. Would highly recommend for any kind of stay in Vancouver.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SGMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke L, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2023

Dear SGMac,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel BLU. I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent positive experience with us.

I am happy to hear of your great stay. From enjoying our convenient Downtown location, the warm hospitality you received and our other thoughtful guest comforts, I am delighted you were able to experience our best. Our team is committed to guest satisfaction and was delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas of your experience. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and will be sure to share your kind words with rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whenever you are in Downtown, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2023

Stayed at the hotel in October with my aunt. Very pleasant smaller hotel with excellent service. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel daily during our 2 night stay. The location was convenient for us. Hotel was clean. The concierge, Anouar, was very helpful with regards to directing us and answering questions. At the end of the day, good service is the key to a return visit to a hotel for me. And based on the excellent service, I would definitely stay here again next time I’m in Vancouver.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Passport793879
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke L, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2023

Dear Passport793879,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel BLU. I appreciate you taking the time to share your great stay with us.

I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. Our team is committed to guest satisfaction and was happy to hear that you were able to experience that with Anouar's warm hospitality. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of our team.

Should your plans find you in Vancouver again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2023

Extremely clean hotel, everything is gleaming and spotless. Very large and comfortable bed, room had a microwave and mini fridge. Hotel is on a safe street with many people walking around, lots of restaurants and shops nearby, a brief taxi to all the local attractions, I never spent more than $10 on an Uber. Very pleasant staff, everyone I encountered was so nice. I booked via the hotel website and got Free parking (valet) and Free breakfast (delicious). This hotel takes up the first few floors of a larger residential tower. So it's a quiet building because it's mostly residential. I had never heard of this hotel and only booked it because I wanted a good price (less than $400 a night with breakfast and parking included) and I was thrilled! I would stay again and I would recommend it to others for sure.

Room tip: book through the hotel website and ask for free parking and free breakfast
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shmees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke L, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2023

Dear Shmees,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel BLU. I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with us.

I am thrilled to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. Our team is committed to guest satisfaction and am happy that we were able to exceed your expectations in all areas of your experience. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of our team.

Should your plans find you in Vancouver again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2023 via mobile

From arrival to departure the service was great extraordinary. Our rooms were beautifully appointed, the housekeeping staff were friendly and ready to replenish the Nespresso coffees, toiletries or towels. The breakfasts were delicious, including specialty coffee and, juices. Don’t forget your swim suit and work out gear, the pool and spa are fabulous.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke L, General Manager at Hotel BLU, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2023

Dear Georgia K,

Thank you for for choosing to stay with Hotel BLU. I appreciate you taking the time to share your great stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our boutique experience. From the exceptional service you received to our other thoughtful guest comforts, I am thrilled that you were able to experience our best. Our team is committed to guest satisfaction and am happy to know that we exceeded your expectations in all areas of your experience. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of our team.

Should your plans find you in Vancouver again, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews