We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A european weekend”
Review of Loden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A european weekend”
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We were looking for a little touch of Europe and the Loden fit the bill. The room was like a bedroom rather than a hotel room. Very comfortable bed and so quiet. Loved the continental breakfast. Everyone was very welcoming. Really nice to stay at an independent hotel instead of a big chain where you could be anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A3555FSsuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrien L, Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Dear A3555FSsuef,

We are excited that you found a taste of Europe at the Loden, reading the details of your experience compliment our focus on offering a luxury residential experience in Vancouver. Thank you for choosing our boutique hotel.

We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Adrien Litargne
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    409
    57
    9
    3
See reviews for
323
1,230
165
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My wife and I just returned from 1 week in Vancouver and we loved our stay at the Loden. We travel widely, but few places we've been at have been able to combine the quality (and size) of the room, with its great downtown location, and the extraordinary service we received. Everyone was so kind, helpful and truly made us feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Curt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I recently attended meetings at this hotel and was very impressed. The service and comfort was excellent. Quiet hotel in a fantastic area of downtown vancouver. Bed was comfortable and loved the high quality linens. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S7052LWterrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley J, General Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear S7052LWterrym,

We look forward to welcoming you back to Loden. Thank you for choosing us and providing your helpful feedback.

Best regards

Wesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Great location walking distance to everything we wanted to do in Vancouver but in a quiet area. Service was top notch and we always felt as if we were coming home when we returned to the hotel each time. Didn't get a chance to eat a meal int the restaurant but had drinks and dessert and all was delicious. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. The housekeeping service was great and checked each day if there was anything else they could get for us. The rooms even smelled wonderful and fresh! Would definitely recommend the Loden and plan to book here again when we return to Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank haden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I thought I was going to love the Loden and I really wanted to. Location is great and the property is beautiful. Comfortable beds, big bathrooms with everything you could possibly want. Good water pressure.

But the service was a big disappointment. I had asked repeatedly for a quiet room (even before I booked the hotel) because I have a lot of trouble sleeping. They assured me they had selected one specially quiet taking that into account, but unfortunately the room had a big machine right outside that made a very persistent noise all night. We complained the first night and were told they couldn't do anything because the hotel was full. I can understand that (although I am still surprised they have no backup rooms), but what I cannot understand is that they completely failed to follow up the next day, although they were perfectly aware of the problem.

After three sleepless nights and complaining again in writing, a solution was proposed by a manager (did not eliminate the problem, but it helped a little). But the whole thing left a very bittersweet taste for us.

In summary: you will like the hotel if you have no issues that require the involvement of their staff and if you don't mind getting some noise from the street. If you are sensitive to noise... I would stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley J, General Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Clarista,

My goodness! Sleep quality is absolutely important, as is an amicable resolution to matters important to our guests. Our Guest Experience leaders will be in touch shortly. Thank you for sharing with us.

Best regards,

Wesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Last week my wife took me to a surprise birthday and 2nd anniversary at the Loden. We were married there almost two years ago (Sept 13th, 2014).

From the time we checked in (Adrien Litargne and the front desk staff were sooo warm, friendly and accommodating) to the dinner we had, and the special gift when they found out it was our anniversary, Loden hit it out of the Park!

In this time of great expense for special treats at an Accomodation anywhere, it was great to see Loden provide exceptional value and a magical time for my wife and I.

Even on departure, Richard engaged us to find out a little more about our time at the Loden and how he could make our day just a little better!



Thanks Loden!

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley J, General Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Bob,

Happy birthday and anniversary celebration! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for sharing moments with Adrien, our guest experience extraordinaire and Richard.

We appreciate your kind words and for keeping us in mind.

Wishing you and your wife all the very best...

Wesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Five star service awards given to the staff at the Loden Hotel. From check in to check out this place showed us nothing but the best! Very comfortable contemporary furnishings, excellent quality sheets and pillows, exceptionally clean and fresh. Great location for seeing Vancouver!

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Riley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley J, General Manager at Loden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2016
Dear Riley M,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with others.

Cheers

Wesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,819 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,724 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loden Hotel

Property: Loden Hotel
Address: 1177 Melville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LODEN is your Vancouver home. The perfect city sanctuary for pleasure, business or the two in harmony together. Feel refreshed and relaxed in a boutique setting that is CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL within a downtown residential neighborhood. Let us take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Loden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loden Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Loden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing