We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL QUIET LOCATION SO COURTEOUS”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL QUIET LOCATION SO COURTEOUS”
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Immediately upon arrival the hotel staff was outside in the rain, with an umbrella ready to walk us in. Gave us some fresh lemon water, took our bags up and we were on our way. From start to end, one of the best service experiences I've had. Beautiful and well equipped gym, close to everything you'd need. Rooms were well designed and definitely felt like you were getting what you paid for. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TokiAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    409
    57
    9
    3
See reviews for
323
1,230
165
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful one night stay here recently. We booked though BeVancouver which afforded us a nice $125 Amex Gift Card. The weekend stay was lovely and the room beautiful. A slight hiccup on the Gift Card credit at checkout was rectified that same day and all ended up well. Would definitely recommend this property!

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016

This is a quiet, sophisticated hotel in an excellent location with a reasonable price. What more could you ask for? The staff is extremely helpful and chipper. I had trouble with the very firm mattress on my bed and so inquired about adding a pillowy layer onto the top of it and they said that they would swap the mattress out and replace it with a softer and -with a lovely smile ensured me that it was no problem what-so-ever.
The Hotel has a car service which we used quite frequently to get to restaurants and stores. For the price of a tip it was a very convenient feature .
We did try the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast buffet and both were very nice.
Corner rooms are not so much about the view but do offer much more light- recommended

Room Tip: corner rooms have much more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkrules123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2016

This is my favourite hotel in Vancouver. The customer service is excellent - I always felt well taken care of there! The rooms are very comfortable and luxurious- and that bathtub! And I LOVE the gym. It is the best gym I have ever seen in a hotel anywhere!

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank finlinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

I stopped in Vancouver for 3 nights and, on the suggestion of a friend, I booked into the Loden.

In terms of quality I would rate the room at the Loden. With exception of the corner rooms (upgraded) all rooms are identical in size and layout. With plenty of space in the main bedroom the desk, chaise longue and bedstool do not make the space feel cramped.

Wall-to-ceiling glass adds plenty of light - though don't expect exceptional views. Unless you are on a higher floor (and I am assuming they have better views) you are likely to look onto the next door apartment block with just a slither of water visible.

The sliding wall into the bathroom is a neat touch (stolen maybe from the Park Hyatt in Zurich...!). The molten brown toiletries are excellent, the shower and bath are wonderful and feel luxurious in a hotel of this level. The mini-bar very well stocked (full size Moët) and with a turndown service the overall experience is very good. The bed was very comfortable with top quality linen.

As an extra I opted for a massage at the hotel spa. Whilst it was a reasonable massage the 'spa' consisted of a room off a corridor on the way to the gym. It wasn't exactly spa-like and the odd inclusion of a sauna in the room made for a slightly weird experience.

On the ground floor there is a restaurant and bar - on me night I tried to get a drink at the bar but after sitting there for over 5 minutes without even an acknowledgement I gave up.

One nice offering is the 'free' car service using the Loden London Taxi. Having booked a restaurant via the front desk I had the benefit of being taken there. As with most places in Canada tips are discretionary but expected - which is fine but should be remembered when heading out for a night.

Basically this hotel does rooms extremely well but don't expect the trappings of a 5 star high-end hotel in the other services it offers.

Stayed January 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Hotel is well-appointed and with a modern design. Spacious room and very comfortable bed. Amenities included bikes available for guest use and a taxi for drop-off / pick-up at downtown locations. Very friendly, helpful staff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Loved the decor, friendliness of the staff, convenient restaurant/bar & proximity to shopping. Only complaint was a low level humming/vibration sound that kept us up off & on throughout the evening; we ultimately assumed might have been the elevators, as our room was across the hall. Other than that, loved it here &

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L3858GAjenniferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,020 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,820 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,724 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing