We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 for a reason”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Number 1 for a reason”
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My expectations were high for this hotel since it was rated #1. They not only met all of them but EXCEEDED them. The location was great. The room was beautiful and the staff could not have been more helpful. I LOVE their drop off service for restaurants. We had a car but did not have to use it the whole time.

Room Tip: Anything with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    409
    57
    9
    3
See reviews for
323
1,230
165
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The rooms were smaller (it reminded me of The Mandarin NYC), but comfortable and clean. The bathroom was quite large with a huge tub. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I also found the location to be convenient to Stanley Park, shopping and the waterfront. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantanITP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I'm a horrendously light sleeper and slept for a week here with zero problems (not a thing that happens away from home). Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, beautiful decor. Loved the location and the staff was top notch. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rach_atx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien L, Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2015
Dear rach_atx,

Thank you for your kind feedback, it was a pleasure hosting you at the Loden, we are glad to hear that during the week you stayed with us you had a comfortable sleep and that the team took good care of you. Being centrally located in beautiful and quiet coal Harbor we are only steps away from Stanley park and its waterfront, we hope you enjoyed a wonderful glimpse of its lifestyle. We are looking forward to welcome you during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Adrien Litargne
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We stayed in this hotel prior to our Alaskan cruise.
It is brilliantly positioned,convenient for sight seeing, shopping or just taking in Vancouver.
Bedroom was spacious, clean and modern as was the bathroom.
Staff were friendly and helpful. They even provided a courtesy car to take us and our luggage to the ship.
The breakfast buffet would be perfect for someone staying on business but we would ideally have preferred more hot food on offer. That being said what was available was very good indeed so no real need for criticism.


  • Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AllanAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2015

This is a lovely 5-star boutique hotel in an excellent location in downtown Vancouver. No real complaints except breakfast was not included so that’s an extra $40 or so per couple so we just went out for breakfast after that. The hotel looks lovely, the staff are very welcoming and the facilities are very good. The bed-sheets are exquisite, the most comfortable I have come across. The hotel was also very helpful with organising bikes for its guests. Well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rezzzident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardis BC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2015

i have stayed at this hotel mostly on business, once for pleasure previously. This is the first time I have had anything negative to say. I brought my husband along for a mini vacation while I was on business. While at my meeting, my husband found the tv remote to be inoperative. He phoned the front desk and told them he would pick up batteries on his way back from dinner at the Tableau. Instead, moments later, maintenance knocked on the door and took the remote to replace the batteries. He stated that the batteries in the remote were not the brand the hotel uses and he stood there looking suspiciously at my husband - staring at him - waiting for a response. My husband felt very uncomfortable and felt the maintenance guy was trying to accuse him of stealing the batteries out of the remote. When my husband complained on the phone after the fact, there was an apology but that's as far as it went...so the next morning I mentioned it once again to the desk manager. They did offer to remove parking from the bill ($40) but unfortunately that did not compensate for how my husband was made to feel. What I would have preferred, was a reassuring letter that this would never happen again. No customer should have to be made to feel like that - especially while paying $420 for one night's stay! It marred a perfectly otherwise lovely trip to Vancouver.

The other thing I noticed was the orange decorative pillows were quite stained, along with the chair's upholstery. Having stayed at the hotel nearly every year since it's opening, I am noticing the wear and tear. Some things are in need of replacing if they are to continue charging present rates.

  • Stayed June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien L, Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2015
Dear kahlua55

Thank you keeping us in mind over the years and for expressing your thoughts about your recent stay.
The circumstance described is most unusual and we have reviewed the situation closely. I will be contacting you shortly at your earliest convenience.

With sincere appreciation.

Adrien Litargne
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We always try to stay in boutique hotels whenever we travel, and we have a good experience with good and excellent hotels. The Loden Hotel surpassed all our expectations of an excellent boutique hotel. Their service was impeccable, the staff is genuinely polite and friendly, and the hotel itself is actually true to its motto: "Beautiful. Central, Quiet". I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Vancouver!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room and it was incredibly well decorated, quiet and clean. The panoramic wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiroBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,820 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,724 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing